We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick overnight stop”
Review of Maverick Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maverick Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I arrived for just an overnight stop over following a stag-do and I have to say it was much better than the hotel we had been staying at. Great location for seeing the city and for sampling some of its entertainment. Close to a metro station. Staff were friendly and helpful. Interesting group of people there to chat to, so overall I was very pleased and had a good night's stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meche0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 799 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

What a great location and more than adequate facilities.Friendly staff more than helpful.The location although central is currently near a construction site so be aware of early morning noise.We stayed in a large room with 6 blokes More than enough space but only one toilet and a bathroom that only just fitted a bath and shower In it.
Let the hostel book your airport transfer taxi it's lots cheaper that way.Taxi for six about Huf 6500 one way.
Great City very clean and not too many touts and annoyances. Get around by Metro for Huf 350 great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

~Oct 2010

20 -30 minute walk, with luggage, or a 5 minute bus ride from the train station. 3 minute walk to the Danube River. An old mansion located on a major road on the Pest side of central/tourist Budapest. Vaci Utca is a block away and the famed Chain Bridge just 10 - 15 minute walk through pedestrian areas.

The hostel is in like new condition with recent renovations completed, but still holding on too an old world charm. The staff were excellent. Helpful, courteous and genuinely interested in you and your stay. Elevator, laundry service (she was a doll, doing mine at 11 at night) kitchen, lounge, tv, computers, wifi, and key pad entry to building all made the stay very comfortable.

I first stayed in Miss Peach, five beds for about 20 euro. Being 6'1" and not skinny I found the bed a bit small and that particular dorm a little tight. Having struck a deal for a double with ensuite I changed rooms after the first night. Spacious and comfortable (king size bed) for 35 euro.

There's a bakery, currency exchange, supermarket, and bus stop at the front door. Fast food, diners, restaurants, drinking holes, bars, pubs, and clubs all within minutes of a walk. Shopping for essentials, souvenirs, or pricey gifts can all be had.

Being such a beautiful city, I'm sure there are many nice areas to stay, but for price, location, and service I will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Budapest! Great locations and amazing facilites. It is really comfortable and clean, and the staff is very helpful. Honestly, I didn't expected such a great hostel for this price. I will definitely come back!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank CarmenI652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice and modern hostel with a good location almost next to a subway station. 2 bed and 3 bed rooms are very nice as far as i have seen, we sleeped in about 10 bed room which was ok but not as nice. Shower clean and good

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhipseyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for just one night. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the location is hard to beat. For the price and quality we believe this is a great hostel for people looking to stay in the city center in a quiet and well-kept hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grateful_metz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Located in the centre of Pest, right next to the Ferenciek Tere metro station, this is probably one of the best hostels I've ever stayed. Staff are very friendly here. Facilities are very good (they even offer a wide variety of tea and coffee) Everything is tidy and clean. I'd definitely come back to this hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcerberus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 682 in Budapest
1,023 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#12 of 682 in Budapest
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#29 of 682 in Budapest
368 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
The Hive Party Hostel
The Hive Party Hostel
#30 of 682 in Budapest
244 reviews
District V / Inner City
Lavender Circus Hostel
Lavender Circus Hostel
#21 of 682 in Budapest
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Hostel

Address: Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 682 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $17 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maverick Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maverick Hostel is located in the heart of the city, in a royal mansion built by the Habsburg dynasty, fully renovated, waiting for you in its original magnificence.The apartment is free from bunk beds, there are fireplaces, pouffes and plants in the public areas to ensure the great atmosphere.Due to the central location of our hostel unnecessary travels can be spared. Most of the city's attractions can be reached within 15 minutes. Due to our own experiences in hostels around the world we pay special attention to cleanness and calmness, and employ helpful staff that welcomes you at the Maverick after an eventful and tiring day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Maverick Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Hostel Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing