We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible restaurant, highly recommended”
Review of Cafe Bouchon

Cafe Bouchon
Ranked #47 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Zug
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible restaurant, highly recommended”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

One of the best restaurants I ever visited. The food and the presentation was perfect. The waiter/owner speaks perfect English and German and you feel like a very welcomed guest. Overall a very pleasant experience and throughly enjoyed, would go again and would recommend highly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank -Sasha-CH-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    260
    60
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Knockout!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Two of my friends and I recently had a guys-trip to Budapest and we ate our way trough most of the top 20 restaurants on this site. This is the place that left me with the biggest impression. Let me put it this way: If you take honest food with a touch of fine-dining complimented with tremendous Hungarian wine (underrated), waiters who knows the menu/wine list from top to bottom and add a fantastically reasonable price you'll get Cafe Bouchon. Go and have you're foodgasm today!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sjef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wow!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff is very friendly and the food was amazing! Their homemade bread and sauce was delicious! The prices were very reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brain79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best owner, host of hosts, most knowledgable restauranteur!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We happened to be in the neighborhood after taking the free communist tour (it finishes nearby). This restaurant was nothing short of outstanding. Amazing food - try the cold fruit soup! The host/owner knew every detail and patiently explained the entire menu to is. He is clearly one of the best - his answers demonstrated a profound knowledge of food and passion for what he is doing!! The prices were fair, and the place seemed to be occupied by many wise locals - it's not a tourist trap restaurant of any sort. The menu is in a half dozen languages.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bensonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel recommended this restaurant. Food was really nice and not too expensive. Friendly staff who took trouble to explain menu and made one of our party a seperate meal as they are very fussy and couldn't eat anything on the menu.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ocnnllKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bouchon also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing