We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick service but excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rose Restaurant

Rose Restaurant
Ranked #324 of 3,090 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $27
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quick service but excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Although we were rushing to catch the train from Keleti station we got immediate service and some of the best prepared and delicious food of our stay in Budapest.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    147
    47
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We decided to go out of the hotel to find a local restaurant, and came across Rose. We were made to feel very welcome. The goulash was fantastic, and steak was perfect. Staff were very friendly and attentive, and was defiantly good value for money. We were only here for four days but ate there twice, well worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great find - well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived in Budapest mid-evening on Sunday, and asked the hotel receptionist to recommend a local place to eat. His recommendation of the Rose was just right - but we would never have found it unless he had suggested it, as it is in a fairly narrow, rather dark street with various cafes etc. The staff were helpful and welcoming, but not intrusive, and the atmosphere was relaxing and calm, although there was a good number of people there, several of whom appeared to be Hungarian, which is always a good recommendation for a restaurant. They weren't fazed by my vegetarianism and had three or four options, of which I chose a very nasty gnocchi dish. My partner really enjoyed the goulash. We enjoyed local wine, but couldn't manage a desert sadly. We really enjoyed the music provided by a violinist accompanied by a guy playing what we later discovered was a cimbalom (a keyboard - rather like a xylophone - which is a traditional Hungarian instrument and produces a gentle, mellow sound) - the music was played sensitively and unobtrusively, but really helped to make the atmosphere that extra bit special (we even bought the CD!). We would both definitely recommend this lovely little place - and had we been staying longer would probably have re-visited it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hils15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
319 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Go for the Gulash!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were recommended to go to this restaurant by the reception of our hotel. We asked for an authentic Hungarian restaurant where Hungarians would eat and she recommended this place. We were truly surprised by what we found. Upon entering you get the feel of another average bistro, however the service was very friendly and attentive and then the food ... out of this world! We wanted something authentic, so we asked for the Gulash (main-course). It was served fairly quick and was very appetizing. It was served with pasta, mixed with egg and the meat was calf, the taste was amazing. It was so good we went back two days later, we had the same dish and it was even better than the first time. The price is very good and the portions are very generous. The only disturbance was the live gipsy music that was really bashing in my wifes ears during the meal and she already had a headache. When we come back to Budapest, we will definately go back here. Many thanks!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Twice in 5 days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Vacations are too short and we want the most out of our time away.
Spent 5 days in Budapest and two of those nights were well spent in the culinary hands of Rose Restaurant.
The location is great, next to all the nightlife, but just far enough to walk off a bit of the meal.
Price is more then fair for the quality and quantity. They accept euro as well as list the prices in both FT and Euro.
The owner was there that night and we had a nice chat about his place, how long they have been open and the cool image film out on his website.
All in all a great place. I would recommend the chicken with peach sauce and the fritters on the side.
The only thing I would improve about the place is that its all the way over in Budapest and not in my neighborhood.
All the best to Rose Restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damion21075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Rose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing