We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strugging to keep up with the demand” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budai Sport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budai Sport Hotel
Ranked #262 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Strugging to keep up with the demand”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This review is based upon slightly different circumstances as it wasn't a come in and stay, it was a chosen as a venue to host a dance weekender which you attend and the entire event takes place within the hotel.

Now this weekender can take up to 300 people coming in at all the times of day and from all over the world, this places a huge demand on staff to up their service level due to the sheer amount of people....and this is where the pieces fell apart.

It's location is very strange, at the top of the hill, about an hour from the airport, so you're looking at 30 to 40 Euro ride in a taxi or a train, bus and 15 minute walk through a forest with no street lights (not a great start for late arrving travellers) - my journey to the hotel was a challenge but then again that's down to my poor planning.

There just seemed to be lack of planning and care and if first impressions count then this tarnished the hotel for the rest of the weekend, reception was pushed to the limit on day one with the kitchen racking up a huge waiting time for poor quality food aswell, this was all down to the amount of people, they recovered in the following days but the overall reputation had been set.

The rooms were very basic, it did have a fridge, a sizeable shower and the beds were sofa like but actually quite comfortable.

There is wireless in the main reception and lobby area which was fast but then suddenly disappeared on the night/early morning everyone needed it when we were nearly snowed in which meant taxis, buses were not running and information for onward travel was very limited, no staff could really help out or were around.

A real positive was the view from my room, which overlooked Budapest and when the weather was right it was breathtaking. If you're in Pest and desperately need a room for the night then use it, but for a stay, I'd look at hostels or hotel chains that are nearer the centre and cope with sudden influx of guests at once.

It's sad because with it's space, potential facilities, and some care and investment this could be a great place, in it's current condition I can only recommed this place as last minute booking if you really need somewhere to stay, but do look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    5
    13
See reviews for
10
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The only reason to stay in this hotel is if you obliged to stay there or all other hotels are already booked. Interior of hotel is ok, but when u enter the room u understand that the last renovation was approx. 15 years ago. It was very cold in the room all the time, we asked to get us a heater, but stuff did nothing to get it. Breakfasts are uneatable (except bread and tea). stuff was not helpful at all: we needed to go to the city center (bus stop is arounf 10 min walking througth the park), asked for a taxi, receptionist called just one number and got a refusal (no car nearby) and he refused to call any other number, because they are working only with 1 taxi company! we had to stay there for 3 nights and noone ever tried to clean up the room, take away the garbage or change the bed.
i think almost everything (except bread for breakfast and wi-fi in the lobby) was awful in this hotel, honestly.

Room Tip: Never book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataliya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I can honestly say there is no chance you'll book this hotel as if it's not gone bust in the next few weeks, I'll be stunned.
The LEAST helpful staff I've ever experienced, reneged even on small details like a request to change a bed when a room mate changed part way through my trip. Ok it was cheap, but we do expect that in a hotel, not a hostel, we will have a towel change or a room cleaner at least once during a 4 day stay?! Complaints and questions were met with a shrug. They asked our group to email individually to advise specific arrival times but still had over 1 hour queues to check in.
Food... don't do it. But if you stay here there is no choice, you are 20 mins from the nearest bus stop. Taxis wouldn't come for us during snow so many of my friends and I were forced to walk carrying heavy suitcases through 10cm of snow and a blizzard to a bus stop where the hotel assured us buses were running (but they were not!) so we were left their stranded. The breakfast was tragic, the other meals, while not expensive were served lukewarm and the only edible thing was the soup. And that out of desperation. Seriously, is it that hard to make a decent black coffee? No way will any of the several hundred guests at our event ever consider to stay there again and no way will the event ever be held there again. If we could give 0 rating we would. Terrible is too good for it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHH06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Was a disappointment. The rooms are dirty and cold. The staff is unfriendly.
The furniture is worn, lelakottak. The restaurant also has plenty of shortcomings in the morning scandalous.
Dirt is everywhere, as if the past 10 years, the time had stopped.
The evening can not be reached because there is no light.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hu51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I dont know how to start,it dont even deserve the time to spent on this hotel.
It s beyond imagination ,if we have in Romania a 3 stars hotel in this condition, next day the owner will be arested . You cant even get there with the car, is on a top of a hill in a very nice park .The park is all you see nice .Far from the city,the road is closed for cars? The rooms are like my cazarm, comunist army in the 70 s...Old furniture , no tv ,i dont have words to describe the conditions. Enough time for this , go there if you want to remember the 70 s comunism years, in eastern europe .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budai Sport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budai Sport Hotel

Property: Budai Sport Hotel
Address: Janoshegyi ut 10503/9, Budapest 1121, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Hotel Class:3 star — Budai Sport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Budai Sport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing