We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Cafe Bouchon

Cafe Bouchon
Ranked #51 of 3,154 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Terézváros
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great food, superb service, reasonable, and a nice cozy atmosphere. If you are in Budapest do not miss out on this place. Great dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    259
    59
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Patterson, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's the real deal!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Away from the tourist traps, tucked into a side street behind the Opera, is this little gem. Intimate but not crowded, attentive but not overbearing, Bouchon was the best meal we had in Budapest. Portions are generous and authentic (the tastes and aromas of my childhood came rushing back to me), but beautifully presented with a continental flair. If you want the real taste of Hungary in a relaxed, warm setting, this is the place for you. The duck liver pate melts in your mouth, and the pork is crisped to perfection. Leave room for one of the heavenly desserts. The best part: a complete dinner for two, with wine and after-dinner drinks came to less than you'd pay for a lunch in New York. Paris ambiance without the Paris prices! Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Level Contributor
243 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“same as before nice modern place”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

we visited again on thursday the 17 th october with a friend

the service was great,the wines fantastic

the food was cooked well,but I dont know if i will ever really like local cuisine in Hungary

very big portions, top tip ask for a small portion 70% for 70% of the price

a lot of cream in the soup

its a great place with great service ,

it cost us around 30 quid a head with booze and tip so represented great value for this level of cooking and service

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lutonlagerlout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Local favorite where the food is just one of the assets”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was not the fanciest restaurant that we visited in Budapest but it happened to be the place that we enjoyed the most. It feels like you are dining in someone's home and the service there is just as personal. The food is Hungarian but it is prepared with care and a little bit of a French flavor-it was delicious. It was recommended by someone who lives in the city and we were very glad we asked for the advice. It is located near the opera house.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leashuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
257 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Awesome tomato soup with cheese. Homemade bread from heaven. My friend had mozzarella bacon salad and in his words "best salad ever".
My main dish was the breaded deep fried veal tenderloin served with parsley made potatoes and cabbage salad. My friend had the wild boar ragout made with red wine served with cranberry made potato croquettes. Both were simply delicious and the po

Helpful?
1 Thank DoCamandro
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bouchon also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing