We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic lunch quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olimpia

Olimpia
Ranked #322 of 3,090 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $112
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian, International, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“fantastic lunch quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Not a common touristy restaurant located in the worker's quarter of Budapest.
Despite of location the food quality and preparation of dishes are high standard.
I went back a few times for lunch and always found high quality ingredients and professional service.
The only drawback is that they don't have a menu on Internet as they cook from fresh ingredients available on market. You have a choice of 2-3 different plates per course for lunch.
3 courses lunch menu for 8 Eur is cheap regarding high quality, but expensive to Budapest standard.
Park your car at "Garay piac" secured parking house nearby - first hour is free - as the street parking might be unsafe and expensive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ben77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    34
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place – really different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I was invited to the place from. If you come there you wonder what you are doing there as it looks from the outside like a normal Greek restaurant.

The clou about it is the food. The Chef buys all products every morning on the (local?) market and then prepares what he thinks. So far, nothing special. However, you cant choose what you get. You can only choose how many dishes you want to have. My colleague assured me the food was really good and since we didnt have anything to do the evening we went for the 10 course menu. To what I saw the minimum is 4 courses.

With the order you "commit" to the amount of the courses. You cant change in between and order more (at least we were told), because the Chef is preparing the course selection based on the amount of dishes you order.
The variety of dishes ranged from duck, pig, sturgeon, a wide range of souces with e.g. Strawberries, salad, veggies and so much more. Besides one (rhubarb dessert) dish everything was really great – some really surprising – in a very positive way.

At the beginning we were asked about the drinks and I told them to bring the wine(s) that go well with the dishes. So you get about a glas / 2 dishes. All wines were Hungarian, as far as I could see, and they were all good and going well with the dishes. Except may be the dish with the light Wasabi sauce; but then there arent too many wines that go with Wasabi.

The service was very attentive and friendly and you had the feeling of being very welcome, which I liked a lot.

The place in itself is small, has a calm atmosphere and invites sitting there for some hours; nothing fancy – just nice. I was told that you need to reserve and they wont take guests without reservation. But I am not sure if that is true or not. However, the place only takes about 25 people, so you better do a reservation.

So overall the place is a real recommendation and 100% worth the time you spent there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thoelke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

I dine at Olimpia quite regularly, and enjoyed my recent visit as much as my previous visits. I especially enjoy the fact that each course is an unknown and you do not know what culinary surprise awaits you. The ingredients are always fresh and creatively prepared, and there are many unusual combinations. On my recent visit, some of my favourites were sushimi on a bed of seaweed served with goat cheese on a bed of tomato salsa; and then later grilled goat in curry sauce with nettle strudel; this topped off with a finale of blackberry mousse with pear and lime ice cream -- delicious!

Although this restaurant isn't for everyone -- especially if you do not like not knowing what you will eat. If you are in for a culinary adventure, I couldn't recommend it more!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smagyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Demanding restaurant with some deficincies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

A pleasant place in Budapest with a high quality cuisine. There is no á la carte in Olimpia, you can choose from four to seven course menus. These courses match to each other and are really delicious. The problem is with the service, the sommelier for example was annoyingly mannerless. He insisted the wine he would choose, we almost didn't have the chance to drink what we wanted. I didn't like either, that there is no opportunity to pay with credit card, which is, I think unaccaptable at this level.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank molnarrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
185 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good food good drink!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

It`s a taster cuisine and their specialty is that they go to the market everyday and buy what is fresh! This way they don`t know on Monday what they are giong to make and serve on Tuesday! It`s exciting and full of surprise! The menu is constantly changing, so there is no way to eat twice the same and we like it!
They are very good in wine selection as well, they serve different wine to all the different dishes and the match is perfect to all! If we don`t forget that they have to find out in one day which wine is good to which food it`s fantastic!
The only thiing they could make better is the service. The waiter was not the frendliest or best but still acceptable.
Prices are far reasonable!
Really worth to visit even more then one time!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HappiestMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olimpia also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Olimpia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing