We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Nearby Hotels
$568
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$197
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$185
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
$193
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$127
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New York Palace(Budapest)
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$301
$250
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$154
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$200
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$402
$309
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,478)
Filter reviews
1,478 results
Traveler rating
340
714
295
88
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
714
295
88
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelparliament buildingmargaret islandmetro stationrecommend this hotelmini barsuperior roomtea and coffeereception staffminute walkpublic transportbreakfast roomcity breakrooms are smallside streethotel barbeautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 1,478 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Very nice hotel, well located and services according to their rates. near the train station
good attention. Plentiful, varied and good quality breakfast.
Ideal for a getaway de3 days to know the city as I did

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We chose this hotel as a base for our weekend break in Budapest (January 2014), as the location is ideal for getting about to the major sightseeing experiences in the city. It is about three streets from the parliament building, in the embassy district.

It looks quite flashy on the outside and the reception area matches this. The staff weren't overly friendly, and I have to say this was a recurrent theme in the city as a whole, where the English don't seem to be that popular. It may be that Hungarians are just deadpan people, but they didn't go out of their way to be polite and courteous in a lot of the places we visited.

Because of things that had been said on here, I requested a non-street-side room to avoid traffic and people's cigarette smoke, which apparently drifts up the rooms. This helped but as per the reviews on here, the heating is very high at night and despite temperatures of -12 degrees, we slept with our balcony door open every night! The heating system is horrendously noisy too. All you hear throughout the night is the rattling and grinding from the aircon/heating system. The other noise we had was from the laminate floor outside our room. Every time someone walked down it, the noise permeated our room, waking us in the morning. We were situated right near the main elevator corridor, but the other areas are carpeted, so be aware you might want to ensure you are away from this corridor when booking.

The room was clean and nicely presented and was somewhat reminiscent of a Premier Inn. We had a superior room and this was about 70 Euros a night. A big downer was the lack of tea and coffee in the rooms although a kettle and cups had been provided, so when we had breakfast next day, we took milk and tea up with us.

Breakfast is served through till 11am, so if you want to sleep in or have a heavy night, you have a bit of leeway. There is no restaurant though, so make sure you go and explore and eat out for lunch and dinner.

There is a busy street just up from the hotel and we ate here the first night - it was very late and we found a nice Italian restaurant which was still open after 11pm. Don't be fooled about the country possibly being cheap. Prices are quite comparible to the UK. I suspect this is because of the capital city status and the countryside may be better. Not London prices but not cheap either.

There is a bar but it isn't brilliant. They specialise in cocktails and spirits with one lager on draft. The downside of this in the winter was that every time someone came in the door, a blast of icy air filled the area.

Room Tip: As for non-street side. Try and keep away from the lifts corridor which has a laminate floor which is very noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linskibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I visted the marmara in october with 2 friends. We requested a twin room with an extra bed but we got a double room with extra bed and there was plenty of room for us. The room was comfortable however if there are three of you staying in a room expect a camp bed as the third bed.

The bathroom is lovely and shower is great however I could not seem to get the radiator to work in the bathroom.

The mini bar seemed to be ok and stocked well but the fridge was warm so we decided not to use any of it. The safe came very handy as it was free and we felt more secure putting some of our items in there while we were out.

The breakfast is a typical continental, there's not much choice but its a start to the day. Theres some hams and cheeses, fruits and cereals, boiled eggs, 2 types of sausages, bread, coffee and fruit juice. you do need to attend breakfast earlier rather than later as they do keep items stocked up however the one day there was no butter and when I asked for some the man insisted that was it for the day I thought he was joking but he then said no no no....no more butter today more tomorrow!

The people working on reception seemed grumpy but were helpful however when we ordered taxis from the hotel they were alot more expensive than the taxis that we got ourselves. When we came back from a meal the one night and wanted a drink from the bar it was just gone 10.30pm and we were practically shouted at for sitting down and the drinks menus were snatched from our hands however wat I did see of the menu the drinks were fairly priced.

Now budapest the location of this hotel is great its two minutes from trams, theres lovely restaurants around the corner, and the metro station is a few minutes walk away. The parliament and the danube is a ten minute walk from the hotel. All in all its in a great location which is the main reason I chose this hotel for our break.

There is so much to see and do in this city we visited the parliament which is gorgeous inside and we also went to the szechenyi baths which are amazing we went in the evening and it was lovely its an absolute must see and do! We used the hop on hop off tour buses on two of the days which are a great way to get around and see everything and it includes a boat on the danube. We went to one of the famous kavehaz (coffee house) which are stunning the food and drink served are top notch and affordable too. We also visited the gellert hill where you can see amazing views. Also went to the castle district which is stunning.

All in all an amazing city. Make sure you get a good deal on the hotel otherwise consider staying somewhere else. The hotel was what we expected just a comfortable base for our adventures.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank lovelylivii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel's location is very good. It's about 10 minutes (on foot) from the Westend. The staffs are polite and kind, but are rigid. The room was clean, but not too big. Doesn't matter. Facilities are good. The minibar is not too expensive, but not too cheap. It's average. The oriental style is not original, just cheap imitation.

The breakfast is average, nothing special. It was good.

Why not hungarian TV channel in Hungary's hotel??!! This is a big mistake for the "TV lovers".

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoziBolonderia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for walking around this fascinating city.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly,unlike some of the reviews that we read.
The hotel itself was good but not like western Europe's 4****,we found it clean and would recommend it to anyone for a short visit.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews