We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying”
Review of Maverick Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maverick Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth staying”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hostel is a 5 min walk from the big shopping street, Váci utca. It is just next to Ferenciek tere metro stop. The hostel is clean and the staff is very helpful. The bed was a little too hard for us, bus since we only stayed for the weekend, it was alright. We had a room with a bathroom which was also very comfortable and clean.
The room looked just like it did on the pictures, meaning you don´t get a surprise when you get there.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slumkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    178
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
191
160
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my friend. We booked a double room but we got a lot bigger room that we asked for. The staffs are friendly with a free wifi. There's 10 euro deposit for the keys though. The hotel is right next from the metro behind the bus station ! don't miss it ! and you can actually walk into the city ! not that far.

The hotel is also close to the hop-on hop-off bus and close to the dock to visit budapest at night time !

We really enjoyed our staying at Maverick hotel and will definitely return !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladymook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Best place I stayed in Budapest so far:
+ Very well placed: bus+metro from airport, near main tourist street
+ Friendly stuff
+ Very well equipped kitchen
+ in 50m area 24h shop, few ATM and bubble tea place
+/- deposit key 2000Ft or driving license or something like it
- No air-condition in dorm room (I was that there were in private rooms

If they were serving breakfast free of charge I could even live there

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank art-sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I have just spent 3 nights here and have had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was very central. The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. It felt more like an apartment than a hostel. If arriving via the main train station I would suggest to take the metro. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliahayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved the location of this hostel, but a big downside for me were the pillows which were just a few pieces of pillow stuffing. The hostel is in a lovely old building with a lot of European character which came with a lot of bizarre noises during the night. I would recommend this place for short stays but nothing more than 3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana-Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Brilliant hostel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Set in a historic building but brilliantly modernised and very clean. It was more like staying in an apartment, with just 2 dorms sharing multiple bathrooms, a kitchen, dining room and living area, was very homely! Great location, short walk away from the centre, with lots to see and do near by. Would recommend this hostel to everyone visiting budapest!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoeprue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Loved this hostel, it was very eccentric, situated in an historic building. I was feeling nervous about sharing a room with so many people but the 3 of us had a separate area raised up from the ground. The hostel seemed to be more of an apartment or flat, with multiple bathrooms, a kitchen and dining space and a living room with wide screen tv. There were lots of lockers in the room to store valuables in. Maverick is in an excellent location, a 2 minute walk from the main street in budapest. Wifi throughout the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIrvine175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Hostel

Property: Maverick Hostel
Address: Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 644 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maverick Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maverick Hostel is located in the heart of the city, in a royal mansion built by the Habsburg dynasty, fully renovated, waiting for you in its original magnificence.The apartment is free from bunk beds, there are fireplaces, pouffes and plants in the public areas to ensure the great atmosphere.Due to the central location of our hostel unnecessary travels can be spared. Most of the city's attractions can be reached within 15 minutes. Due to our own experiences in hostels around the world we pay special attention to cleanness and calmness, and employ helpful staff that welcomes you at the Maverick after an eventful and tiring day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maverick Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Hostel Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing