We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice employees”

Central Cellar Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #2,558 of 3,092 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very nice employees”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very firendly employees that was explaining about the food and give good advices. When are in the restaurant it's fine, but I miss to look at something a view, I can only blame myself for that, its called a Cellar :-) Good food, nice employees, reasonable prices. Best with a lot friends around you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    7
    3
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
161 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went into this restaurant just for a drink but we liked it so much we stayed for a meal. It is a cellar but a very pleasant and plenty of room. The waiter spoke perfect English, had a good sense of humour and explained what each meal was and did not try to push any food or drink. The meals were all excellent (there were 8 of us) and the cost was very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldtuggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“very good food and reasonable cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I found this charming restaurant on my last night. The interior of the restaurant has a nice ambiance and is different to the many "chic trendy" type resturants at street level. Without the onstreet doorman (quite pleasant in fact) you would not really find it.

The food was excellent. The goose liver highly recommended. the service was courteous and friendly and the cost more than reasonable for such a central location. There are so many restaurants to choose from. Give this a try. It has an extensive menu although the desserts are limited. You wont go wrong

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were surprised to find this perfect restaurant, through quite an ordinary doorway and down a flight of stairs. We never expected it to be quite so charming. The entrance is so misleading. The interior is lovely. The staff were very welcoming. The menus were explained clearly in English and they were very flexible with our orders. The wine was great and the food was fab. The dessert was the best. WE had such a good evening there we went back again for a second visit.
Would go there next time we visit Budapest definately. Also prices are reasonable, rate highly and would recommend to anyone visiting this beautiful city.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden pearl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

It doesn't look like it from the outside but once you get inside its a hidden pearl. Spacious tables, not like the normal tourist traps. Perfect service. And the best steaks I ever tryed. The ribeye with picante sauce can be recommended (3300 huf)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanddal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Cellar Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Central Cellar Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing