We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Hotel 21

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Central Hotel 21 to your Saves list
Central Hotel 21
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maria Street 10, Budapest 1085, Hungary   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Special Prices :)
Ranked #57 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It's a great hotel and the staff is amazing, very helpful and kind. The location is good, rooms are clean and new furniture. Free wifi in the rooms, free tea in the lobby. We even had free umbrellas for the rainy days.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Oana C,

We would like to express our appreciation to you for taking your time to write a review after staying in our hotel.
Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    253
    59
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
251
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was overall a nice room with a clean and good service. We emailed a few weeks before travelling asking for a twin room and when we arrived were upgraded to the apartment which was the only room in the whole hotel with two separate beds. The service of all of the staff was really good and everyone was very friendly. The hotel is in a quiet location and within relative walking distance (20 minutes) from the main city centre. A clean hotel and we would book to stay there again. Breakfast is €4 extra and beware of the 4% tourist tax added on arrival. Overall though it is a good hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: If you would like a twin room email in advance. The only apartment is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear TripTravels123,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Central Hotel 21 *** Budapest.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We took the airport shuttle to the apartments. It was about 12 pounds return each. There was a couple of flight of stairs to climb to the reception area. There was no lift. The staff were friendly. The apartment was very spacious for four people. There were two interconnecting rooms with two large double beds and two single beds. There was a tv and a table and four chairs. There was lots of cupboard space. There was no traffic noise. There was heating which was easily adjusted. A kitchen with lots of pans, mugs, cutlery and plates. We had cereal each day ( there was a small food shop opposite to the apartments). You could have breakfast, but decided to make breakfast and eat lunch out. There was one toilet and one bath with a shower head ( we had sit down showers) There was hot water most of the time. The apartment was cleaned very well each day and we had fresh towels. The apartments are close to the metro stations. But we walked everywhere, 5 min from the synagogues, 7 min from basilica, 6 min walk to city centre and over the bridge there is St. Matthias church, Buda castle and gellert baths. Nice apartments. Well priced. Good for a large family or friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear angela c,

Thank you for taking the time to write a glowing review of your stay at Central Hotel 21 *** Budapest, it certainly sounds like you had a very enjoyable time.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

extremely friendly staff! great location, only a few minutes walk to the public transportation or a bit longer walk to different tourist locations. We stayed in the apartment where it can accomodate 9 people--- it was so spacious. Lots of room for all of us!
We also occupied 1 double room....the room was cozy, clean and modern.
If you rent the apartment, there is a kitchen where you can cook. All the basic things you need for cooking are there----- except for a sharp knife and a can opener. But we were able to borrow some at the reception, so it was okay! During the summer months, be sure to ask for an electric fan at the reception because it tends to be really hot inside the room. (we were there during the summer months)....when you arrive ask for the fan because I don't think they have enough for all the rooms.
over all it is a great place with great people! the quality of our stay there exceeded the amount we paid for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Felda,

We would like to express our gratitude to you for taking your time to write a review after your stay in our hotel.
Our Director of Engineering has attended to the problem regarding the fan.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us soon.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great hotel and amazing stuff. Whenever asked they had good and kind advices to give.
In addition, rooms are clean. location could be better, but it's only 5 mins by subway to the city center. Moreover, taxi is quite cheap in Budapest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Stevan R,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very nice hotel in a classy neighbourhood, very clean and renovated compared to some other areas of Budapest. Close to the tourist center (less than 10 mins walk), but far enough to avoid horrible and noisy tourist restaurants and cafes.

Staff is very nice and helpful.

The room is pretty small but with everything needed. Everything looks new and clean. Good sized comfy bed, nice and clean bathroom, nice view from the window overlooking the street below.
Wi-fi does not always work in the room, however it works pretty well in the lobby and you are also allowed to use a PC there, plus staff is available to give you info you need.

The only other problem we had is that although outside the weather was pretty chill especially at night, inside the room it was a bit hot and we had to open the window at mornings, but that's the only remark I would make about the hotel.

Easy access from the airport (no need to take taxi, unless heavy cases). From airport take Bus 200E, then Metro M3 to Corvin negyed. From there we walked and it was a nice short walk (although it was raining!). Overall, it takes a little more than 1 hour (the bus journey it's the longest). It's cheaper to buy the 'transfer ticket' rather than 2 single tickets (one for bus one for metro).

Good value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saradlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear saradlv,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

Our technical staff has attended to the problem regarding the WIFI.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again in Central Hotel 21 *** Budapest.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are nice, clean and it's situated in a good spot In the center, 10 min walking till the Danube. Situated in an old house, not very spectacular. Services were very good, nice people. Breakfast was good, but not for 4 euros. That's too much for some cereals, butter and jam and few slices of ham and cheese. I recomand the hotel if you want something cheaper and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theodora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor S, General Manager at Central Hotel 21, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Theodora C,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your visit to Budapest.
Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Gabor Szegedi
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#55 of 335 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#70 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Budapest City Central
Budapest City Central
#83 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
Gozsdu Court Aparthotel
#34 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel 21

Property: Central Hotel 21
Address: Maria Street 10, Budapest 1085, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 21 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel 21 *** is located in the city centre of Budapest close to the most visited sites (Danube, Market Hall, Synagogue, National Museum) and all parts of the city are within easy reach with public transportation. Shopping areas, theatres, restaurants (with reasonable prices) and cafes are in walking distance (5 minutes on foot). Each room is equipped with a pay-per-use mini bar, an LCD TV, Safe, a direct-dial phone, and the uniquely designed bathroom offers a hairdryer to the guests. Some of them have a view to the street the others to the yard inside. Complimentary high speed internet service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Central Hotel 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing