We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant I have ever been”
Review of Olimpia

Olimpia
Ranked #390 of 3,154 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $112
Cuisines: Diner, Hungarian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best restaurant I have ever been”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Perfect food, professional chef for an affordable price. The whole dinner was like a big adventure of tastes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sklari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    35
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly service, bland food”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our guide book called this a hidden gem, but we didn't agree. The service was excellent on our visit but the food left plenty to be desired. It was lovely presented, but tasted rather bland, or odd. For example, the pea soup was more like washing up water, the peanut cream tasted of strawberries. Good wine though. Decor was a bit harsh, not very cosy. They didn't take cards, which is irritating when you are on holiday. At least they didn't charge a lot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lost booking. Not helpful”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Suggest to double confirm booking before spending money on baby-sitter, taxi etc. Apparently unable to record our booking (not language issue either since booked in Hungarian). Apology would have been nice...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bengebruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, very expensive though”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Very near to Far Home Apartments. Not many vegetarian options available. Staff very courteous and patient with our 18 month old baby. Not a place to venture in evening especially if you have cranky kids!!

Helpful?
Thank chittipotti
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“delicious & inventive food”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My friend and I went here in February 2013 and enjoyed the restaurant though it was a different experience to what we were expecting! First, the restaurant is much farther away from the city centre than we had anticipated. You actually have to walk through what appears to be a dodgy part of town to get there which we didn't like. When we arrived we were sat right away and immediately asked if we wanted champagne though we had asked for a wine list. We never ended up receiving our wine list and felt rather forced to have the wine tastings with each course though it wasn't to our liking and rather expensive for Budapest. We chose the 4 course tasting which actually ended up being a 7 course tasting! I couldn't imagine having gone for more courses than just the 4! We ended up having 2 starters, a soup, a main, a cheese selection, and 2 desserts. More than enough food! Everything was delicious except for the soup which wasn't to our liking - green soup with a "perfect egg" as it was described to us...strange consistency and flavours. The restaurant is quite bare with recipe books from famous chefs and restaurants. Overall the restaurant was expensive for Budapest but inexpensive when considering it ended up being a 7 course tasting menu. If you have time for a 2-2.5 hour dinner then definitely try this place! Reservations are recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dek830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olimpia also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Olimpia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing