We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location. cool rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maverick Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maverick Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“excellent location. cool rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Loved this hostel, it was very eccentric, situated in an historic building. I was feeling nervous about sharing a room with so many people but the 3 of us had a separate area raised up from the ground. The hostel seemed to be more of an apartment or flat, with multiple bathrooms, a kitchen and dining space and a living room with wide screen tv. There were lots of lockers in the room to store valuables in. Maverick is in an excellent location, a 2 minute walk from the main street in budapest. Wifi throughout the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIrvine175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    173
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
185
155
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Köln
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Maverick hostel is located on the 1st floor of a historic building (Königliches Mietshaus) in Budapest's city centre. The entrance area is really impressive!
Our room (with private bathroom) provided everything we needed, was clean and modern.
Actually, we did not use the common area (kitchen, living room) but benefited from the 3 internet PCs plus the free of charge landline ('Call your mama' - I love this slogan!).

We can absolutely recommend Maverick hostel, it's very good value for money. Just one hint for your planning: no cards accepted, you have to pay cash (either in Forint or Euro).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank koeln706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
219 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

First Hard to find, but it was i a excellent location. i just have to Learn how to use a MAp :-)

The Hostel was clean, Nice, Helpful Staff, very nice. a Day the staff invited me to try a liquor famous from Hungary.

The room was good, lockers in the room, small but the hostel is SAFE. Good Kitchen.. many computer for guest, huge common area downstairs and also in the apartment where is your room. I Can Hightly recommend it

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iLoveTravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hostel was amazing. So cheap and we had our own spacious room and bathroom, and a kitchen we shared with 3 other private rooms. We were able to keep food in the fridge and cook dinner if we wanted to. The building was beautiful and the staff were really friendly. Loved the common room with free internet and skype phone to call home for free. Wifi in the room was of great quality. Loved it :D:D

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairebear802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I and our 2 teenage girls stayed in this hostel for 2 nights last summer. I had carefully researched to find the best hostel which was also affordable, and that's exactly what the Maverick ended up being!

When we arrived in Budapest, we did have a bit of a hard time finding the place; we found the right basic location, but locating the exact street and building was a bit tricky, as the building is in an area with a somewhat complicated intersection, as I recall, and it took a few minutes of walking up & down the street until we finally located the door with the hostel sign by it (I've included pictures of the door). But once we found it, we discovered that it was indeed located inside a very lovely old building, as advertised, which has been tastefully renovated. When you enter the outer door, you find yourself inside a large lobby with a glass ceiling, and from there you have to look for other hostel signs to go up the correct staircase to the hostel check-in. After checking in, we were directed up an additional floor to the hostel itself.

The hostel has an adequate kitchen, a dining area with at least 2 tables, and a sitting area. Also, there are several dorm style rooms, but each room is unique and decorated according to a theme. There are 2 shared bathrooms, one large, with 2 sinks, a tub, shower, toilet & bidet (theoretically, for group use, although I didn't see it used that way), and one small bathroom with just a shower, sink & toilet. The hostel was fully occupied when we were there, and we had plenty of room to use the common areas; of course, we had good weather, and in inclement weather, I can imagine that it could get a big crowded. Everything was clean and neatly kept.

We found the grocery store next door to be very handy, and we were easily able to buy breakfast and snack foods there.

The only thing I didn't like about our stay is that I had reserved the Peach room, which sleeps 5, since we had our daughters with us and we wanted to have fewer people in the room as well as to avoid the ladders to the loft. However, when we arrived, we found that the Peach room had been given to another group that arrived before us (no explanation was given) and we were assigned to an 8-bed room. This worked out fine for us, but that's why I gave the hostel 4 stars instead of 5.

Room Tip: You might want to check and double check if you have a room preference that they've actually sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarredon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hostel is centrally located yet quiet, the staff is very helpful. The building has an elevator so there is no problem with carrying heavy luggage upstairs. The interiors are rather modern but certain original elements of architecture have been preserved. Therefore, you can enjoy a fully equipped kitchen and a beautiful bathroom but the old parquet floors creak awfully :) All in all, the hostel is a very good place to stay at and it isn't that expensive taking into consideration its location, the quality of the facilities and the historical value of the building. I'd definitely recommend it to people who are looking for an interesting and affordable place to stay in the centre of Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleks777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a very good experience staying in this hostel. Very clean, good location, a short walk to Vaci street, subway, restaurants, caffee, etc.
The room is clean, and in each floor you will find a kitchen with all stuff that you need to cook.

there were two inconvenient:
1 - the heating of the shower water happen individually. So if you are in two people one will have a hot shower and the other one will need to wait some time (2 hours) to warm water again.
2 - maybe you will hear everithing that your neighbor does.

I recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acconte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,596 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Hostel

Property: Maverick Hostel
Address: Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 657 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maverick Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maverick Hostel is located in the heart of the city, in a royal mansion built by the Habsburg dynasty, fully renovated, waiting for you in its original magnificence.The apartment is free from bunk beds, there are fireplaces, pouffes and plants in the public areas to ensure the great atmosphere.Due to the central location of our hostel unnecessary travels can be spared. Most of the city's attractions can be reached within 15 minutes. Due to our own experiences in hostels around the world we pay special attention to cleanness and calmness, and employ helpful staff that welcomes you at the Maverick after an eventful and tiring day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maverick Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Hostel Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing