We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting but small

The museum is tiny, it will take you about 15 minutes to visit, but there is also a video about... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jamwill1
,
Reading, United Kingdom
Best cakes ever

I adore sweets and I fell in love with these cakes. Big variety of cakes and amazing green tea. On... read more

Reviewed October 31, 2018
LiliiaB5
,
Donetsk, Ukraine
via mobile
Read all 18 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Budapest
from $12.70
More Info
from $23.20
More Info
from $10.40
More Info
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
10
7
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
7
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 18 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018

After visiting the Parliament House, we've stumbled upon this little coffee shop just right across the square mistaking it for the actual Budapest Chocolate Museum which was the next stop of our itinerary for the day. There's a coffee shop on the ground floor and the chocolate museum and shop upstairs. We've enjoyed visiting the small museum - especially as it certainly made me feel nostalgic about how the bonbons are made and the beautiful tins they used to store them in. I wished now that we saved all those chocolate tins my grandmother used to collect dating back from the 50's! I would have rated our visit 5 Star if not for the rather lukewarm customer service we received at the cafe. Our cappucino was not hot and when we asked for another one, the man behind the counter was not happy to do it again. Special thanks to Anna for wrapping our chocolates very nicely.

Thank Bloomfield_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017

Note: to enter you must go into the restaurant "Szamos Cafe" and go to 2 floor and there it is. :)

In fact, it's deeper, than it seems. There's an interesting story behind this place, it was built by an engineer working in confectionery production, as stated in the introductory word.
So he suggests to enjoy. :) Lot of interesting small details on the choc production and also lot of smaller mechanisms (and quite old).
I also found a few "easter eggs". :) And encourage you to try too.

Thank walxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, Tulajdonos at Szamos Chocolate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Let me thank you very much for reviewing our lovely Museum, it means really a lot for us! It is so amazing to read that you loved our exhibition and products.

Thank you once again for taking your time to share your opinions and experiences with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future again!

Best Regards,
Szamos Café and Museum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

A small place above a tidy cafe that's offering plenty of artefacts i.e. it is a bit cramped. A good informative film (20 mins) about how chocolate gets from the bean into our mouths. A good shop with good quality chocolate products at a good price.

Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, Tulajdonos at Szamos Chocolate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

We would like to say thank you for taking your time to write down and share your honest opinion about our café!
Also thank you for mentioning our film and our prices. It really means a lot to us.

Your sincerely,
Szamos Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

Very small but nice museum.. only 500HUF and lasted about 30 mins. Could have had a better chocolate shop attached... it didn't offer the companys full range

Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

Poshy place with affordable prices, especially considering the location. The service was great, they care of you, you don't need to chase the waitress. We were there twice already, once for lunch and thos was delicious too, so this is not only a cake shop. The chocolate museum is not a big one, but as a chocoholic, was very interesting for me.

1  Thank Dannyboy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, Tulajdonos at Szamos Chocolate Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Thank you for taking your time sharing with us your opinion about Szamos Chocolate Museum. Your positive thoughts filled us with joy.
We are glad that you are satisfied with our workers and the museum.
Please let us say thank you again for your comment.

Best regards,
Szamos Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews