We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky. Great location. Lovely staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lavender Circus Hostel
Ranked #24 of 639 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quirky. Great location. Lovely staff.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Lily gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived and some great recommendations (ask her about the ruin bars!). Our room was the one with the makeshift mezzanine bed... not quite what we were expecting and good fun (could be a problem if you've had a few too many beers!). I have to say that I had slightly higher expectations for the quality of room after seeing the photos on hostelworld and their own website. All in all a good stay in a centrally located hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    56
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
140
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We chose to stay at Lavender Circus based on past positive reviews. Unfortunately, the facility did not live up to our expectations.

Pros:

The location was excellent, within easy walking distance to major tourist sites on both the Pest and Buda sides of the river. We were also impressed by the warm greeting from the staff and their helpful recommendations regarding restaurants, baths, clubs, and shops. The building in which the hostel is housed is incredible as well - a beautiful heritage building with an open courtyard in the middle. Security was excellent - perhaps even a bit excessive - with multiple locks, gates, and keyfobs for each door.

Cons:

The windows of the flat in which we stayed (2nd floor, below the main hostel reception) opened to the courtyard, which made for a very noisy experience when guests came in and out. It was particularly disruptive at night, and since the flat was not airconditioned, keeping the windows closed was not ideal. The "bedroom" of the flat was not as depicted on the website - it was essentially two single mattresses laid on the floor of a cramped alcove, reached by a wooden ladder. The flat had a full kitchen but gave off a feeling of uncleanliness - enough so that we wouldn't have felt comfortable cooking there. The bathroom, though private. also gave off a feeling of being unclean - the floors were worn and dirty, there was no shower curtain, and we found spiders and small flying bugs in the bathroom upon check-in. As the flat is considered private, no one came in to clean the bathroom or the kitchen during our three night stay - this could become quite gross if staying longer.

Overall, while I suspect the hostel part of Lavender Circus is fine, for couples or families staying in the private flat, there is better value to be found elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMReviewer1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

A great location, 10minutes walking distance from everything you want to see & the very cool Jewish Quarter. Wonderful staff who couldn't of helped us enough, answering all our questions and giving us all the info we needed.
A cool vibe to a fun and quirky Hostel, you must stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

First of all this is a hostel that makes u feel at home, as it proclaimes. Some rooms, less people is more quality. The staff is suberb, alternative young people and really helpfull. This hostel gives u a taste of hungarina originality and creativity as you can in all the details that decorate the flat and rooms. Asked for a double room, with bathroom apart, but since there's very few rooms, was like a private bathroom just next to the room. The rooms are super hugeeeee and it's common to feet more than 2 people in there, so gives u very much sense of freedom and confort inside it. Have to praise the originality of the decoration and how easy was to stay there for 3 nights. Really pleasant, was the best hostel I've been so far. Miss it! Would definitly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Really friendly and helpful staff. We were given a shot of local liqueur and some home-baked apricot biscuits on our arrival :-) Hostel is really quirky and bohemian. Spacious, clean rooms. Very secure - lock to door of building, to entrance to hostel and to the section our room was in and to our room! Location is excellent, right opposite the national museum and within easy walking distance to 2 metro stations. The only possible drawback is that the kitchen is very small and not greatly equipped. We didn't need to use so it wasn't a disadvantage to us, it but if you are planning on doing your own cooking, it's probably not the best choice in Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactuschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
214 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was really a great hostel. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room we booked looked out over the National Museum. It had a small kitchen and a fridge. The room was the largest I've encoutered in any hostel and the decoration was great.
Really great accessibility, stone throw away from the metro and walking distance from the market.

Room Tip: You will have to carry your luggage up two flights, so better not have the large suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimmetje_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our stay at Lavender Circus was amazing! We booked our own apartment - it was really spacious, quirky and overlooked the beautiful museum building. Julia was so helpful and (after a shot of Palinka) told us where to go and how to get around - all spot on recommendations. Really great value for money. If you in Budapest for 2 days or more I would highly recommend a Budapest card which covers all of your public transport and free or discounted entry in baths, museums and quite a few restaurants - very convenient instead of having to validate tickets on the trains.

Room Tip: We had a very large room with it's own en-suite and full kitchen. Only downside was the window i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#40 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#65 of 333 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 639 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 639 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#28 of 639 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Circus Hostel

Property: Lavender Circus Hostel
Address: Muzeum koerut 37., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 639 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lavender Circus is a vintage, quiet apartment like place in the city center . A cozy,special atmosphere is waiting for you in a historical building from the end of the 19th century.In our hostel there are several kind of double bed and dormitory rooms available. The staff is ready to help you 24/7. We are specialized in 2 bed private rooms, en-suites and apartments.You can enjoy your privacy but you're also welcomed in the community room to meet other guests any time. Free WiFi connection is available in all of the rooms and the entire hostel.All of the rooms has an own, individual character designed by graphic designers, painters and sculptors. And you can enjoy the drawn vision of the owner on the walls. If you want, you can cook something in the kitchen. In our lounge there is always free coffee and tea as well and we organize Hungarian dinner parties where guests can try Hungarian palinka or local wine and learn how to prepare traditional dishes. Bedrooms and community rooms are non-smoking!There is a comfortable special separated smoking area. Every private room can be locked safely. Earliest check-in is at 9 a.M. Please inform us about your arrival time. -Free city tour every day -Free map here -Free luggage storage We are looking forward to see you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lavender Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Circus Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing