We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal and service in Budapest”
Review of Cafe Bouchon

Cafe Bouchon
Ranked #47 of 3,246 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best meal and service in Budapest”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I went to many restaurants in Budapest, but it is now my favorite! The service is absolutely brilliant - waiter spoke perfectly English and German, and gave us great recommendation for wine. At the beginning, we were served by home-made bread, warm and extremely delicious, together with some tomato paste. After that, we had two perfect meals - Roasted turkey breast with walnuts, camembert, apple and cranberry jam, and Grilled duck breast steak with honey-cherry sauce with almond-made potato croquettes. It was so delicious, and a bottle of gorgeous wine went so fast, that we end up ordering one more bottle of wine with cheese & fruit plate (this plate could be better). The atmosphere was so lovely, and this would be our destination whenever we travel to Budapest!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    261
    60
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This restaurant appeared in our guide book and checked out on Trip Advisor. We had a fabulous meal; smoked salmon with caviar followed by roast duck fillet in a cherry and honey sauce. The almond potato croquettes were to die for, crisp and not at all oily. The waiter made excellent suggestions regarding the wine. We had a bottle of red followed by a shared glass of old vine Tokay in place of dessert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Attentive, delicious, genuine”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at Bouchon. The fixed/degustation menu was fine, but I'm glad I chose to explore the à la carte menu instead. A few dishes that really stood out: the mixed appetizer plate (provided you're a carnivore - ribs, ham, goose, trout, sausage) and the sour cabbage + pork. Straight-forward, genuine food. Fast, attentive and flexible service. Terrific range of palinka. The restaurant is small and intimate, a 15% service charge is included.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimpese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Budapest”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After reading great reviews about this restaurant we made a late evening booking for after the Opera. The staff were friendly and welcoming and there was a lovely atmosphere when we arrived. We tried the tasting platter as a starter (which admittedly was a little disappointing), but the Asparagus started was possibly the best I have ever had. The Steak was extremely tasty and the Scallops and risotto I had was incredible. We also sampled a beautiful bottle of wine. We were the last ones left in the restaurant by the time we finished, but the staff were still friendly and not pushy for us to get out at all. I have since recommended friends to go here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzycummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“How did this end up number 6?”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I would have to say this would have been our most disappointing experience in Budapest.
I'm cannot understand where these great reviews are coming from?

From the time we were seated we should have known what we were in for. What type of restaurant has seating outside the toilets? And i mean right outside!!

The food is extremely over priced for what they offer and the meals at best are average.
We had the Hungarian tasting plate to start which was enjoyable but looked rather average from a presentation perspective. For mains we tried the salmon and the goulash. The salmon was a decent portion but slightly dry and the potato gratin it that accompanied the salmon looked like it was a week old and tasted like it was also. The goulash had great flavours but the meat was tough.
The pricing was extremely expensive for what they offer and there are far better dining experiences all over Budapest.
For example, the salmon was 3990ft where as a prawn and asparagus risotto at a high end restaurant was 3900ft (see my Fausto's review). The meals were chalk and cheese with the salmon a standard affair and the risotto cooked with love.

Each to their own, but this place misses the mark big time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tripbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bouchon also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing