We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Voros Postakocsi Restaurant
Ranked #296 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: "Red Mail Coach" - "Voros Postakocsi" is traditional Budapest restaurant. It cannot be said, that the Voros Postakocsi Restaurant in Raday Street really stands out from the others, but anyone looking for a Hungarian culinary experience shouldn't pass it by. Originally opened in the early seventies, this traditional fully licensed restaurant, specializing in authentic Hungarian dishes, has been a firm favourite for over three decades, serving authentic, well-cooked and reasonably priced food to its predominantly local Clientele. The restaurant offers a wide range of carefully selected meals from authentic and modern Hungarian cuisine. Traditionally heavy dishes are rendered light, courtesy of organic meat, dairy products and vegetables. The menu offers several vegetarian options. We formed the Red Mail Coach Restaurant's Menu around the Foie Gras and other Hungarian specialities. The restaurant's wide selection of modern Hungarian wines is a treat for all. The Red Mail Coach Restaurant offers more than 70 kinds of bottled wine, half of which is also available by glass at very attractive prices.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A nice find in a quiet part of town. Food was wonderful, everything was fresh with nice presentation. Setting is contemporary and romantic. Service was excellent. A great value. Highly recommend

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    188
    71
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My family and I was in the Red Mail Coach Restaurant. Ordered foie gras, which was soon to be taken. Assigned wine, recommended by the waiter attention. It is very well suited to the dish. We felt very well at the restaurant, the waiters were friendly and nice. The prices of the food quality was good. Thanks for the great lunch! P.G.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“execellente”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

agusztus 2o-án the red mail van we went into a restaurant vacsorázni.egy a kind waiter was receiving minket.asztalunkhoz hurts us,and foods valo recommended wines to go with him nekünk.az foods minösége and the service perfect volt.kellemes we filled a cosy evening,I dare to recommend it as something else valiantly

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank borbély l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“an excellent hungarian restaurant”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

last tuesday with a friend from Singapore (and with her Mum) i went to Voros Postakocsi, an excellent hungarian restaurant in Budapest (Raday Street). By excellent i mean the dishes were typically hungarian (but not fake-hungarian), the service was great, good quality, affordable prices. Usually i don't go to hungarian restaurants, only when foreigner friends are here, and know that sometimes "original hungarian meals" means it is only for getting money from the tourists. Voros postakocsi doesn't belong to this category. Well, i suggest it to tourists visiting Budapest.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ferencck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

After reading all the excellent reviews here we expected this restaurant to be very good. Unfortunately the waiters were surly and at times quite unpleasantly rude. Three of our party ate Foie Gras (the restaurant's speciality) which was still bloody and had the consistency of runny jelly. Our Hungarian friends we went with were very disappointed with the food and said that the liver was not properly done. I am no expert but I do know that my girlfriend and I awoke the next morning feeling ill. In a street with so many restaurants to choose from there are much better places to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voros Postakocsi Restaurant also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Voros Postakocsi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing