We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice/ a lot of good things here..no negatives”
Review of Maverick Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maverick Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise and one of the best/better hostels I have stayed in. This was recommneded by a friend from Budapest.

Located in an older building with nice interior...you have the front door, then a doorman and then card access to the actual hostel.

I can't say enough about the staff (fluent Enligsh) ...extremely friendly and helpful...We stayed in #7, private room for 2. Two nights for two people was 88E. I thought this was reasonable. Wifi available or computers to use, sizeable kitchen and a great location. The guy at the desk-I believe Levente-was funny, friendly and most helpful.

FYI, they only accept Euro or Forinth..no cards.

I would definitely stay here again and it is highly suggested.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tejashombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 756 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a very good experience staying in this hostel. Very clean, good location, a short walk to Vaci street, subway, restaurants, caffee, etc.
The room is clean, and in each floor you will find a kitchen with all stuff that you need to cook.

there were two inconvenient:
1 - the heating of the shower water happen individually. So if you are in two people one will have a hot shower and the other one will need to wait some time (2 hours) to warm water again.
2 - maybe you will hear everithing that your neighbor does.

I recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hostel is a 5 min walk from the big shopping street, Váci utca. It is just next to Ferenciek tere metro stop. The hostel is clean and the staff is very helpful. The bed was a little too hard for us, bus since we only stayed for the weekend, it was alright. We had a room with a bathroom which was also very comfortable and clean.
The room looked just like it did on the pictures, meaning you don´t get a surprise when you get there.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slumkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my friend. We booked a double room but we got a lot bigger room that we asked for. The staffs are friendly with a free wifi. There's 10 euro deposit for the keys though. The hotel is right next from the metro behind the bus station ! don't miss it ! and you can actually walk into the city ! not that far.

The hotel is also close to the hop-on hop-off bus and close to the dock to visit budapest at night time !

We really enjoyed our staying at Maverick hotel and will definitely return !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladymook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Best place I stayed in Budapest so far:
+ Very well placed: bus+metro from airport, near main tourist street
+ Friendly stuff
+ Very well equipped kitchen
+ in 50m area 24h shop, few ATM and bubble tea place
+/- deposit key 2000Ft or driving license or something like it
- No air-condition in dorm room (I was that there were in private rooms

If they were serving breakfast free of charge I could even live there

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank art-sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I have just spent 3 nights here and have had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was very central. The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. It felt more like an apartment than a hostel. If arriving via the main train station I would suggest to take the metro. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nataliahayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved the location of this hostel, but a big downside for me were the pillows which were just a few pieces of pillow stuffing. The hostel is in a lovely old building with a lot of European character which came with a lot of bizarre noises during the night. I would recommend this place for short stays but nothing more than 3 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana-Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 335 in Budapest
758 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 335 in Budapest
1,216 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 672 in Budapest
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 672 in Budapest
280 reviews
District V / Inner City
Katona Apartments
Katona Apartments
#5 of 672 in Budapest
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Hostel

Address: Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 672 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $16 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maverick Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maverick Hostel is located in the heart of the city, in a royal mansion built by the Habsburg dynasty, fully renovated, waiting for you in its original magnificence.The apartment is free from bunk beds, there are fireplaces, pouffes and plants in the public areas to ensure the great atmosphere.Due to the central location of our hostel unnecessary travels can be spared. Most of the city's attractions can be reached within 15 minutes. Due to our own experiences in hostels around the world we pay special attention to cleanness and calmness, and employ helpful staff that welcomes you at the Maverick after an eventful and tiring day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maverick Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Hostel Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing