We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,554)
Filter reviews
1,554 results
Traveler rating
361
746
309
93
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
746
309
93
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelmargaret islandparliament buildingmetro stationrecommend this hotelsuperior roommini barminute walktea and coffeepublic transportreception staffcity breakbreakfast roomrooms are smallside streetbeautiful citybreakfast included
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 1,554 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and the location good. We had walking distance to the parlament and boat Tours and shopping center. But this is not a 4-star hotel. We had a superior room that was spacious but old. The breakfast was very basic. Its ok but not moore.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Marielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmaraHotelBudapest, Értékesítési igazgató at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2017

Dear "Marielle T", dear our valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at our Marmara Hotel Budapest and for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with the travelers’ community.

I am sadly reading that according to your experiences you cannot rate our hotel with four-star.

I am really sorry that the facilities of the room did not meet your expectations.

Let me take the opportunity to inform you that more improvements and renovations have been started and we are working hard to keep the quality on a high basis standard.

We regret learn from your review about the breakfast. Let me please inform you that we made more improvements and we are continously trying to find the best variety of our buffet breakfast to all of our kind guests.

We provide now 4 types of hot dishes in one day and they are varied day by day. All together 10 types of hot dishes are provided and a wide range of cold foods are also available. (cheeses, hams, jams, fresh fruits and vegetables, musli, cereal, bread, wholemeal bread, croissant, sweet and salty pastries, yoghurt, juices, tea, coffee, etc.)

Despite of the written facts we are happy that overall you were satisfied with our friendly staff and the good location.

I would like to thank you once again for having chosen our hotel and we do hope that we can have the opportunity to host you again.

In case there is anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely yours,

Marmara Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Me & my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights. We stayed on the 2nd floor, quiet at night, adequate sized room for what you need. Good location for public transport links and short walk distance to the Danube.

The room and bathroom were clean and even provided free bowl of fruit. No tea or coffee making facilities. The breakfast left a little to be desired and reason for knocking down the star rating, but was fairly standard quality with more than enough to choose from.

Would recommend to anyone on a budget but still looking for somewhere fairly decent to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachSquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmaraHotelBudapest, Értékesítési igazgató at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear "PeachSquash", dear our valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for spending the time to share you feedback with the Tripadvisor travellers in regards of your recent stay in the Marmara Hotel Budapest.

We are happy to know that you found our hotel quiet with a good location close to the public transportation and the city centre.

We were gladly reading that you liked our room and you were satisfied with its cleanliness.

Let me take the opportunity to inform you that more improvements and renovations have been started. For example we will change the furniture in our breakfast room and the provided facilities in the room had been extended with extra pillow, water kettle and more light in the rooms.

We do hope we can welcome you again in our hotel and you could have the chance to benefit from our improvements.

Kind regards,

Marmara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

Superior room on 6th floor
Presentation of room looked as if someone had laid on the bed. Remains of sticky labels on balcony door, balcony floor dirty. Tear in net curtain.
Bed side top sticky / grime
Frayed bathmat, changed on second day
BED NOT made up on second day
Outside the room, the carpet in the corridor was dirty with fluff, had not been hoovered for days
Several dirty finger prints on lift door
This is definitely not four star.
Plus side, location to transport and sites, breakfast was simple. Great airport transfer

Room Tip: inspect your room first
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank trevis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmaraHotelBudapest, Értékesítési igazgató at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear "trevis0", dear our valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at our Marmara Hotel Budapest and for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with the travelers’ community.

I am sadly reading that you disappointed with your choice and you were not satisfied with the cleanliness.

Please accept our apologies for not being able to provide you the experience which you have expected from us.

Furthermore, let me take this opportunity to ensure you that our Housekeeping Manager did the necessary steps to improve the quality of the service and the new colleagues had been trained as well.

Despite of the written facts I am glad to hear that you have found the location and the airport transfer service good.

I would like to thank you once again for having chosen our hotel and we do hope that we can have the opportunity to host you again.

In case there is anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely yours,

Marmara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

We went to Budapest for a wedding in August 2017. This hotel was recommended & several other guests also stayed there. We had a great time at the Marmara: nice welcome, wonderful cool lobby (it was 40C outside), lovely, clean, large room on 6th floor with small balcony overlooking the breakfast room; 2 lifts, bar and restaurant downstairs, good breakfast, very reasonable rates. Extremely convenient for all public transport (which is excellent and cheap) and sightseeing, with many places easily reached on foot. ALSO, not to be missed, go to the New York Salon in the Boscolo Hotel, 3 tram stops away, for afternoon tea (or any other meal). I promise you'll be very glad you did :)

Room Tip: Superior rooms have big balcony
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MivUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmaraHotelBudapest, Értékesítési igazgató at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear "MivUK", dear our valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your kind words and positive comments about Marmara Hotel Budapest.

It was our greatest pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and you did not disappointed with your choise.

We are really appreciated that you chose our hotel for celebrating this special event and we are really glad that our team could be at your disposal during your kin stay.

Thank you for your nice remark about our large and clean rooms, the good breakfast and last but not at least the good value for money.

We were gladly reading that you could take the advantages of the central location as well.

There is nothing more motivated for us than receiving feedbacks like yours. It was my pleasure to share your nice words with the whole team of the hotel.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon again at Marmara Hotel Budapest.

Kind regards,

Marmara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Me and my friend was staying here for 6 nights and we had an OK experience until the day we choose to have our room cleaned and items went lost.
We turned the room upside down looking for the stuff but just to be sure it was not shuffled under the bed or got legs of it own and hid somewhere. The reception desk was very understanding but had no authorisation to give us a refund on the spot and told us to wait for the management until the next day.
Morning after we strolled down in high spirit thinking this matter would be solved asap. But We could not have been more wrong when the management refused to take any responsibility at all. The explanation we got was that they asked the housekeeper who (obviously) declined the theft and nothing could be proved since there is (obviously) no cameras in the rooms. They also mentioned that they had to trust their employees, the girl had after all worked there for several weeks (!) and this was the first complaint. At the last desperate resort for our feeling of leaving our belongings safe we asked to check out and get a refund for the remaining days but this was also declined since the room was prepaid.
Other mentionable remarks would be dirty showers, basic and cheap breakfast buffet. So yeah, avoid this place by any means possible.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmaraHotelBudapest, Értékesítési igazgató at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear "Lisa B", dear our valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at our Marmara Hotel Budapest and for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with the travelers’ community.

I am sadly reading that after 6 pleasant days you were disappointed with the reaction of the management in regards of the mentioned situation.

According to the general policy of the property, the hotel does not take the responsibility for valuables left in the guest rooms, therefore we advise to use the safe box, which is available in all rooms for our kind guests for free of charge.

Since this unpleasant situation we have not had any kind of this complaint from our kind guests.

In case there is anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely yours,

Marmara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews