We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Budapest”
Review of Home Plus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Home Plus Hostel
Ranked #115 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have nothing negative to say!! Clean, friendly staff, free dinners, and I met some amazing people.... Was so sad to leave!! If you're traveling alone this is the perfect place to meet people, you won't feel lonely ever

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpelaez93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktor N, Manager at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Hey, Thanks : ) It was very nice to have you here! Hope to see you soon! : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Home Plus Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 194 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

During my stay at HomePlus I can't think of one bad experience other than having to leave. From start to finish all the staff and volunteers were extremely helpful and attentive to our needs. They helped us plan days out and gave us the best routes on local transport. The hostel itself was clean and the beds more than comfy. They didn't creek at all which was nice as I was on the top bunk! We were provided with breakfast everyday and dinner three times a week! Couldn't believe all this was included considering how cheap it was. Overall I had a brilliant trip to Budapest and it has made me want travel! I now know where I'll be staying whilst in Budapest next time. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesStainsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktor N, Owner at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hey James!

Thanks a lot for the kind words and hope to see you soon :)

Viktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hostel was the first hostel that we have ever stayed in, and I must admit, it has really set our minds at rest for staying in hostels in the future (even though we heard this is better than most :P) The rooms were really clean and tidy, the beds were surprisingly comfortable, and we had our own locker space for our bags, so we could just leave them for the day with no trouble. The staff were unbelievably helpful, gave us a bunch of different things to do and explore, and sometimes even came with us if they had the day off. The common room was pretty sweet, a cool place to chill out in the early evening after a day of travelling, before getting ready to hit the town in the evening! They provide free breakfast everyday, and also provide traditional Hungarian cuisine on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays! We couldn't believe that this all came in the small cost of the actual hostel itself! The hostel is situated right next to the Danube and Parliament, two of the attractions you will definitely like to explore (so its handy!) The hostel provide some pub crawls around the ruin bars which cost you the equivalent of about £10 .. but unlike most bar crawls you would do in England, they give you free shots which are actually quite generous (and strong!) All in all, it was a fantastic stay, and would 100% recommend this hostel to anybody who goes to visit Budapest. I can certainly say when we go travelling Europe next year, we know where to stay whilst in Budapest!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktor N, Owner at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hey Jamie!

Cheers!

If you really enjoyed our dinner than you should come back sometimes. You would be also invited to one of our cocktail parties on Saturdays ;)

Viktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Having stayed in a few hostels in the UK and in Europe, I honestly think that this is the best hostel I've ever stayed at

The 8-bed mixed dorm I stayed in was clean and cozy, and the beds were solid - not the squeaky, flimsy types that would make you feel like there's an earthquake when someone else climbs onto the top bunk. Unlike some other hostels, the two shower rooms were nice, clean and spacious :) The common area was very cozy too. They also provide a free Hungarian dinner on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturday, as well as free breakfast! Meal times were a great time to meet other travellers.

The hostel is located really nearby to trams no. 2, 4 and 6. FYI, tram no.2 follows the river Danube along the Pest side.

Last but not least, a shout out to the very lovely staff who were ever so helpful and friendly, and who brought us to eat amazing ice-cream nearby :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsuannL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktor N, Owner at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hi Isuann!

Nice thoughts, we appreciate your words. Hopefully we meet up next time, either in Kuala Lumpur or in Budapest :)

Cheers,
Viktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very nice stay here although it was only for one night. We stayed in a four person room and although there were only two of us we were lucky and had it all to ourselves. Great location. Clean building and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktor N, Owner at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thanks Chelsea, next time should stay some longger :)

Take care and hopefully see you guys, back!

Viktor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I love HomePlus! Such a friendly, relaxed place to be based in Budapest. The staff were all really friendly and obviously all know and love Budapest - they gave great tips about what to see, do, eat and drink. The hostel had a really social feeling - the common room was really cozy, and I spent many hours sharing stories around the big dining table. The free dinners three times a week are awesome for meeting other guests, and often seem to be the start of a great night out. I loved my time at HomePlus and would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting Budapest (:

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosa1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktor N, Manager at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thanks Rosa, It's been wow such lovely to have you here! We wish you nice travels and hope to see you soon! : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had never been to Budapest before and I loved how informative they're and welcoming, The moment I arrived the manager Shari was working and she immediately made me feel at ease she told me to relax have some coffee and set your bag aside.During the check in she was so informative and told me all about the local things to do and what was nearby as well. I enjoyed everyone who worked there it was nice to be able to sit down and talk with everybody and meet new people and hear about their lives and experiences so far on each of their journeys. A big shout out to Dora & Frank who also contributed to a most excellent stay it was nice to talk with them and also chill out and be able to watch a movie or have a few drinks with them as well. Frank ran the Pub Crawls and they were so fun & drunken of course with a combination of some late night Kebabs or McDonald's haha. Dora who worked the front desks most days was great to talk with as she is well versed in many languages and she had a great personality so full of life and always singing a pleasant song she has an amazing voice. I'm happy to say that she is one of the people who convinced me to stay an additional week and ended up helping out the hostel during this time frame which was equally a great experience. I will never forget the hospitality and I will most definitely make a return to this hostel in the future. Much Love goes out to you ladies & gent at Home Plus!! Love you all
Adonis

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAMan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktor N, Manager at Home Plus Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

So good to hear from you : ) Thanks for these nice words, it was a pleasure to have you here! We miss you : ) See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Essential Hostel
Essential Hostel
#126 of 666 in Budapest
60 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Suite Hostel
Suite Hostel
#94 of 666 in Budapest
79 reviews
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#35 of 666 in Budapest
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Hostel
#32 of 666 in Budapest
239 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Plus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Plus Hostel

Address: Balassi Balint Street 27 | Budapest 5th district, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $19 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Plus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home+ Hostel is your home away from home, plus a lot more. We are a comfortable, friendly, bright, safe and well equipped small hostel where you can stay in mixed larger rooms or smaller private rooms.We are located in the heart of Budapest, near the Danube river, between the Parliament and Margaret bridge, on the Pest side of the river. Margaret island is just a five minute walk where you can enjoy the outdoors, plus a lot more.Since we are located near the Margaret bridge, you can choose between discovering the city center or walking over the bridge to the more residential area where the royal castle is located. Don't forget to stop on the bridge to take the best 'Budapest at night' photo :)Our goal is to give you what we would like to get if we were travelling abroad and to make you feel at home. We do that by speaking good English, giving you sightseeing tips, providing you with all the info you may need, keeping the place clean and offering you a variety of pc, audio and video services.Your hosts, Andrew and company, we all love our work, we all love our guests and we like to see everybody happy. So, see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Home Plus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing