We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BudBugs!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Plus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Home Plus Hostel
Ranked #88 of 657 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“BudBugs!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

So my friends and I was staying this past weekend at HomePlus Hostel in Budapest.
The room we stayed in was infested with bedBugs which was very unfortunate.
However, when this has been cleaned up I would highly recommend the hostel since it was in a great location, the owner is really nice, and it was clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedeBlondeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    40
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
1
10
65
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed in Budapest for 5 days, in the HomePlus hostel. It is such a nice and warm place to stay in. The location is more then perfect, during my stay I walked to almost everything..right in the center of Budapest near the main attractions. Andrew is a great host, he takes the time to help you get around and to put an itenerary together! I loved my stay there and can recommend it to everyone! Thanks Andrew, and thanks HomePlus hostel for the experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moradinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

It's possible to get anywhere in the city pretty quickly from the hostel, and the area is safe late at night. The hostel owner was extremely helpful and gave me a thorough list of places to go and things to do in Budapest. Stay was comfortable, very quiet in the off season (late September).

Room Tip: 4-bed room sometimes smells like cigarette smoke, because the windows open into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is an average hostel, the rooms are clean and the location is close to the main attractions about 10 mins walk from the centre. The staff are helpful and friendly place could do with some moderisation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupertddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hostel, run by Andrew who is the nicest person I have ever met, is amazing. It has a very good feel to the hostel, and the place is run in the way you would expect your mother to let your friends stay over. I always felt at home there and had an amazing time. Everyone I met there was really nice as well - which was greatly helped by the wonderful atmosphere that Andrew and his staff create. Vicky, who works there, is exceptionally helpful as well and just like Andrew will do whatever she physically can to help you, make your stay perfect, and look after you. I could not recommend this place any higher.

On the hostel itself, the beds are great and comfortable, there are lockers and locks for everyone, and the 'living room' is really nice with a computer and a TV. Everything really clean - Vicky cleaned everything almost everyday, so no worries about that.

Room Tip: The 5 bedroom is perfect. Big size room, not too many people, really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankGKarioris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

It's a small, quiet hostel with a cosy atmosphere. Within 100 meters you are at the tram/busstop and the Donou. The walk to the centre takes you about 10 minutes but it's a sightseeing walk :-)
We stayed in the double room and got our own bathroom. It was perfect for that price!!

Room Tip: Located in quiet street/ Wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Myself (20) and two other girls stayed in the home plus hostel in August for four nights.
The staff were very friendly! They helped us arrange some taxis (which were a lot cheaper than ones we hd sorted ourself), and also sorted us out with tickets for things during the day (I.e the thermal baths). Andrew is lovely, and the girls that work there are very cheerful and informative.

The hostel was very clean. Plenty of showers and bathrooms for the number of guests. We never had to wait to use the shower or bathrooms.
The kitchen is well equipped. We found everything we needed to make dinner etc.

We were given maps etc when we arrived and they suggested some places to visit.

The hostel has a great atmosphere. It's not too strict (I.e you can have some fun) but they are also very respectful of the other guests.

There was large lockers in the rooms (BYO padlock). Overall the hostel felt secure - although we kept all our stuff locked away in the lockers.

Good location - plenty of trams and buses nearby :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccam3977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
The Groove
#76 of 657 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
District V / Inner City
Essential Hostel
Essential Hostel
#114 of 657 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Avenue Hostel
#27 of 657 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belváros-Lipótváros
Suite Hostel
Suite Hostel
#94 of 657 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
District V / Inner City
Parliament Penthouse Boutique B&B
District V / Inner City
The Loft Hostel Budapest
The Loft Hostel Budapest
#43 of 657 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Plus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Plus Hostel

Property: Home Plus Hostel
Address: Balassi Balint Street 27 (bell 53) | Budapest 5th district, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 657 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home+ Hostel is your home away from home, plus a lot more. We are a comfortable, friendly, bright, safe and well equipped small hostel where you can stay in mixed larger rooms or smaller private rooms.We are located in the heart of Budapest, near the Danube river, between the Parliament and Margaret bridge, on the Pest side of the river. Margaret island is just a five minute walk where you can enjoy the outdoors, plus a lot more.Since we are located near the Margaret bridge, you can choose between discovering the city center or walking over the bridge to the more residential area where the royal castle is located. Don't forget to stop on the bridge to take the best 'Budapest at night' photo :)Our goal is to give you what we would like to get if we were travelling abroad and to make you feel at home. We do that by speaking good English, giving you sightseeing tips, providing you with all the info you may need, keeping the place clean and offering you a variety of pc, audio and video services.Your hosts, Andrew and company, we all love our work, we all love our guests and we like to see everybody happy. So, see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Home Plus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing