We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marmara Hotel Budapest Offers Very Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Ranked #106 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is very well located on the Pest side of the River Danube. We stayed for 4 nights and breakfast was included in the modest price we payed per night.

Talking of breakfast, it offered a good selection of cereals, fruit, bread/rolls, jams, yoghurts, scrambled/hard bolied eggs, streaky bacon... Indeed, something for all tastes.

The room, though not overly large, also met our needs. The decor was clean; though the carpet was stained. We had a double bed , LCD TV, wardrobe, chest of drawers, bedside tables. mini bar. Again, perfectly adequate for our needs. The en suite "bathroom" had a splendid shower, basin, hair dryer, toiletries...

Its location in Nagy Ignac Street is less than 10 mins walk from Margaret Bridge and therefore a visit to Margaret Island. It is also a few mins walk in the opposite direction to the Parliament Building and that area of the city.

Quite a few cafes and restaurants are to be found within a 10 min walking distance. I recommend Okay Italia and Firkasr (both premises reviewed separately). Slighlty further afield, but still within walking distance, is the La Pampa Restaurant (again reviewed separately).

The staff were very helpful and spoke English which made life a lot easier, especially as my Hungarian is non existent!

All in all, the Marmara Hotel offers very good value for money in a good location on the Pest side of Budapest.

Room Tip: A kettle and 2 mugs are provided in the room, but the resident has to buy a package of supplies (tea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topcat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room was very nice, I asked for room with window to the front road, I preferred the view more than the room with the internal yard.
I was with my little kid. The public computer was free for use and very helpful.
Breakfast was excellence. So many thinks including vegetables, fruits, bakery etc.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank MikiBerko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there 4 nights and we enjoyed every minute. Good food, very nice staff. They offered everything we needed. Downtown, very close to important monuments and touristic objectives. A very good choice, we strongly recommend the hotel. We will stay again there if it will happen to go again.

Room Tip: We stayed at fifth floor, the view was to interior not to the streets. Quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmmariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We didn't pay a huge amount to stay here, for two nights, but the rooms were clean, comfortable and very quiet, but fairly small. The beds were comfortable but the pillows are very odd, it's like they are filled with little bits of foam and not a lot in them. The shower in the bathroom was a good size with one of the largest shower heads I have ever seen, just a shame they didn't work on the limescale around the doors a little more and try replacing the broken toilet roll holder and the sink which didn't drain very well, silly little things but they make a difference.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the overall appearance of the hotel is good with a light modern feel. Sadly they need to work on breakfast which was one of the worse I have ever had. The first morning we were at breakfast early, so there was a fairly good choice of food, but it all seemed very unappertizing, the second morning we were quite late and well, we didn't have to worry about unappertizing as most of the food had gone and wasn't replaced, there were no plates, bowls or cutlery. But the location of the hotel is excellent, very close to the railway station and numerous trams, the Parliament building is within walking distance as well as numerous restaurants and bars. As I am not bothered about breakfast I would consider staying here again due to the location and price, we had stayed for the previous 3 nights at the Daniubius Spa Hotel on St Margarizet Island whichdidn't have a good location regards restuarants,bars etc and the public transport ended at 22.00.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing inwards, you won't have a view but the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The room was small, but fine. We hated the pillows. Whatever happened to pillows with stuff in them? support? Anyway. I digress.

Our room was on the street, and it was quite loud all night. I would ask for a room off of the street if you want to sleep.

Location was great! Close to everything!

Breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired.

The bar in the lobby is great! well priced drinks, and good service.

Overall, I'd say, not exceptional, but not bad.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sycamoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights breakfast was ok though they did run out of a few things.
Like people say the carpets are a bit dirty looking, though thats the price you pay for having light carpets. the room we stayed at (306) was facing the road, a bit noisy, but we paid £34 a night inc breakfast. so we probably got the worst of the rooms. which still was very nice!!! very close to the mainline station which has a metro stop so the bus route was so easy and costs less than £2 each. very good location too if you don't mind walking!
I would definately recommend this hotel if your not too picky about the minor things

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daryl1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in the Marama Hotel for 3 nights in October on a B&B basis and found it to be a very nice place. the staff are very friendly and helpful when it comes to directions, etc. We stayed in a room on the 5th floor which was fine - carpets could do with renewing but the room was clean and a good size. TV for English speaking channels was limited to CNN - but you don't spend that much time watching TV in your room anyway do you? Breakfast was buffet style and things ran out quickly - they were replenished straight away so no problem there. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and in Budapest - we would recommend both for a long weekend if you get the chance - some great restaurants and a lot to see and do.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors tend to be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyfromdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 335 in Budapest
758 reviews
NH Budapest City
#75 of 335 in Budapest
1,532 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#50 of 335 in Budapest
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#83 of 335 in Budapest
1,501 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#52 of 335 in Budapest
1,199 reviews
Atrium Fashion Hotel
#87 of 335 in Budapest
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Hotel Budapest

Address: Nagy Ignac utca 21, Budapest 1055, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Budapest
#76 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $58 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmara Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marmara is located in the heart of the city, in the Nagy Ignac Street, and it invites you to the breathtaking world of the Orient. Whether you are visiting for an extended time, for a business trip or just for a weekend, you can find the perfect stay in our hotel. Our hotel rooms amalgamate the harmony, comfort and elegance with the warmth of your home on the road. We offer you 93 single and double rooms, merge-able standard, and superior double rooms with balcony, as well as suites to accommodate your needs. We provide you the most appropriate atmosphere, not only for leisure, but also for undisturbed work purposes as well. The hotel is equipped with easily accessible free wireless Internet connection in the public areas, plus a 24-hour reception is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marmara Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Marmara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing