We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel but not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Ranked #102 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Donegal,Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel but not 4 star”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as local travel agent recommended . Booked comfort package which meant taxi pickup which was very good .. The taxi driver gave us mini tour of city both sides on way to hotel which was a nice start to the 3 day break . The room was fine if a bit small .. Quiet .. So decent sleep . The breakfast was not to my taste .. Loads of bread cakes and cheese . No replenishing of scrambled eggs and tinned fruit cocktail . Water not hot enough to infuse tea . But otherwise great location and good wifi . I would recommend as budget hotel .. Just don't expect too much . Take t bags and milk and make tea in room. Staff friendly enough .. Budapest fabulous .. The big bus company very good for hop on hop off and Danube cruise . 20 euro each .. For 2 days .. Last note . There was cigarette butt under the bed .. In a no smoking room which was obviously not cleaned properly . Minor point .. It's a good value hotel and I would recommend none the less .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FHelenAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    664
    269
    77
    35
See reviews for
140
749
63
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights
The staff could not have been more helpful. One lady receptionist solved a very complicated problem by working the flight seating and pre-check in hassle we were experiencing with easyJet.
The room was very clean. We had to get them to take away used tea cups and replace bath towels.
The breakfast was ideal for starting the day.


No complaints worth mentioning

Room Tip: If you want a view avoid inner facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernielly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlijmen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The staff are very friendly and service is excellent + fast. Our room fridge died, and within an hour we had another one. The receptionists also helped several times with making restaurant reservation and obtaining Budapest cards (a very recommended facility for unlimited public transport - you can buy them at the hotel but only for cash).
Rooms were ok, but the airco was not functioning well. We ultimately switched it off completely and just opened a window during the night, which made the heat in the room bearable.
Room facilities were good, but the room itself was fairly small.
Location is excellent, 200m from main railway station, main tram and metro lines and numerous other local transport facilities. Danube and House of Parliament are walking distance.
The breakfast is extensive with warm and cold dishes. They serve scrambled eggs and boiled eggs every day. However, we felt the hotel skimps somewhat on the quality. Yoghurts and fruit juices were clearly diluted with water, and the orange juice even left an orange syrupy aftertaste. The croissants were very bready instead of flaky, not made of puff pastry. If you arrive a bit late in the morning the choice is limited as the staff do not tend to refill the trays.

But the price is very reasonable - we paid approx € 60 per night including breakfast.

The hotel now has wifi in every room (different Wifi routers per floor, so you need to re-login if you go down for breakfast but all routers have the same password). You can also use the LAN cable connection in the room to connect computer equipment to the internet, which is much faster.

Room Tip: Ask for a room adjacent to the Atrium. Rooms at the street have much more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vsop-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Marmara for 2 nights in April 2013 and was most impressed. The rooms were well appointed, with a 32" flatscreen with a good selection of English films. The bathroom was well equipped although only had a shower, this was fine for a couple of days. The room was clean and tidy. The wifi worked fine although I had to call reception and get them to reset the router initially, which they were happy to do and after that it worked fine throughout my stay. The staff were very friendly, English was spoken throughout. Secure parking was available for 20 Euros a day, although I didn't use this. Overall for the price this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: The bar closes at 11:30 at night, so don't get caught out if you are coming back late and fancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tünde S, Manager at Marmara Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your response, we hope that you will choose next time Marmara Hotel for your stay.

Kind regards,
Tünde Szemerédi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kielce
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
253 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Marmara Hotel Budapest is close to an underground station, which makes getting to it does not cause problems. The hotel is decorated very nicely. Very friendly hotel staff. Adequate sized rooms. Beds very comfortable, and very soft pillows which for me was a huge downside, because it allowed me to sleep. The hotel available high-speed Internet access via WiFi. Room equipped as standard. Clean bathroom equipped with basic hygiene. Breakfast buffet - delicious and definitely has something for everyone. Hotel commands the most worthy, willing him once jescze odzwiedę if pillows are harder :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location and not to far from anywhere in the city. It was Clean and tidy the staff was very helpful when we asked the reception to book us a bus/taxis and Resturant's I will be returning next visit to Budapest

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markandjenifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel was everything I needed for my short break in Budapest.

Well kept
Good room
All the basic amenities
Good location for getting around and not getting lost.

But unfortunately there was only a solid WiFi connection in the foyer, the hotel did not do dinner nor was the breakfast that great with absolutely no fish or options for a non meat eater...
Also the bed was good but strangely enough I was always given two duvets each of which covered approximately half of the bed :s

Generally clean and pleasant although on the second night my base sheet was changed to one which had a small blood stain on it... It may have been a squished insect or a cut finger but either way it was somewhat off-putting.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the price was good also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#83 of 334 in Budapest
1,428 reviews
District V / Inner City
Boutique Hotel Budapest
Boutique Hotel Budapest
#96 of 334 in Budapest
652 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#81 of 334 in Budapest
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Regnum Residence
#82 of 334 in Budapest
970 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Arcadia Hotel Budapest
Arcadia Hotel Budapest
#154 of 334 in Budapest
405 reviews
NH Budapest City
#75 of 334 in Budapest
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Hotel Budapest

Property: Marmara Hotel Budapest
Address: Nagy Ignac utca 21, Budapest 1055, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Budapest
#73 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmara Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marmara is located in the heart of the city, in the Nagy Ignac Street, and it invites you to the breathtaking world of the Orient. Whether you are visiting for an extended time, for a business trip or just for a weekend, you can find the perfect stay in our hotel. Our hotel rooms amalgamate the harmony, comfort and elegance with the warmth of your home on the road. We offer you 93 single and double rooms, merge-able standard, and superior double rooms with balcony, as well as suites to accommodate your needs. We provide you the most appropriate atmosphere, not only for leisure, but also for undisturbed work purposes as well. The hotel is equipped with easily accessible free wireless Internet connection in the public areas, plus a 24-hour reception is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Marmara Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Marmara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing