We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Ranked #99 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel has quite mixed reviews and so was a little bit unsure if it would be any good or not. The location is excellent, it is just outside all the busy areas of the city. The road it's on is quiet. It's only a few minutes walk away from the Houses of Parliament and about 20 from the Vaci Utca area.

The hotel was nicely decorated. The room we had could have done with a lick of paint as there were a few marks on the walls. I would recommend taking tea bags or coffee etc to drink in the room. We had a kettle and mugs but only had weird flavoured tea bags provided.We had air conditioning in the room which was needed as it was quite warm when we went. The toiletries provided were really nice and it was good to see that you were given a proper hairdryer.

The breakfast was mainly continental, not quite sure what people had to complain about as there were cereals, breads, fruits, some cooked items, croissants and various jams/ spreads, cheeses and cold meats. They also had yoghurts and a toaster, a bit of everything.

I would say that this hotel is on the lower side of four star but still good value for money.

The staff we encountered all spoke good English and were very helpful. A nice touch when we arrive was that we were handed a pack of leaflets for things to do. As a result of this we ended up booking tickets for the open top hop on hop off Giraffe bus guide. This was £15 each for two days and included a boat ride along the Danube - excellent value for money.

All in all was a very pleasant trip and preferred here to Prague.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaK2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    649
    262
    69
    35
See reviews for
132
728
61
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have stayed 3 nights and the hotel is not morre then average. The beds could be better, the breakfast is not more then ok, and the location is not the best. I would rather find a hotel nearby Vaci utca. The service was ok but it is possible to smile a little bit more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasOslo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel is well located. It's walking distance to the main station and all the main tourist attractions. We stayed in a standard room. Decor ok. Carpets need a good clean and the shower could do with re grouting as there was a lot of mould. Staff effective and polite. Breakfast was very mediocre. Although there is reasonable choice, the quality is average and although breakfast is technically served until ten, things run out and are not replenished from half nine which we felt was poor. Our friends got a much better deal by not booking through the main hotel website so it you must stay here, shop around for a cheap deal. It's not worth the prices charged by booking directly with the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite. Much better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELH1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We got a wonderful double, with street view (although nothing special in front of the window). Reception opened all day and night, the same small bar at the groundfloor.
Breakfast well served with everything necessary for waking up after night of discovering city.
Hotel is good situated, with metro station just 5 min. away and tram stop 3 min away. Discounts and bigger supermarkets in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larnaka
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights for the amazing amount of €176 with breakfast!

The hotel is located just a few minutes walking from the city centre.

It is a modern hotel with nice but small rooms though we found out that the rooms in the inner side of the hotel were bigger!

They clean the rooms every day with the option of changing towels every day as well

Breakfast was ok with just all the necessary things.

Reception is very helpful and they speak English fluently.

The only negative thing were the carpets in the hotel's corridor but as we found out they were replacing them with lamimated floor deck in the other floors thong that caused some noise during the day.

The hotel is very near to the West End shopping mall Margarets Island the train station and the Vacy Ut as well many other shops restaurants and the tram station.

we had a couple of beers at the bar of the hotel and the prices were very reasonable only 2 euro each.

we didnt try the restaurant so we cannot have an opinion.

We suggest Marmara hotel as a place to stay during your visit to Budapest and we are definately staying there again!

getting there: we got there from Budapest T2 with ryanair.

we could get a taxi arranged from the hotel but we didnt as the price given to us was too high appx 25 euro for one taxi and we needed 2 so we booked a mini cab from the airport from 222-2-222 for 5 persons with 2 big luggages and 5 cabin luggages at the price of 20 euro only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giannismaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Marmara and were definitely disappointed.

Although the hotel is in a great location, and is decorated wonderfully it still lacks any atmosphere that you would expect of a 4 star hotel.

This is down to key areas which management seem to be missing! First of all the carpets are filthy when stepping out of the elevator, not a good first impression when walking to your room. Our room stank of smoke even though it was a non-smoking room and although we went and told the staff on reception, nothing was offered as a replacement. Our shower was blocked and flooded which meant I had to step out with shampoo on still! We told the staff who seemed to know that this was a problem with the room and did not act on this straight away but it was fixed by the end of the day.

We found the maid service good, as they did come if you left the sign out on your door handle, although sometimes towels were not changed. The room had a kettle in however only had 2 teabags, but you could buy a tea making kit from reception.

The breakfast was just your average continental, however I found that a few of the days some of the food was off so I mainly just stuck to croissants! Not what you expect of a 4 star!

Lastly, the main reason I am marking the hotel so poorly is due to the staff there. I found the majority of them rude and unapproachable, and if you were asking them questions it seems like you were almost inconveniencing them!! Definitely in need of a customer service course, although a couple of them were definitely attributes to the hotel, including the lovely blonde lady who worked on the bar area.

When making a mistake with our hop on and hop off bus passes which we bought from the reception, they said nothing could be done even though it was there mistake as they stamped the wrong date! Very argumentative staff who didn't want to help until we kept pushing at this to be sorted.

All in all a place to rest your head at night, this would all be ok if we had chosen a hostel or a budget hotel but not for the price we paid! Also watch out for any extra fees they try to charge you, including tv!!! We felt under pressure not to hardly use anything in the room incase we were charged!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dannie Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polis cyprus
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Thanks to all the TA reports we selected this hotel and where not disappointed. They even managed to provide a packed breakfast on the day of our departure. Front staff where particularly helpful. Good Italian restaurant OK Italia just across the main road I don't think hotel provided evening meal -not sure

Room Tip: Picked up tram noise during night at front on 2nd floor. Second stay we where on the side and on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikePolisCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#82 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
NH Budapest City
#73 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#70 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Fashion Hotel
#89 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#81 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Hotel Budapest

Property: Marmara Hotel Budapest
Address: Nagy Ignac utca 21, Budapest 1055, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Budapest
#83 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmara Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marmara is located in the heart of the city, in the Nagy Ignac Street, and it invites you to the breathtaking world of the Orient. Whether you are visiting for an extended time, for a business trip or just for a weekend, you can find the perfect stay in our hotel. Our hotel rooms amalgamate the harmony, comfort and elegance with the warmth of your home on the road. We offer you 93 single and double rooms, merge-able standard, and superior double rooms with balcony, as well as suites to accommodate your needs. We provide you the most appropriate atmosphere, not only for leisure, but also for undisturbed work purposes as well. The hotel is equipped with easily accessible free wireless Internet connection in the public areas, plus a 24-hour reception is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marmara Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Marmara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing