We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maverick Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maverick Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I'm so glad a friend of me recommended this place. It has the most perfect location (although a bit hard to find at first. TIP: it's behind a really big gate next to a place where you can exchange money. Also close to a bank, a supermarket and a bakery), the staff is very friendly (unlike other people in Budapest) and our room was perfect. The wifi wasn't super fast, but they have a different wifi router on every floor so they really do their best. They don't serve breakfast, but there's a bakery and a supermarket really close and there's a kitchen on each floor to have your own breakfast. Beautiful building, perfect location. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We slept in the Vincent room (from the movie Pulp Fiction). It's a double room with private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elbeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    170
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
179
152
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hostel is nice, new and clean.
However beware not to rent a room on the side of szabad sajto ut as the windows seem a bit old and traffic in this street is intense.
Great place to stay, with a friendly staff and free internet, telephone and coffee!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise and one of the best/better hostels I have stayed in. This was recommneded by a friend from Budapest.

Located in an older building with nice interior...you have the front door, then a doorman and then card access to the actual hostel.

I can't say enough about the staff (fluent Enligsh) ...extremely friendly and helpful...We stayed in #7, private room for 2. Two nights for two people was 88E. I thought this was reasonable. Wifi available or computers to use, sizeable kitchen and a great location. The guy at the desk-I believe Levente-was funny, friendly and most helpful.

FYI, they only accept Euro or Forinth..no cards.

I would definitely stay here again and it is highly suggested.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tejashombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a very good experience staying in this hostel. Very clean, good location, a short walk to Vaci street, subway, restaurants, caffee, etc.
The room is clean, and in each floor you will find a kitchen with all stuff that you need to cook.

there were two inconvenient:
1 - the heating of the shower water happen individually. So if you are in two people one will have a hot shower and the other one will need to wait some time (2 hours) to warm water again.
2 - maybe you will hear everithing that your neighbor does.

I recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hostel is a 5 min walk from the big shopping street, Váci utca. It is just next to Ferenciek tere metro stop. The hostel is clean and the staff is very helpful. The bed was a little too hard for us, bus since we only stayed for the weekend, it was alright. We had a room with a bathroom which was also very comfortable and clean.
The room looked just like it did on the pictures, meaning you don´t get a surprise when you get there.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slumkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my friend. We booked a double room but we got a lot bigger room that we asked for. The staffs are friendly with a free wifi. There's 10 euro deposit for the keys though. The hotel is right next from the metro behind the bus station ! don't miss it ! and you can actually walk into the city ! not that far.

The hotel is also close to the hop-on hop-off bus and close to the dock to visit budapest at night time !

We really enjoyed our staying at Maverick hotel and will definitely return !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladymook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Best place I stayed in Budapest so far:
+ Very well placed: bus+metro from airport, near main tourist street
+ Friendly stuff
+ Very well equipped kitchen
+ in 50m area 24h shop, few ATM and bubble tea place
+/- deposit key 2000Ft or driving license or something like it
- No air-condition in dorm room (I was that there were in private rooms

If they were serving breakfast free of charge I could even live there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank art-sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Hostel

Property: Maverick Hostel
Address: Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 649 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maverick Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maverick Hostel is located in the heart of the city, in a royal mansion built by the Habsburg dynasty, fully renovated, waiting for you in its original magnificence.The apartment is free from bunk beds, there are fireplaces, pouffes and plants in the public areas to ensure the great atmosphere.Due to the central location of our hostel unnecessary travels can be spared. Most of the city's attractions can be reached within 15 minutes. Due to our own experiences in hostels around the world we pay special attention to cleanness and calmness, and employ helpful staff that welcomes you at the Maverick after an eventful and tiring day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Maverick Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Hostel Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing