We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Ranked #101 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Staying in there right now! Been here 2 night so far and we needed an iron and he with the safe and we rang up and they came and helped us and they were very friendly and happy to help, breakfast is a typical European affair with meats and cheeses and bread but its filling, great location just 5 min walk and your near the major shopping centre (west end) and the metro lines hat take you to the spa etc. brined near by connects you to the Margaret's island too so that's a nice stroll in the sun too

Very compfy bedding and a good shower and the rooms look really nice, hotels in cities on the outse never look any good really but at leag inside it looked great so don't worry and it's down a side road 20m from man road so it's quiet - all in all a great stay and if I ever had to stay in budapest again I'd be happy to stay here in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    664
    269
    76
    35
See reviews for
139
749
63
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here with a large group of frinds recently and we had a terrific stay. Whilst we were not a stag party, we were a large group of male friends out for a celebration weekend Fri-Sun. The staff were very attentive and friendly and did not treat us any differently than any other guests who were there at the time. They are able to organise taxis, tours, restaurants etc and were very pleased to do so.
The rooms are of a very good quality and decent size. A fantastic shower (why are showers in so many hotels so poor?) in a very well appointed bathroom. Breakfast is traditional with spiced sausages dominating the hot offering. Cold meats/cheeses and croissants are also available. If there was one gripe its the machine coffee and watery juices that you have to have. In a hotel of this standard I would expect fresh coffee and juice. You can get them from the bar in the lobby, but that's extra, and in my opinion, wrong. One small blemish on an otherwise very good stay.
The good location means that you are a short walk from the Danube, the Parliament building, the central train station and the West End shopping centre. I would definitely recommend this place as a very comfortable base from which to see this amazing city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sennockred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked this hotel through Groupon and stayed here in December 2012. We couldn't fault it. It was comfortable, warm, quiet and in an excellent location for getting around the city either on foot or by public transport. The staff were very helpful, the bar was cheap for drinks and the breakfast was very nice. Lots of choice, always somewhere to sit and they replenished all the time. The hotel itself was very clean, the room was very nice and the bathroom was massive with a proper shower. We would definitely recommend this hotel but would also recommend Budapest itself and I have to say it is one of my favourite cities in the world!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prishtinë, null, Kosovo
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location was perfect, very close to the city center and breakfast was good! The bar and restaurant staff was excellent together with the food in the Hotel Restaurant.
When we arrived at the Hotel the first impression of the reception staff is not what you expect. We did ask a reception staff to book for us a taxi on the way back from the Hotel to Airport. But, they didn't book a taxi which was included in the Hotel fee. After we intervened they managed to sort it out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa Finland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Walking distance from river Donau, railway station, huge shopping area and metro (+trams, busses etc.). This is were you can eat & drink & shop with reasonable prices. Hotel is by small and quiet street with clean rooms and good services. We had breakfast included and it was worth the the value. The distance to the tourist crowded center is a couple of kilometers, we used only our feet to get by 10 to 15 km / day. One evening took a bicycle taxi from the center, that was very nice experience too. We used train & buss to get back to the airport with no problems at all. But the Information desk at the airport might not understand English at all (depends who sits in the box). Great 5 nights in the heat over all, a lot of historical sites to discover.

Room Tip: Rooms to the yard are quieter, practically no street noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriAndArja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Similar review to Ellie R. Bought as part of a cheap package but hotel was excellent value for money. If you prefer walking to taking taxis etc it is about 10 mins to the Danube with its views to Buda. While it has some cafes nearby it is about a 30+ minute walk to the main square with the pretty cathedral. (Sorry didn't get the name of that!). Hotel was very clean, staff very helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast was the only disappointment, as the cooked selection was not to my liking. Rooms were on the small side but my attitude is that as long as they are comfortable they are functional, which they were. And yes the free wifi is a big plus for me when abroad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We got this hotel as part of a cheap package deal and were very pleasantly surprised by how good it was. The hotel is in a great location for the underground with plenty around. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the hotel itself was really fancy, everything looked really well decorated and the rooms had everything we needed. The breakfast was really nice, even as veggies we had fruit, cereal, bread etc although the cooked stuff wasn't very veggie friendly. I'd stay here again if I ever went back to Budapest, although it wasn't my favourite city to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#83 of 334 in Budapest
1,425 reviews
NH Budapest City
#75 of 334 in Budapest
1,439 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#81 of 334 in Budapest
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Boutique Hotel Budapest
Boutique Hotel Budapest
#97 of 334 in Budapest
651 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#82 of 334 in Budapest
1,307 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Arcadia Hotel Budapest
Arcadia Hotel Budapest
#154 of 334 in Budapest
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Hotel Budapest

Property: Marmara Hotel Budapest
Address: Nagy Ignac utca 21, Budapest 1055, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Budapest
#73 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmara Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marmara is located in the heart of the city, in the Nagy Ignac Street, and it invites you to the breathtaking world of the Orient. Whether you are visiting for an extended time, for a business trip or just for a weekend, you can find the perfect stay in our hotel. Our hotel rooms amalgamate the harmony, comfort and elegance with the warmth of your home on the road. We offer you 93 single and double rooms, merge-able standard, and superior double rooms with balcony, as well as suites to accommodate your needs. We provide you the most appropriate atmosphere, not only for leisure, but also for undisturbed work purposes as well. The hotel is equipped with easily accessible free wireless Internet connection in the public areas, plus a 24-hour reception is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Marmara Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Marmara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing