We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try! :)”
Review of Marquis de Salade

Marquis de Salade
Ranked #1,294 of 3,246 Restaurants in Budapest
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Terézváros
Description: Russian, Azeri; http://www.frommers.com/destinations/budapest/D42120.html
Budapest
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must try! :)”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Just in one sentence : "Fresh and tasty!"
Really, nice food, like homemade by mom or grandmom :)
Waiters are helpful, we try white wine, Chardonnay, was very fresh and light...
Good for lunch. Hope, for dinner also :)
I had just lunch experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sodabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    10
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Close to Opera, nice atmosphere and welcoming staff”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am foreigner in Budapest and visit this restaurant periodically. I mostly like the atmosphere, interior and approach of staff to the clients. The location is quite good, it is close to Opera and right place to have dinner after opera & ballet shows. It has long menu with different varieties from Azerbaijani, Russian and Hungarian cuisine. The receipts are collected from the local people and give good feeling of their local food. We sometimes even meet owner there, she is nice person to talk and give feedback. It is recommended place for all purposes (family, group of friends, couples, business meetings, etc.)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rashad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The intriguing menu featured Hungarian, Russian, and Azerbaijani specialities. The door opened onto an inviting lounge, decorated with cozy-looking upholstery in warm tones and a flattering light. And it all went downhill from there.

Instead of being seated in the welcoming lounge, we were led downstairs to a dimly lit, barrel-ceilinged cave; in another life, this might have evoked a rustic atmosphere, but with the two of us the only customers throughout our meal, it just felt abandoned and sad. After perusing the lengthy menu, we made our choices; dinner came quickly and it was not long before I wished I'd read a little longer and chosen differently. My meal of stuffed grape leaves was the furthest thing from fresh - tired is more like it, and the uninspired filling gave no impression that it would have delighted even when fresh. Even the wine was mediocre - and that's hard to do in Budapest.

The waiter tried hard to please, but then again - he enthused about the menu and our selections, so he might not be the best one to go by. Maybe he was right, and we just caught them at a bad time. But there are too many good restaurants in this town, why go back to one that falls so far short.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ayyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic, a must if you're vegetarian!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was a highlight, worth the walk and a very different food experience. There are at least six veggie options and the two we tried were fabulous. Downstairs in a barrel vault, great service, and lots of Hungarian wine to try. We two aussies can't recommend it enough!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank narellejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The food and restaurant are a must. Great menu and wine selection. We had the food tasting menu which was great. Excellent quality and preparation of food. The decor was a nice touch and the restaurant had a nice ambience about it. Highly recommend. Make reservations and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Szabo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marquis de Salade also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Marquis de Salade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing