We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 190 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My stay for 4 nights was most enjoyable. Viktor is a kind and attentive host, who speaks good English and German. The room on the roadside is large, with a balcony, which is a great asset when the nights are warm. A bit old-fashioned and at times a bit noisy (cars) until about 23.00, but that didn't bother me. Simple but good breakfast, relaxed atmosphere, and literally steps away from the Matthiaschurch, and 10 min from the metro. This is excellent value for money!

Room Tip: You can ask for a room on the streetside with balcony, or on the Danube side with on the 2nd or 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Viktor provided my brother and I with fantastic hospitality! The place is spotless and very well situated in a quieter part of the city and very easily accessible via the subway. We ultimately chose the place based on the overwhelmingly good reviews and we were pleased to discover that the good reviews were well founded. Glad to add to Viktor's good reputation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the friendly welcome to the friendly farewell, everything was perfect. Great location on a quite street, with a nice view against the Parliament. Clean and comfort rooms. Easy access to many main attractions, 10 - 15 minutes walking distance. Our host Victor was very helpful, shared his experience in many way. We had 5 fantastic days!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a lovely Pension, in a quiet position beneath the castle walls and therefore close to the beautiful Buda hill town, but close enough also to the buzz of the Danube and Pest. Viktor was very very welcoming and helpful, and we had a large room with a balcony looking up onto the castle hill. A good breakfast was taken on a balcony looking towards Pest. A great place to stay in a truly great city: highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a room for 3 nights at budavar pension, which is pretty well situated in the heart of Buda and close to the metro to reach Pest. Many thanks to the owner Victor for the warm welcome, his interesting advices and the room high quality! We recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Pros
- location: the pension is right under Fisherman's Bastions and the Old City, in a quiet residential area with gardens and historical buildings; just 5 mins walk from metro and bus stops and from the Danube
- room: we had a lovely double bedroom on the last floor, with windows in the roof overlooking the city, the view was absolutely stunning; the room and the bathroom (ensuite) were quite clean and the heating was perfect (-7°C outside, but nice and warm inside)
- breakfast: not a huge breakfast, but sufficient (bread, butter, jam, milk, tea, coffee, hungarian salami, cheese, chocolate) and served in a nice room overlooking the city
- prices: the price was extremely convenient, all the pros considered (we paid 20 euros per night in January)
- the owner Viktor is very welcoming and helpful

Cons
- to go back to the pension after a day of sightseeing, you usually have to go up several flights of stairs (the Buda area is spread on small hills); this wasn't a problem at all for us, but it might be for elderly people

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmengranito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I had a room in Budavar Pension for 6 days, because of a congress nearby. It was really a very nice place to be. Very friendly and warm staff. Clean rooms. From my room (upper floor, city site) I had a terrific view over Pest. (Not every room has this opportunity). Manager was very helpful, shared a lot of information and was friendly. Breakfast and breakfast room were OK.
Moreover, the pension is only 300m away from the castle.... terrific!
This is one the nicest pensions I've visited in the last years. I'm very pleased!!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms on the Pest side have a nice view on the Parliament, the river and some beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 335 in Budapest
4,291 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#30 of 335 in Budapest
968 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#42 of 335 in Budapest
2,805 reviews
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#83 of 335 in Budapest
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budavar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budavar Bed & Breakfast

Address: Szabo Ilonka utca 15., Budapest 1015, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: $47 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Budavar Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budavar Bed & Breakfast resides in the heart of Budapest in the World Heritage Site historic Castle Hill District of the Buda side of the city. You stay several footsteps away from Fishermen's Bastion and Matthias Church. You can reach the business and entertainment district of Pest in a few minutes. Rooms feature wonderful panoramic view and are equipped with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Budavar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing