We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver BC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Our stay at the Budavar Pension couldn't have been better. Very comfortable....large clean rooms with a great breakfast and helpful staff.

The pension's neighbourhood is quiet (our room overlooked the street) yet central...the location is perfect for walking everywhere (about 5 minutes' walk to the Chain Bridge, 10-15 minutes to the palace/castle).

As a travel agent I'm used to looking at properties with a critical eye so I almost felt silly rating so many aspects of this pension as "excellent", but I simply couldn't find anything to fault with the Budavar.

Thanks to Viktor for a being a wonderful host. You and your establishment contributed a lot to our enjoyment of your city, and we'll do our best to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 11trav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    74
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
163
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We give this pension the highest ratings for several reasons. This pension is clean and well-placed on the Buda side near the Castle and overlooking the Beautiful Parliament building on the Pest side of the Danube. There is easy walking to shopping and food stores and easy access into the city center by subway and trains within a five minuter walk. A nice morning breakfast was an everyday event. The owners are such gracious people who answered every question and concern with charm, clarity and suggestions on how our stay would even be better. Now, if this were not enough to decide to stay here, read on. We travel a Lot and the beds Budavar has in their rooms are heavenly! This so often is Not the case. Amazing! The price per night is travel friendly on the finances, too.

Room Tip: First, there is no pool. The Danube side rooms are great for a couple, but if you have a family ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryRayJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

My husband and I and another couple had a great experience at the Budavar Pension. The hotel is very charming -- comfortable, immaculate, plenty of space and all the necessary amenities. Breakfast was delicious and offered a nice variety of items. Viktor -- our host -- could not have been more pleasant and helpful. He assisted us with all our travel and touring needs and offered some great restaurant recommendations. The location is perfect -- within easy walking distance of most sights and public transportation and yet you definitely feel a part of the "old town" residential area. And very quiet at night! Would absolutely recommend the Budavar and would stay there again on a return visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, although some are on the 4th floor which, without an elevator, may be diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlampley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Let me be the first to say that the Budavar exceeded my expectations.

A group of friends and I decided that we wanted to opt for a bed & breakfast for our trip to Budapest (instead of the typical hostel) and found ourselves at Budivar's website. The owner fit us in at the last second (we booked three days before we arrived) and gave us a GREAT price!

When we arrived, Viktor the caretaker showed us to our spacious rooms. We had an entire floor to ourselves complete with a bathroom and washroom!
The proximity of the hotel to not only Castle Hill but the bridge leading to Pest is quite convenient, plus its a stones-throw away from a metro stop.

The provided breakfast is simple but effective (and included in your price!) The turn-down service was very tidy and thorough. Viktor was not only welcoming, but also helped our group when we decided to do a little late-night food delivery.

Overall, I'd say this establishment enhanced our experience. I'd highly recommend it to my friends and family, or anyone looking to travel to Budapest.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Viktor was extremely pleasant and helpful, making us feel right at home and smilingly answering the countless questions I hit him with. The location was steps away from the magnificent Buda Castle and directly across from a nice stand of trees (we had the 2nd floor room on the street side.) A quiet 10 minute walk down the old cobbled road to the user friendly metro or a 20 minute walk to the Chain Bridge to take you over to the Pest side, it was in a truly convenient residential area. The breakfast room looked out to the Parliament building to make for a great start to the day. Overall, highly recommended as a great place in a great city!!

Room Tip: The room looking out to the Parliament building sounds great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had an excellent time in Budavar Pension. The rooms were very spacious, and very clean. The beds are very comfortable, and breakfast was good. The area is quiet at night, so we slept very well. The pension was located ideally to attend a conference in the Hilton, and to visit the Buda Castle. Viktor was very friendly and helpful (he repared our baby stroller for us!). So we would highly recommend this pension!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eef T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Great location in Buda just steps below St. Matthias Church and only a few steps more away from the bank, grocery store, metro stop & river bank. Easy walk across to Pest. Victor the host is very helpful (arranged airport p/u for us, too); breakfast is plentiful; our room had a fantastic balconey view across the river to Parliament. Stay here -- you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: ask for a river view, sunny mornings & cool afternoons away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
4,132 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,735 reviews
District I / Buda
B & B Bellevue Budapest
B & B Bellevue Budapest
#9 of 191 in Budapest
442 reviews
District V / Inner City
Butterfly Home B&B
Butterfly Home B&B
#4 of 191 in Budapest
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budavar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budavar Bed & Breakfast

Property: Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Address: Szabo Ilonka utca 15., Budapest 1015, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budavar Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budavar Bed & Breakfast resides in the heart of Budapest in the World Heritage Site historic Castle Hill District of the Buda side of the city. You stay several footsteps away from Fishermen's Bastion and Matthias Church. You can reach the business and entertainment district of Pest in a few minutes. Rooms feature wonderful panoramic view and are equipped with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budavar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing