We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation and memory in Budapest !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 189 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“Great vacation and memory in Budapest !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We totally stayed 4 nights at room 1 of Budavar pension with a great balcony. Never imagined the location is so perfect before check-in. Very close to major sightseeing spot (Fisherman bastion, Matyas church, Castle hill & Buda palace) but you still experience peaceful, relaxing and comfrotable time when you stay there. We heard the birds singing while we had breakfast at balcony. Host Viktor is super nice and friendly to all guests. We definitely recommend this hotel to all the friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swancolore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    73
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
161
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
597 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived on a train from Zagreb that was 1.5 hours late, and we had to stand in line 30 minutes to get metro tickets and money from the ATM. When we arrived over 2 hours later than I told him we would arrive, he was still there waiting for us, which was quite the relief. Even though it was more than 100 outside, the air conditioning in the room made for a great stay. It wasn't a big deal to share the bathroom, but the walls were a bit thin between the rooms. The breakfast was perfectly fine - on par with most hotel breakfasts. While it was in Buda, further away from the "main" sights, it was just a few minutes up to the Bastion for some great views at night.

We had a late night flight, so we needed to leave our bags until 5. He arranged for a taxi to pick us up then, and gave us a key so we could get back in and get our bags, which was great. We showed up at the hotel at 4:40, and started watching for a taxi from 4:50-5:15. It was confirmed, twice, with the owner that the taxi would be there at 5. Since the desk is not always manned, we had no one to help us solve this problem (a problem I have never had in visits to 30 countries). So, we had no choice but to walk to the square and pay 2,000 HUF more than the rate the taxi was suppose to pick us up for.

So, in all, I would say you can stay here, if you plan to check out and take the metro to the airport/train station. However, being that it was over 100 degrees we didn't feel like carrying all our stuff down the hill, on the metro during rush hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in room 3, it was plenty big for a couple with a great balcony to view Parliament. The room has AC along with a ceiling fan to stay cool. Victor is a great host and is happy to give you directions in the morning, his English is very good. Located right below the Bastion, making it a great place to hang out at night after the crowds leave. Easy to get to the other parts of a Budapest via the metro a short walk down the stairs. There is a market right there also and a very good vegetarian place when you need a break from the heavy hungarian cuisine. Breakfast is simple but it is enough to start the day. O yea there is also a fridge at the font desk where you can get wine, beer,water, etc at any time, just have to keep a tally on a piece of paper.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Danube!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadiehope7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, located along the hill with a beautiful view of the city band the river. Service is impeccable, kind and always nice. It seem rally to stay as in family. Absolutely suggested to visit the city with alla comforts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed in room 4 - a superior double. The room faces the hill and castle, so is nicely quiet. The bed has twin mattresses and is very comfortable. However we could clearly hear the shower running from an adjacent room in the morning. The furnishings are fairly basic and a bit worn, with broken fittings on the window blinds.There is a coffee table and some chairs in the room; not quite a suite but somewhere to sit besides the bed. The room has a balcony with chairs; but does not have a view of the city. There was a rather unpleasant rubbery smell in the room that could be dispelled by opening the windows for a while. The hallway and staircase are similarly rather basic in furnishing. The breakfast room has a balcony area from where you can see the top of the parliament building, so looks good at night.
The hotel is non-smoking. Also there is free internet, (minus facility for videos)

The service provided by Viktor was very good. However the breakfast was far from good. The coffee is made from powder and then kept hot in a coffee thermos jug. There were 3 types of teabag - Earl Grey, strawberry, and green tea. On the second day, the Earl Grey had been used up and not replaced. Salami was provided, along with rolls; but no fresh ham or cheese, just individual portions of cheese spread, pate, and jams. The only milk available was long life from a carton. It easily ranked as the most limited breakfast we have ever been offered in a hotel or pension.

The location of the pension is very convenient for the castle. It is also about 5-7 mins walk to the metro; but beware because it is a steep climb home!

The overall impression we came away with is that the business is putting its own needs first rather than the customer, evidenced by the poor breakfast, basic, worn furnishings, and lack of repair.

In summary for 72 euros a night and the poor breakfast we would not go back

Room Tip: Check the bed sizes - we booked a classic double room, and the bed was only 140cm wide, and ended up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank British_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Budavar Pension is on a quiet street on the Buda side of the Danube, just below the Fisherman's Bastion and the castle area. Though there are a lot of steps, visitors are ideally placed to stroll around the peaceful castle area in the evening where there are great panoramas over the city - be aware though that the restaurants here aren't the best in town. Just down the hill a couple of streets you will find the metro and buses so it's a good base for touring the city. The pension itself is very clean and comfortable; the owner, Viktor, is very friendly and helpful and can book spa tickets etc for you (and arrange a taxi from the airport, but he didn't arrive!). However, the breakfasts are only so-so. I would recommend this pension overall.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms overlooking the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiantibeatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very beautiful b&b in center Buda.. and i say Buda, because budapest is divided in two part. The most antic and romantic side is buda and the most attractive young side is Pest. The center of Pest is quite distante from this B&B but you can take buses or metro but if you wanna walk you have to do that for 30 minutes minimum... However it's a very lovely place, the guy receptionist is super friendly! maybe a b&b suggest more for couple.. the only drawback the shower curtain in plastic!

Room Tip: highest floor has a great panorama!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest
Baltazar Budapest
#5 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budavar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budavar Bed & Breakfast

Property: Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Address: Szabo Ilonka utca 15., Budapest 1015, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budavar Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budavar Bed & Breakfast resides in the heart of Budapest in the World Heritage Site historic Castle Hill District of the Buda side of the city. You stay several footsteps away from Fishermen's Bastion and Matthias Church. You can reach the business and entertainment district of Pest in a few minutes. Rooms feature wonderful panoramic view and are equipped with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budavar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing