We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lavender Circus Hostel
Ranked #17 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, comfortable and friendly. Despite its location on a main road, nice and quiet as well. Excellent central location and right next to tram lines and a subway station. Excellent value for money. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knobjunior1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Lavender Circus Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 261 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

I cannot express how happy I felt staying at the hostel, it was really beyond my expectations! the decoration, location and the staff make you feel so comfortable that you really wish to come back in the future. Despite I came with a big luggage and there are lots of stairs, the place is totally worth it. It is very well located with fair prices and the environment is extremely lovely. I stayed in a double private room and shared bathrooms and kitchen and I totally loved it, everything was easy, secure and nice. Staff members are very kind, the day I arrived they even made dinner for all the guests and we tried some of the typical drinks and food of Hungary. It is certainly a very special place, do not hesitate to stay here if you ever come to Budapest!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After word of mouth had its way, my friend and I would up in snowing, freezing Budapest quite late looking for Lavender CIrcus. Located in an apartment building opposite the museum it isn't well advertised, and once you make it up the three large flights of stairs you really are in for a treat.
Apart from the mix of furniture and bric-a-brac - including two fish tanks in the bathrooms - the main drawcard to Lavender Circus is how friendly it is. Upon check in, you are greeted with a welcome drink (local spirits or wine) and a briefing of what there is to do in Budapest and anything else you may require. The rooms are great too, not many hostels have me waking up to an elephant tapestry.
This is the kind of place that you want to hang around as much as see the city - so much so i booked two extra nights. Great for socialising with other guests, especially since the wine is 'help yourself'. I will say this isn't a hotel as such (shared bathrooms) but its so much more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilHootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you want a hostel that is totally different from all those hostel chains, choose this. Excellent location, original decoration and super-friendly staff. Will choose this one again. Had a double room on the road side and had no problems sleeping.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiiBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Cracking hostel, one of the very best, excellent location, super friendly & helpfull staff, do get a Budapest card or travel card as soon as you arrive in Budapest as its a big city and you will need to use the transport system and they check for ticket regularly. easy to get back to the airport no Taxis required.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The second we arrived at Lavender, we were greeted by very friendly staff and a stiff drink of palinka. The common room is decked out more like a funky little cafe. Our room was HUGE. Queen size bed, our own bathroom and own kitchen. Its in a great location, right near Astoria station and the museum. We wanted to stay longer, but all rooms were booked so the staff did all they could to find us accommodation elsewhere. Even invited us to Pancake Friday after we'd checked out!
For the price we paid, we were really happy. If you're after a chilled out hostel run by great locals opposed to a party hostel, then Lavender is for you.

Room Tip: Double room with private bathroom also comes with your own private kitchen. Its like your own apartm...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights after 2 nights in s party hostel. This hostel is absolutely gorgeous and so homely, I found myself jealous of the people working there. It's decorated with lots of lovely bohemian trinkets and antiques and always had great music playing. When we arrived the girl showed us some great bars and restaurants on a map and was really welcoming. It's not a big party hostel with organised nights out but it's so relaxing and chilled out here. So lovely for couples!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 332 in Budapest
4,826 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#62 of 332 in Budapest
1,530 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 332 in Budapest
720 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Rum Budapest
Hotel Rum Budapest
#14 of 332 in Budapest
351 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 666 in Budapest
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Circus Hostel

Address: Muzeum koerut 37., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $35 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lavender Circus is a vintage, quiet apartment like place in the city center . A cozy,special atmosphere is waiting for you in a historical building from the end of the 19th century.In our hostel there are several kind of double bed and dormitory rooms available. The staff is ready to help you 24/7. We are specialized in 2 bed private rooms, en-suites and apartments.You can enjoy your privacy but you're also welcomed in the community room to meet other guests any time. Free WiFi connection is available in all of the rooms and the entire hostel.All of the rooms has an own, individual character designed by graphic designers, painters and sculptors. And you can enjoy the drawn vision of the owner on the walls. If you want, you can cook something in the kitchen. In our lounge there is always free coffee and tea as well and we organize Hungarian dinner parties where guests can try Hungarian palinka or local wine and learn how to prepare traditional dishes. Bedrooms and community rooms are non-smoking!There is a comfortable special separated smoking area. Every private room can be locked safely. Earliest check-in is at 9 a.M. Please inform us about your arrival time. -Free city tour every day -Free map here -Free luggage storage We are looking forward to see you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lavender Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Circus Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing