We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ExCellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Bouchon

Cafe Bouchon
Ranked #46 of 3,088 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ExCellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Great food and wine. Wonderful knowledge of what they were making and very reasonable price. Five star!!

Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    758
    250
    57
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mouth watering food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Ate here whist on a three day trip to Budapest..The food was well presented and the service was above what i was expecting...Not the cheapest place to eat but you get what you pay for and this was well worth the money.
The atmosphere was great, along with flavoursome food....
I will be visiting this establishment the next time I visit Budapest.
`

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best service in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Elegant and friendly restaurant with excellent choice of food and great selection of wine.
This is real hospitality!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Csahos_Fenevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place.

Can be a little pricey for some but we loved it and would definitely visit again when we come back to Budapest.

The manager couldn't help us enough and explained about the foods and wine and the homemade bread was beautiful.

I had the steak and the meat was possibly one of the best steaks!

Had the pancake and chicken stuffed with paprika sauce to start......making me hungry just thinking about it again!

A def must!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriette_coop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cafe Bouchon a must!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

What a night, 6 of us went to Cafe Bouchon based on the Trip Advisor reviews and without doubt it lived up to its excellent reports, from the moment we walked through the door we were treated especially well. The food was excellent, the service was very special in that you were talked through with a full explanation of every dish that you ordered and every wine and special Hungarian schnapps that you tasted. The waiters knowledge was first class in that he knew 100 per cent about everything that they sold and all of this for a very reasonable cost well below what you would pay in the UK for something similar.

Don't hesitate to go there if you want a very special evening whilst in Budapest

Robin from Milton Keynes

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinLMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bouchon also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing