We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and comfortable place to stay in the heart of Budapest”
Review of Maverick Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maverick Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great and comfortable place to stay in the heart of Budapest”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed 3 days 2 nights on 18-20 Jan 2013. The location was very easy to find, right in the heart of Budapest next to one of the famous bridge in the city. It was easy to move around the city center and the subway was just 1 minute walk from the hostel.
The room was comfortable to stay, it was clean and had a great view from its big glass windows. The staff was very friendly and helpful and there was a kitchen with fully equiped cooking utensils, free coffee and tea and nice common room where guests can watch movies from the available DVDs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank illozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    178
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
191
160
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the Maverick for 2 nights on a city break with a friend. We travelled to the hotel by taxi after hearing that navigating using public transport could be a pain. We pain 7000 forint for a taxi one way which seemed reasonable.

On arrival the greeting for staff was excellent. We arrived before check-in but they kindly let us in our room early as it was already cleaned and ready. The room was simple and clean although I had booked a twin room and got a double. Bed was comfy but if you don't like a firm mattress you will be disappointed. My only nag would be that the hostel is close to a busy main road and I was kept awake a bit and woke up early because of the traffic noise.

The hostel was quiet at night as there are only a few room and we were at the end of the corridor. I could imagine that being in a room near the social areas could be quite noisy with people walking past your room constantly. The kitchen was always clean and the social area is a good place to chat to other travellers.

The hostel is located in really easy walking distance to all the main things you would want to see in the town. We only had to buy underground tickets to get to the public thermal spa. Lots of good restaurants and bars nearby too and a handy supermarket just downstairs from the hostel if you want to cook for yourself.

Excellent budget hotel for a short break!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornamharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was very impressed, the location is awesome, the way the hostel looked and the price were very good, however we had a seasonal discount. First night we were accommodated in one very busy and noisy part of the hostel even though we beforehand reserved quiet room via email. Then, after a little complain they told us that next night they will give us our quiet room we wish. And we did. It was very nice place, last floor and no noise. What I didn't like was the fact that it was the only room in the hostel that didn't have window to the outside. So we could not air out and I didn't like the AC. In terms of bathrooms, the first night bathroom was horrible because when I took shower there was the drain which was the loudest I have ever experienced, it even took me a while to realize what was that. The bathroom in the other room was perfect. All of the rooms were clean and very nice. And guys on the desk were nice too, which is something that should be appreciated in terms of Hungarian people. As a conclusion I would definitely recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor may be the best, there are not very many people and there is big and very ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maverick_Hostel, Manager at Maverick Hostel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the review, we are glad that you had a nice stay at our hostel!

We always try to satisfy all the requirements of our guests, which sometimes might be difficult. During your stay - even if it was off season - the hostel was full and we could find only this solution for you. With this change we wanted to guarantee a calm and silent stay and I believe it worked out somehow.

We hope to see you at Maverick again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Central location, hostel next to tube station, food market and shopping. Very helpful staff, big comfortable rooms that were nice and clean. Newly renovated toilet and shower in the room. Very positive experience. Some draft from the windows but that was solved by heavy curtains and heaters, so no problem at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassiSassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hostel for 5 nights in October last year. We booked double ensuite room via Agoda.
The location is perfect for sightseeing, the metro stop is right out the front door.
The room was fine and big enough, with small, well-equipped kitchen.
The bathroom was a bit small and not very clean. There wasn't enough hot water, so we had a lot of problems taking shower.
The staff was really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TabibitoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maverick_Hostel, Manager at Maverick Hostel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions!
Last year that time we have realized there was not enough water pressure in the system so the gas furnace could not turn on sometimes on the 4th floor area. After a big reparation, it is solved by November.
Also, one of the cleaning ladies are replaced as we have received a couple of complaints about cleanliness.
We believe everything has been corrected so when you stay with us next time you can enjoy the improvement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Maverick Hostel is a great find. Close to the river, close to the metro stop that goes towards the airport, close to the history museum, the location is great. But it doesn't end at location! The staff was really helpful and friendly. I arrived and changed my reservation slightly and they were flexible and made it so I didn't have to change rooms. The building is a neat, old building but modern inside. All the beds are clean, the showers are big, the bathrooms are clean--this place is AWESOME.

When I was there, it was really what traveling is supposed to be--a cheap hostel, lots of college aged students from all over the place, easy to make friends, great hangout areas all over the hostel. Truly, stop by here if you're going to Budapest.

Room Tip: The dorm room on the 2nd floor is really spacious, high ceilings, neat loft too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Maverick Hostel is a great place to stay. I spent New Year's in a Double Bedroom (with shower) on the upper floor and I am amazed. I've been to many hostels but never had such high level of comfort and service. You are basically checking into a 4star hotel that priced like a hostel (around 30€). The staff is overwhelmingly friendly and helpful whereever they can. Cleanliness and tidyness has always has top priority for me (towels and bed linen is changed regularly and the room are cleaned daily). If you plan on arriving late at night or leaving early. There is always someone taking care (a truly 24h service). The hostels is perfectly located. You can be there in less than 40 minutes when arriving by plan or train (it's on the blue metro line, the same as the airport). I usually don't take time to write recommendation but this place deserves it. :)

Room Tip: Take the "Double room with private bathroom". It's like an apartment hotel, with room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Hostel

Property: Maverick Hostel
Address: Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 644 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maverick Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maverick Hostel is located in the heart of the city, in a royal mansion built by the Habsburg dynasty, fully renovated, waiting for you in its original magnificence.The apartment is free from bunk beds, there are fireplaces, pouffes and plants in the public areas to ensure the great atmosphere.Due to the central location of our hostel unnecessary travels can be spared. Most of the city's attractions can be reached within 15 minutes. Due to our own experiences in hostels around the world we pay special attention to cleanness and calmness, and employ helpful staff that welcomes you at the Maverick after an eventful and tiring day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maverick Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Hostel Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing