We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
The dining area Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Living Room
The dining area
Living Room
Courtyard entry to Apartment Olive
Living Room
Gated door...
Living Room
Entering Apartment Olive
Living Room
The living room
Inner Courtyard
From the doorway...
Hallways
The 'American kitchen'
Inner Courtyard
Washer and microwave tucked into kitchen...
Inner Courtyard
Looking towards the doorway from the kitchen...
Kitchen
...
Kitchen
Living Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
...
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Door to living room from bedroom...
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
The living room from the bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Inner Courtyard
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Inner Courtyard
The bedroom, bathroom door at rear, living room on right
...
Glass bricks bring light into the bathroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The bathroom...
Custom shower
Antique washstand
Bathroom chandelier
City Hall
Hallways
The Master Bedroom
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Budapest, Central Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gwenda S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little apartment”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

On arrival we found Apartment Olive to be a small comfortable well equipped apartment with good security. There was a welcoming small supply of provisions in the fridge which was greatly appreciated. You will even find a spa bag with towels for a relaxing day at the hot-spring baths. Wi-fi, a computer, phones and power adaptors were available and John had provided a folder which contained a wealth of information for getting around Budapest.
The location of the apartment is great. We used public transport only twice during our week in Budapest. Turn R) and walk a few metres to the main road, turn R) cross the road at the pedestrian lights there is a supermarket and a large bakery next door. Turn L) out the door and a few metres down is a supermarket, turn L) again and walking down towards the river you will find a street full of restaurants and fashion shops.
There are so many interesting places within easy walking distance of Apartment Olive, such as the Market Hall and Parliament House, as well walking over the bridges to Gellert Baths and Buda Castle. There are excellent views of the city from Buda castle and the museum is certainly worth a visit.
I have no hesitation in recommending Apartment Olive as a comfortable place to stay, in an easy location for getting around Budapest.
Many thanks John, we enjoyed our stay in Apartment Olive and had a great holiday in Budapest.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicgir...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in Apartment Olive”
Reviewed January 17, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed in Apartment Olive for 8 days from 30 December 2015.

There is so much to love about this apartment. The apartment is on the ground floor in a historic building with an interior courtyard. There is lift access for apartments on upper floors.

The apartment is tastefully furnished with antiques. It is charming, cozy, quiet and comfortable.

The shower was huge with a proper shower head not the hand held shower nozzles you see everywhere else in Europe.

There were bound notes on every aspect of not only the apartment but also every conceivable question you may have when you are in Budapest from medical services to ATMs to dining suggestions and shopping.

Our every need was taken into account - there were guidebooks galore; cook books; books about Hungary and other reading material. There was a washing machine; computer with internet access; hair dryer; various toiletries in the bathroom; towels if we had wanted to avail ourselves of the various thermal spas, all ready to go in a beach bag.

There was a Nespresso machine with coffee pods, tea bags; dishwashing liquid; laundry liquid; mobile phone; local landline with free calls to the US and various other countries.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the property manager who provided explanations regarding the apartment.

To our delight, the fridge had been stocked with fresh smallgoods, butter, milk, pastries and cheese; a loaf of bread was on the counter and a bottle of wine on the shelf.

The location is superb on Varoshaz Utca, close to transport links, restaurants, supermarkets and the shopping in Vorosmarty Square. It was within walking distance of the Jewish Quarter, the Great Hall markets, the Erszebet Bridge. It was close enough to the tourist hub to access the various restaurants and sites yet far enough away to feel like you were part of everyday life in Budapest.

Even when just making enquiries, John the owner, replied within hours to any enquiries we had about the apartment and Budapest itself.

John was available at any time throughout our stay to answer any questions we had.

Apartment Olive was also unbeatable value.

We loved our stay in Budapest and Apartment Olive so much that we are already planning our next visit. Hopefully the secret of how great this apartment is won't get out and it will still be available for our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan T
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Charming, well-situated apartment with a personal touch”
Reviewed November 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My friend and I stayed in Apartment Olive during a weekend trip to Budapest in September 2015. The place is cozy, well-furnished and equipped with most anything you could possibly think to need (especially in the wifi/international communications department). But the best part of the apartment is that it has been endowed with John's personal touch. If you are traveling to Budapest and decide to stay at one of John's apartments, then you will be endowed with his intimate knowledge of the city. John will not hesitate to give you great recommendations and tips directly, but his wealth of knowledge and love of Budapest also manifests itself in the apartments that he cares for and lives in. Apartment Olive felt like a celebration, or homage, to a city that John clearly loves. It's stocked with books and guides about the Budapest and Hungary. His attitude toward the city is infectious, and it will inspire you to discover all that the city has to offer. Don't be surprised if you end up falling in love with it, too.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojii
Ocean View, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bring me your weary... and I will give you rest”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Apartment Olive is like a Faberge egg - an exquisitely decorated and finished gem of an apartment sheltered from the street within a leafy courtyard, enclosed within a fine old building behind thick walls through an archway off a quiet street at the centre of the oldest part of Budapest. Walking into The Olive is to know you have come "home".
The thoughtfulness and hospitality of the owner, John Farago, makes you feel welcome and immediately "at home" and comfortable. John arranged for our pick up at the airport with his regular taxi driver who waited for us patiently even though I had managed to choose the slowest queue at customs. After a completely sleepless 30 hours travel we were more than slightly deranged. Within minutes of closing the doors and settling into The Olive we felt completely relaxed. All the information John provided helped us get oriented. Everything is just a few metres away as the apartment is centrally located. I would especially recommend this apartment for people on their first trip to Budapest as John's hospitality instantly overcomes disorientation. The apartment is so perfectly equipped with all of the essentials provided by a host who totally understands the needs of travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Prime location, authentic period charm, exquisite tasteful decoration, and generosity of the owner.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcho84
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Genuine Budapest Experience”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tucked inside a peaceful courtyard in the heart of the old city, it is hard to imagine a better location for this style of accommodation. Apartment Olive is charming and romantic - exactly what we wanted from our stay in Budapest.
The owner's attention to detail is unparalleled in our experience of Europe. They've really gone above and beyond to make sure that you not only have everything you need, but also that your stay is enjoyable. The airport pickup and key collection went seamlessly and the apartment manager (Ilona) was friendly & welcoming. Highly recommend this spot for your getaway in Pest!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise M
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exactly as advertised and more”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Other reviewers have discussed the features of this charming small apartment In Budapest's fifth district. So suffice it to say that in addition to learning about the great location and primo amenities, there are a couple of other things you should know.

First, take the time to read the booklet of restaurant recommendations you will find in the apartment. They are spot on, and you can't go wrong. Second, the hundreds of films/DVDs selected by the host are all excellent, and if a rainy day or jet lag keeps you indoors, any one of them would give a few hours of well-crafted entertainment. Third, the collection of guidebooks is well-chosen, although a few old ones could probably be updated with more recent editions.

A couple of other things you should be aware of. These are not negatives, just things you should know when choosing the right accommodation. First, it is cozy, to use the word in the materials offered to prospective guests. Three people might really be a crowd, especially if they don't know each other intimately. Second, despite the comment of at least one reviewer, there is no clothes dryer. Instead, there is a sturdy drying rack, which is what many Hungarians use to dry washing. This is fine, except...Hungary is pretty humid and clothes do not dry all that quickly. It might take a couple of days, so plan ahead to avoid having to put damp clothes in your suitcase when it's time to leave. Finally, although the apartment is on the ground floor, there are a couple of steps. It's probably not suitable for someone who must use a wheelchair all the time or who cannot do any steps.

If you do choose Olive as your base while visiting Budapest, you should have a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2015
I have a perhaps quirky attitude to responding to reviews: Basically, I never respond because I believe that the integrity of the review process should limit my contact with the reviews, simply encouraging all of our guests to provide candid feedback for future visitors. Renting an apartment online is not about real estate, it's about trust, and I believe that those who read what we have to say about our places should also get the benefit of objective comments from those who have stayed with us, without me looking over their shoulder. We have been blessed for more than a decade by having an incredible group of guests-who-become-friends, and their comments here and in our guestbooks fill our hearts.

At any rate I am making an exception here because, more than anything else, we don't want anyone to arrive at any of our places with false expectations. I had not realized that anyone had said that there's a dryer in Apartment Liesel until Louise mentioned it here. As she says, there is not -- we could not find any place to put one and, in fact, were only able to squeeze a rather small washer in to the space where plumbing was available. It's not a place to do a big load of laundry (our other apartments fit that bill -- Max, Andrei, Sarah and Belle).

Second, Jeanne and I agree totally that we would feel cramped if we had to share this apartment with, say, one of our adult children. But love them as we do, they're nonetheless a fairly expansive group and we're pretty private people. We caution guests that this is a small and cozy one-bedroom; the bathroom is accessed through the bedroom; the sofa bed in the living room is very comfortable, but it is in the living room. Compared to a hotel suite, it's pretty spacious (unless you travel in more rarefied circles than we do and get the Presidential Suite), but compared to one bedroom apartments it's small.

We have had families, and even groups of 3-4 friends share the apartment and love it ... it would not work for me but it did for them, and the price point was extremely desirable. It's a travel style question, how long you'll be staying, and what your need for personal space comes down to. Anyway, again, it's about 400 square feet total.

It was a delight hosting these guests as it has been with all who have come, and now I will back out and return to my policy of letting the reviews speak for themselves. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen R
Port Talbot, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable and homely accomodation”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had never travelled to Budapest before and did not know what to expect from the apartment. John was very helpful offering to arrange transport for the transfer from the airport and even checking if we prefer red wine or white upon arrival! His apartment manager was there to meet us and show us how everything worked. It is the small touches that were really appreciated as well as the wine there was milk eggs fruit bread butter and salami. A lovely coffee machine with a range of coffees too. The apartment can be entered from the street from one of two entrances through a beautiful old courtyard and the apartment itself is on the ground floor with a secure gate. There is a wealth of information on getting around and where to eat shop and see the sights. We settled in really quickly and felt at home. There is a telephone/computer and a huge range of films for guests to use. John came around one of the days and offered us free tickets for the Symphony that evening that he couldnt use! The apartment has good quality furniture lovely feather pillows and big fluffy towels. It is right in the middle of the city but is very quiet and very well placed for the underground or buses to get around (we walked mostly everywhere no problems bring good walking shoes) Would highly recommend Olive for couples or small families. Fabulous well done John and Jeanie we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing