We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,556)
Filter reviews
1,556 results
Traveler rating
361
748
309
93
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
748
309
93
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelmargaret islandparliament buildingmetro stationrecommend this hotelsuperior roommini barminute walktea and coffeepublic transportreception staffcity breakbreakfast roomrooms are smallside streetbeautiful citybreakfast included
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 1,556 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Me and my friend was staying here for 6 nights and we had an OK experience until the day we choose to have our room cleaned and items went lost.
We turned the room upside down looking for the stuff but just to be sure it was not shuffled under the bed or got legs of it own and hid somewhere. The reception desk was very understanding but had no authorisation to give us a refund on the spot and told us to wait for the management until the next day.
Morning after we strolled down in high spirit thinking this matter would be solved asap. But We could not have been more wrong when the management refused to take any responsibility at all. The explanation we got was that they asked the housekeeper who (obviously) declined the theft and nothing could be proved since there is (obviously) no cameras in the rooms. They also mentioned that they had to trust their employees, the girl had after all worked there for several weeks (!) and this was the first complaint. At the last desperate resort for our feeling of leaving our belongings safe we asked to check out and get a refund for the remaining days but this was also declined since the room was prepaid.
Other mentionable remarks would be dirty showers, basic and cheap breakfast buffet. So yeah, avoid this place by any means possible.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmaraHotelBudapest, Értékesítési igazgató at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear "Lisa B", dear our valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at our Marmara Hotel Budapest and for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with the travelers’ community.

I am sadly reading that after 6 pleasant days you were disappointed with the reaction of the management in regards of the mentioned situation.

According to the general policy of the property, the hotel does not take the responsibility for valuables left in the guest rooms, therefore we advise to use the safe box, which is available in all rooms for our kind guests for free of charge.

Since this unpleasant situation we have not had any kind of this complaint from our kind guests.

In case there is anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely yours,

Marmara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017

Excellent location, supermarkets, restaurants, city sites all within easy walking distance. Transport near by. Stayed in a superior room which is a good size, room very dark as window in corner so very little natural light. Need to be more generous with tea, coffee and soap that never appeared. Staff friendly, breakfast good but not much variety.

Room Tip: Superior room
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmaraHotelBudapest, Értékesítési igazgató at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear "jazzcarlin", dear our valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at our Marmara Hotel Budapest and for taking the time to share your experiences with us and with the travelers’ community.

It was our deepest pleasure to read that you liked the excellent location of the hotel and you could benefit from the proximity of the supermarkets, restaurants and sights within walking distance.

We are happy that you were satisfied with our friendly staff and the size of our Superior rooms as well.

Let me please inform you that more improvements and renovations have been started. For example we are going to change the furniture in our breakfast room and the provided facilities in the room had been extended with extra pillow, water kettle and more light in the rooms.

Regarding the in-room facilities let me take this opportunity to encourage you and all the future guests of ours to turn to us for assistance during their stay at anytime whenever their experience does not meet their expectations.

I am sure that we could have found a solution to make your stay more comfortable and pleasant with us.

I would like to thank you once again for having chosen our hotel and we do hope that we can have the opportunity to host you again.

In case there is anything I can do for you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely yours,

Marmara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The hotel was quiet, staff very friendly and near to a metro station. Only a few stations and you can reach the main touristics points. Walking distance from da Parlament. Breakfast was good.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank anacsspereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmaraHotelBudapest, Értékesítési igazgató at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear "anacsspereira", dear our valued Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for spending the time to share you kind feedback with the Tripadvisor travellers and us as well in regards of your recent stay in the Marmara Hotel Budapest.

We are delighted that you liked the provided service by our friendly staff and you were satisfied with the quiet location with the proximity of the public transportation as well.

We appreciate for your kind comment regarding our good breakfast, the feedbacks arriving from our guests are upmost important for us.

We appreciate your time to sharing with us your kind experiences and we do hope we can have the chance to welcome you again in the Marmara Hotel Budapest.

Kind regards,

Marmara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

Hotel was OK for a couple of nights. Breakfast was poor and repeated . Bread could have been fresher. The room didn't have any coffee, only tea, but no milk. Staff were helpful. The restaurant wasn't open of a evening.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmaraHotelBudapest, Értékesítési igazgató at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear „Paul S”, dear our valued Guest,

First and foremost let me thank you for having chosen our Marmara Hotel Budapest in our capital.

As our aim is to create a pleasant stay to all of our kind guests - I am deeply sorry that we have not succeed in your case.

We regret learn from your detailed review about the breakfast. Let me please inform you that we made more improvements and we are continously working hard to find the best variety of our buffet breakfast to all of our kind guests.

We provide now 4 types of hot dishes in one day and they are varied day by day .All together 10 types of hot dishes are provided and a wide range of cold foods are also available. (cheeses, hams, jams, fresh fruits and vegetables, musli, cereal, bread, wholemeal bread, croissant, sweet and salty pastries, yoghurt, juices, tea, coffee, etc.)

We are grateful for all your precious comments regarding the facilities in the room.

Furthermore, let me take this opportunity to encourage you and all the future guests of ours to turn to us for assistance during their stay at anytime whenever their experience does not meet their expectations.

I am sure that we could have found a solution to make your stay more comfortable and pleasant with us.

Nevertheless, I am reading it with a great pleasure that you were impressed by our our helpful staff.

Regarding the restaurant let me kindly inform you that we do not promote our restaurant as an "a la carte" one, which is available for all guests. We can provide lunch or dinner for groups (minimum 10 persons) in case of pre-ordering.

Thanks to the good and central location of the hotel more nice restaurants can be recommended by our staff who are more than happy to assist you in case of reserving table or asking more information.

I would like to thank you once again for your stay and we are really appreciated for your valuable feedback provided to us.

I do hope that despite of your recently experiences we will have the chance to welcome you to our hotel and we can prove our professionalism and show you the improvements following to your comments.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime.

Sincerely yours,

Marmara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We upgraded from double to superior for less than £10 per night and one of the light in the superior was not working( not big deal ) however this was dealt in less than 10 mins by the staff. AC working fine, Room decor was very nice, much bigger than the double room and had a small balcony but cleanliness need a bit of attention as we found an ear plug on side of the bed and balcony needed TLC too. But it could be that the room was not really prepare as we change our mind upon arrival. Double room are also nice and cosy and have better views than the superior despite having balcony we could not see much apart from neighbors flat. Breakfast was OK!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Miss R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarmaraHotelBudapest, Értékesítési igazgató at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Dear "Miss R", dear our valued Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for spending the time to share you kind feedback with the Tripadvisor travellers and us as well in regards of your recent stay in the Marmara Hotel Budapest.

We are delighted that you liked the atmosphere of the hotel and the provided facilities and services met your expectations.

It was our pleasure to read that you liked our Superior room and our helpful staff could be at your disposal during your kind stay.

Thank you for your remark regarding the cleanliness, let me ensure you that we do our best to improve this service and keep the quality on high basis standards.

We appreciate for your kind comment, the feedbacks arriving from our guests are upmost important for us.

We appreciate your time to sharing with us your kind experiences and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Marmara Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews