We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good! but remember buda is not pest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 192 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dortmund
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very good! but remember buda is not pest”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very beautiful b&b in center Buda.. and i say Buda, because budapest is divided in two part. The most antic and romantic side is buda and the most attractive young side is Pest. The center of Pest is quite distante from this B&B but you can take buses or metro but if you wanna walk you have to do that for 30 minutes minimum... However it's a very lovely place, the guy receptionist is super friendly! maybe a b&b suggest more for couple.. the only drawback the shower curtain in plastic!

Room Tip: highest floor has a great panorama!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    74
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
163
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wonderful place to stay in a great location (with amazing views from the balconies at the back). The pension is steps away from the beautiful Fishermans Bastion, a short walk to the metro/shops/restaurants one way or the cable bridge/castle/funicular the other way, yet is on a quiet safe street. Viktor was very welcoming and helpful, giving us good maps, booking the hop-on-hop-off bus (good value for money) and taxis to and from the airport. One of the nicest pensions we've ever stayed in, in one of the nicest cities we've ever been to!

Room Tip: Room 3 had an amazing view over the Parliament and the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

It is that simple, Budavar is the best to stay in the world. The locación is just perfect in a cosy quiet street just a few meters from The Fishermen Bastión, and Buda Castle. We prefer Room number. 4 looking towards the Bastión and the forest just across the street, the bird song symphony in the morning and afternoon is stunning. You can walk in the Castle grounds until very late at night, the look of the city and Buda Castle under the night time lighting is just breatless,and all this just a few meters from Budavar. You can go back and take a rest or a soothing shower in a mater of minutes. The best restaurants are all within a short walking distance form the hotel.
Metro stations and bus stops are just a few steps away.
The room is very spacious and has the best bed we have slept in years. Breakfast was always the highlight of the morning.
Víctor was the perfect host, allways ready to help you in any way you needed.
We stayed for 20 days and hope to be back soon!

P

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooking the Bastion and the forest plus bird song symphony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omega9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and i stayed for 2 nights and were very impressed Victor very welcoming and very happy to offer assistance.Our room was on the street which is very quiet,and had sun on the balcony in the afternoon.The breakfast room has sun in the morning so perfect.Our room was spacious and everything we needed.Breakfast was fine for a small place.would definitely recommend for position alone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Budavar Pension in Budapest in July 2012. We were 5 people and had two rooms. Breakfast was very good, the host very nice, speaking fluent German. Rooms were clean and quite spacious. Location is directly below the Fisherman's Bastion. The subway is reachable in 10 minutes. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely recommend this B&B. Choosing a room in one of the upper floors on the rear side gives a fantastic view of the parliament building. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: Consider a room in one of the upper floors on the rear side with the view of the parliament building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i001106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This b&b has everything to recommend it.
First, the location is excellent - easy walk from no. 16 bus stop, served by frequent buses, or picturesque short climb up from the nearest metro station. You can walk to the centre of Pest in 20-30 minutes. This part of Buda is both picturesque and quiet - wonderful views from some rooms of the Old Town above, beautifully lit up at night, stunning view of the Parliament from rooms on the other side and breakfast room - and absolutely no noise to keep you awake at night.
Second, Viktor was an excellent host - kind and helpful at all times.
Third, the room we had was simple but comfortable - the safe was an unexpected bonus - and like the rest of the interior spotlessly clean.
Fourth, breakfast provided an ample choice of good things to start the day.
This has to be one of the very best value-for-money b&b's in Budapest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorindaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband & I (from Hong Kong) stayed 2 nites there just 2 weeks ago. A very convenience location to the romance fairy tales sightseeing spots: Fisherman's Bastion(just 2mins walk) and the famous Matthias Church, Buda Castle. We enjoyed the day + night view of Fisherman's Bastion very very much (attached wz a photo view from my pillow). The innkeeper Viktor is very friendly, helpful and attentive. He prepared a simple but nice with warm eggs continental breakfast for every guest every morning at the cosy restaurant. Though the pension is not big but clean & tidy. A cosy and value for money B&B highly recommended.

Room Tip: choose rooms facing Fisherman's Bastion if you like fairy tales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,183 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#29 of 334 in Budapest
924 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,788 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Mango Aparthotel and Spa
Mango Aparthotel and Spa
#8 of 192 in Budapest
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budavar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budavar Bed & Breakfast

Property: Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Address: Szabo Ilonka utca 15., Budapest 1015, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budavar Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budavar Bed & Breakfast resides in the heart of Budapest in the World Heritage Site historic Castle Hill District of the Buda side of the city. You stay several footsteps away from Fishermen's Bastion and Matthias Church. You can reach the business and entertainment district of Pest in a few minutes. Rooms feature wonderful panoramic view and are equipped with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budavar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing