We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Dream Apartment
Ranked #103 of 682 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Greg, the owner/operator was in touch with us so that he could greet us upon our arrival - and he is a most gracious and charming host. He helped us with our orientation to the area and also arranged for a taxi to be available on our departure to the airport.
We stayed in a wonderful fully equipped one bedroom apartment, with a full kitchen living room downstairs and then a second floor loft type of arrangement that contained a private bedroom and a lounge/sleeping/sitting area. With the pull-out on the main floor, 3 couples could easily be accommodated, or a family.
The only negative was that the unit was cold as Budapest's central heat system was shut down and the weather was extremely cold.
A very convenient location, and great public transport 1 minute away.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dons381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 231 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

In March 2013, my husband and I spent one week in the amazing city of Budapest, and we could not have selected a better place to stay. We initially encountered some unforeseen obstacles and arrived at the apartment much later than expected, but Greg was so extraordinarily understanding and attentive to us. Not only did he wait hours for us to arrive, but he provided us with city maps, physically led us to a great place wherein we could park our rental car and recommended some restaurants (all of which ended up being excellent). We were completely awed by his thoughtfulness.

The Green Dream Apartment is in a Palatinus style building, and we felt just like locals! As other reviewers have mentioned, the building is situated close to the Margaret Bridge on the Pest side of the Danube. It was extremely easy to hop on the trains.

Although the studio is rather small, it was just fine for the two of us. We were able to do laundry and even cooked a few meals in the fully equipped kitchen...moreover, we used the espresso machine daily. The bed was very comfortable.

Thank you, Greg, for allowing us to have such an enjoyable visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Green Dream Island Apartment with my Mother and Sister in April 2013. I'm not sure why Trip Advisor has categorized this as a B&B, it should be in the specialty lodging or vacation rental category, as there is no breakfast provided (which we were aware of), but all of the facilities are available to make your own, should you want to. In the end, we did not use the cooking facilities very much as we were given a recommendation by Greg's colleague, Judit, who met us on arrival, to eat at an excellent breakfast place nearby, Brios. She gave us many recommendations and explained in detail how to get around and the things we should visit during our stay.

The beds are incredibly comfortable, especially the main double bed, and the duvets are super soft and cozy. The apartment is very clean and comfortable and it was very nice to have a laptop with an internet connection provided for us to use.

On the first morning we ran out of hot water after 2.5 showers (not fun!) and found out later that this was due to a setting needing to be changed on the water heater - so my advice is to make sure when you arrive that the water heater is set to continuously heat if you are more than 2 people! On the plus side, the water pressure is excellent and the shower is very roomy.

The only other slightly negative point is that there is not much privacy between the two rooms. You have to walk through one room to get to the other, but also the walls and door are very thin. It was not such a big deal for us, but if you are concerned about this, I would maybe book one of the larger family apartments.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this as a vacation rental.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee_247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in Green Dream Apartment with friends for a weekend in the beginning of march - really wonderful apartment with perfect location! It was our first trip to Budapest but for sure, not the last one. Of course, will choose GDA again! And Greg is so charming, welcoming, helped a lot! Many thanks from my friends ... and me, of course :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I always stay in one of Greg and Sylvia's apartments whenever I'm in Budapest on business, which is frequently. Their newest property, the Palatinus Apartment, is an wonderful addition to an already incredible fleet of places to stay. The location is perfect--right on the Danube. The size is cozy, so it's perfect for a couple of single traveler. I highly recommend any of the Green Dream apartments!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Greg has done a great job in equipping and looking after this holiday apartment which is very well located close to the river whilst convenient for tourist and nightspots in the immediate area.

Comfortable and cosy living space with shops very close by

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Where do I begin? Greg is so personable and charming and this GD Light Apartment PERFECTLY located for all the public transportation. OH MY!

We stayed a week during a freak cold spell in March, but this apartment is just steps from publice transportation tram 2 - down the Pest Danube. You can take a little bus 16 up and down the Buda Hill from there. Tram 4 or 6 will take you east or west - Margrit Island - or to the Metro 3 Nyugati.

The apartment is clean, super secure - key from street, key to PRIVATE courtyard, KEY to apartment - so very very quiet and restful! The wifi worked very well, with a small dip in speed when people get up - but very fast otherwise. The kitchen is well equipped with table service, appropriate pots, pans, hot pot, espresso machine, toaster . . . everything you need.

Greg is very polite, sincere, and honest. I completely endorse Greg and his apartments!

Tip - if you take the FUNGARIAN class - not all teachers are very good . . . so ASK for a great one - - otherwise - skip this class - - also - we were blindsided to the fact you HAVE to order a 3x's overpriced capuccino or other to sit there. We learned 2 words and it was NOT fun. . . . not Greg's fault - mine.

Oh - and Greg advised taking the HEV 5 (after tram 4 or 6 in front of the apartment) to Szentendre - perfect day trip! You DEFINITELY should buy the 2-3 or 7 day transport ticket - even though the city is walkable - why waste your travel dollar time climbing Buda's hills?? Our 7 Day Metro/Tram/Bus/Train ticket cost $22 US, and takes you to/from the airport, and anywhere on a train to Hungary's borders . . . how AWESOME!

And there is a cute small washer (no dryer - but not a problem - there's a great drying rack) - and an iron (but who irons on vacation - REALLY?)

Room Tip: If booking the GD Light - I would recommend for 2 people only - not 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,567 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#107 of 336 in Budapest
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraser Residence Budapest
#22 of 336 in Budapest
1,242 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Dream Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Dream Apartment

Address: Szent Istvan koerut 8, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 682 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $42 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy guesthouse with private units. Friendly atmosphere in the heart of downtown, closed to renewed Margaret bridge, Pest side. Convenient location, excellent accessibility. Carefully designed to be a truly home-to-home accommodation, where you can easily relax after sightseeing, and sleep well respecting the extra quiet sorrounding. Peaceful courtyard with plants and flowers, you will feel incubated from the hustle and bustle of the city life.Free broadband wifi internet, laptop, cable are provided by default in all units.All apartments have been refurbished recent years 2010/11, quality interior design, furnished according to high level of standards with care to give every comfort of a home. Family friendly environment. Baby-cot, baby-chair, toys for kids are available on request (for free). Highest level of hygiene and cleanness on every check in.Most sights are within a short walking distance. Few minutes to the Parliament, the Nyugati Railway Station or the beautiful parks of Margaret Island. Buda Castle or Heroes Squar can be reached easily and quickly by public transportation. The Danube, the Comedy Theatre are only a minute away. Lot of restaurants, cafes and pubs, shops can be found in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Green Dream Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Dream Apartment Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing