We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great warm welcoming hostel”
Review of Home Plus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Home Plus Hostel
Ranked #115 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed September 25, 2013

As I've never been to Budapest, Hungary before I wasn't really sure what to expect. After arriving by train into Budapest from Salzburg, the instructions to the hostel were easy to follow. Once arriving, we were warmly greeted by reception. The receptionist spent at least 25 minutes recommending things to do in the city and unique places to visit. The hostel is a small 3 to 4 room accommodation set out with dorms and private rooms, that sleeps less than 30 people. It was a really decent change up in accommodation. I've stayed in hostels all across Europe, but this by far had the best backpacker feel! There is a communal 'chill out' lounge, where guests were easily able to interact and establish friendships. All the receptionists, especially two called Frank and Atilla were extremely welcoming and always up for a conversation. Each of the three nights we stayed there, the receptionists taught us about local arts, music and culture.
Overall, I had a really enjoying time at home plus hostel. I would definitely recommend this hostel, as it has a great homely vibe, is cheap and central to town!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneybackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Home Plus Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 194 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had an amazing stay at this hostel. Everyone, especially the staff, was friendly and the size of the hostel meant everyone became friends. In fact I ended up travelling with another traveler for a week after meeting at the hostel. The staff were efficient, helpful and above all charming even cooking us dinner and giving us a hug to say goodbye.

Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Really nice hostel that has plenty of vibe. Home Plus had nicest staff in all my travels, really friendly, flexible and happy to help out whenever possible. Really nice location and comfortable beds. Home cooked Hungarian meals every second night were superb. Really reasonable price. 10/10 for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielpthomas10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

When we arrived in Budapest, we didn't think that the hostel could be so nice. We had to left the hostel after the first day, but even we were invited for a great free hungarian dinner in the hostel. Such amazing food, such amazing eviroment! Nice people, great reception!

When we arrived, they gave us many clues about restaurants and places to go that made our trip amazing!

We highly recomend HOME PLUS HOSTEL. If you are coming, don't forget the get the clues in the reception.

Clarissa e Bruno

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarissa_Peixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very nice people and a great hostel to stay at. There was no breakfast, however there is a small kitchen and fridge available for everyone to use.

The set up in the 8 person dorm is great and each bed comes with a locker and under-bed storage.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The dorms had good lockers and plenty of floor space. one of the receptionists Zeta (?) Was friendly and helpful. Its close to a tram stop and not far to walk to the city centre. We all got a free portion of very nice Hungarian pasta on the Thursday night. The other receptionists were fairly rude and inefficient. No breakfast. There is aircon but it doesn't work. There is a dryer but it doesn't work. The 6 bed dorm wasn't as nice as the 8 bed. The directions from the train station weren't up to date. I wanted laundry done and was told that if I gave it in at 1pm it would be ready by the next morning but then when I got back to the hostel in the evening the guy had forgotten about it so it wasn't dry until the next afternoon, I had to stay two days as other hostels were full. The guy said it was fine but didn't book me in and the same thing happened to another girl staying there. The boss should block facebook so that the staff aren't distracted from doing their job. I spent my first two nights in Budapest at this hostel and then moved to Wombats for the next two, it was much better for the same price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at this hostel and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone travelling to Budapest. Very well located, the staff are very helpful and the front desk is manned 24 hours. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated and the bathroom facilities are fine for the number of people in the hostel. Great atmosphere as well, with things like pub crawls being organised by the hostel in the evenings. Highly recommend staying here, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillk159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Essential Hostel
Essential Hostel
#126 of 666 in Budapest
60 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Suite Hostel
Suite Hostel
#94 of 666 in Budapest
79 reviews
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#35 of 666 in Budapest
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Hostel
#32 of 666 in Budapest
239 reviews
Belváros-Lipótváros
Full Moon Design Hostel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Plus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Plus Hostel

Address: Balassi Balint Street 27 | Budapest 5th district, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $20 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Plus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home+ Hostel is your home away from home, plus a lot more. We are a comfortable, friendly, bright, safe and well equipped small hostel where you can stay in mixed larger rooms or smaller private rooms.We are located in the heart of Budapest, near the Danube river, between the Parliament and Margaret bridge, on the Pest side of the river. Margaret island is just a five minute walk where you can enjoy the outdoors, plus a lot more.Since we are located near the Margaret bridge, you can choose between discovering the city center or walking over the bridge to the more residential area where the royal castle is located. Don't forget to stop on the bridge to take the best 'Budapest at night' photo :)Our goal is to give you what we would like to get if we were travelling abroad and to make you feel at home. We do that by speaking good English, giving you sightseeing tips, providing you with all the info you may need, keeping the place clean and offering you a variety of pc, audio and video services.Your hosts, Andrew and company, we all love our work, we all love our guests and we like to see everybody happy. So, see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Home Plus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing