We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started off good, gradually got worse”
Review of Centrooms House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centrooms House
Ranked #36 of 193 Budapest B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Decided to stay here based on the previous reviews and stayed for 3 nights. The building is situated on a busy main road but the road noise could not be heard from our room. We stayed in room 13 which is located on the ground floor facing a central courtyard.

Booked a double room but ended up with an extra room with another single bed. The rooms have exceptionally high ceilings and the bed was nice and comfortable. There is a safe which You can keep valuables in and is just big enough for an ipad. The bathroom was very small and as previous reviewers have mentioned, this room had half a door missing and a leaky shower hose which flooded the room everytime we attempted a shower.

The first night was a good sleep however for some strange reason, we were woken up by builders who decided it was ok to start drilling and using power tools at 7.30 in the morning! This also carried on the following night where we were glad to get away. The walls and windows were exceptionally thin and you could hear everything outside the room.

Overall, the place is nice but could do with a few renovations starting with the bathroom and painting the walls. Staff were friendly and can speak english but advise to take your own hair dryer as the girlfriend got an electric shock from the one she used from reception.

Finally, the area is ok (you can see a few homeless people around) however i think this is compensated by the wide variety of cafes/restaurants and bars/clubs within a couple of streets.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rob_Sams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 297 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I gave a very good note to centrooms, of course it isnt at the same level of the best hotels in the city but related to bed and breakfast category I belive it deserves 5 stars.
I got a room there few times since Im in Budapest quite often. Over all the personnel at the reception is very nice and kind, always available for anything...help, suggestions, late check out at night etc etc
The position isnt very good because the area isnt the best in the city but literally 5 meters from the hotel's door there is a metro stop.
Anyway you can reach many interesting restaurants by foot, check a map and move north or north-west from the hotel position.

Some rooms are smallers than others but prices are so cheap that it is absolutely impossible to complain about anything.

I ll go there again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davide F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Centrooms is maybe not located in the most exciting part of town, but you can get anyway so easily, due to the subway just in front of the hotel, that it really doesn't matter.

We didn't find the area creepy or scary at all.

The service from the front desk, was great and sweet. They help us a lot, with how to get somewhere and things and spas to do.

The hotel is cheap, so you get what you pay for, lucky for us we got a very large room, located right next to the reception, so we kinda woke up the poor receptionists when we came home from a night out. The room had a little kitchen two bunkbeds (though we were only two) a double bed, two chairs and a little table. Nothing to complain about, expect that the bathroom was a mess, clean enough but everything was falling apart and when showering everything in there flooded, but we had a laugh about it.

If you, like us, don't use your hotel room for anything else but to sleep, then it's perfect. Cheap and great location for sightseeing and going out.

Would return. Definately.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoSoJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Pros: Good wifi in room. Clean room. Good location (except for right out front which is full of bums). Close to metro and trams. AC worked well.

Cons: Paid breakfast looked dismal for what you get. Bathroom needs work - showerhead clasp broken so have to hand hold showerhead, one of the glass shower doors missing. TV only has one English channel - CNN. Kinda hard to find. Look for Burger King and look a few doors down. It's a small door.

Room 5 is a quad room but we got it for the two of us. This room is HUGE! It's awesome. We looked into the other rooms and they were very small. Room 5 also faced the street. We weren't bothered by the street noise and did not hear any noise from within the hotel. Room did vibrate everytime a tram drove by.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the biggest and brightest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had booked for 2 nights, but after spending a few hours in Budapest, extended our stay at Centrooms to 4. Upon check in we were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was massive with 4m ceilings, a private bathroom, solid air-con, and kitchenette. Our room, just near reception (room 7) was very comfortable, and for €135 for 4 nights, an absolute bargain. Centrooms is located right next to a tram stop for the number 4 & 6 which are very handy for getting about Budapest quickly. It was about a 20min (with backpacks) straight walk from Keleti (eastern) train station. Great location for exploring Budapest, excellent rates, and a very comfortable room.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank theflyingbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent there 2 nights. It was great. The receptionist spoke English perfectly and you could pay in Euros. The room was specious, very clean, and toilet was outstandingly clean. It was warm in room although it was -6 C outside. The only thing was sound from the cars from the street, so a little extra insulation would not hurt.
Location is excellent, close to metro, train station and lot of cheap restaurants around you.
Defiantly a great place to stay if you are on budget.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slavko p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel was very cheap for a city centre location at only €40 a night, so we were never expecting luxury. What we got was a hotel that whilst basic was more than adequete for our needs. The double room was extremely spacious and the air conditioning functioned well to keep out the humidity. The bed was comfortable and the shower was fine, meaning it had everything required for a city break.

Staff were accommodating and friendly.

Only downsides were the breakfast (not worth €4), you could get something much better elsewhere for less money and the lift, which was old and clunky and actually briefly got stuck while we were in it!

Overall however, a hotel that I would strongly reccomend for anyone travelling to Budapest and operating on a fairly tight budget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccfc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Central Hotel 21
#68 of 336 in Budapest
617 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 336 in Budapest
1,019 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden House
#20 of 193 in Budapest
65 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Heritage Guest House
Budapest Heritage Guest House
#22 of 193 in Budapest
14 reviews
Hotel Sunshine
#24 of 193 in Budapest
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrooms House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrooms House

Address: Rakoczi ut 44, Budapest 1072, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: $27 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrooms House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centrooms House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrooms House Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing