We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel with huge rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lavender Circus Hostel
Ranked #22 of 674 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Their double ensuite are enormous, really good value for money. Can walk almost everywhere. Nice staff though could have been a bit more knowledgeable. No printer here (we were hoping to print our airline tickets). Also, wifi barely reached the downstairs rooms, which are the double rooms, and it would have been nice to have a TV. Definitely recommend it despite these shortcomings.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed at Lavender Circus recently for two nights with my partner. The hostel was centrally located, clean, and nicely decorated with funky antiques. But most importantly, the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help us plan our time in Budapest. A staff member sat down with us for half an hour and gave us detailed suggestions which catered to our specific interests and tastes. I have never met friendlier hostel staff -- they really made our trip great, especially Dori, who we had the pleasure to meet during our stay! I would recommend this hostel to everyone, with one small caveat -- there is no lift, and three flights of stairs to climb to the top, something to keep in mind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNamura2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The front of this hostel looked ridiculously dodgy however this does not represent what was inside or the service provided so you should not let this put you off! When we arrived we had had experienced a long day of trains and travelling and being greeted with a beverage and welcomed to sit down was perfect! During this, the manager ran through with us what it was we wanted to get out of being in Budapest and then provided us with information on what we should do and places we could go to achieve that. Having stayed in previous hostels, we never received this level of service and had no idea how helpful it was.

The decor was very arty and personalisation on every wall making it feel very welcoming. Shared bathrooms therefore did not seem as daunting. Internet was available.

The manager shared with us some great advice on where to go for food to experience Budapest life, not that I can remember where it was now but it didnt cease to impress us. I would definitely recommend a trip to the baths and also to the little island in the middle of the river separating Buda and Pest as this was great on a glorious summer day!

Oh and we also decided to extend our stay, it was that good!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hostel and the staff are amazing! I loved it here, every minute! They were extremely helpful, and even made us dinner one night! Our double room was extremely clean and cute! The bathrooms were a little dark, but clean as well and plenty of hot water. There was a very nice community feel here, but we also got as much privacy as we wanted. If you are ever in Budapest, stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Me and my friend stayed in the apartment here for 3 nights and for the price it was perfect for our stay. On arrival we were welcomed with a shot of the local spirit and a member of staff went over a guide map with us highlighting places we might want to see. All the staff we met were really friendly and happy to help.
The decoration throughout is really quirky and original but feels really homely at the same time. The layout is unusual as it is on 3 floors all separated with iron gates and looking down onto a courtyard below.The location of the hostel is pretty good too as its right near a metro station and only took about half an hour on public transport from the airport. Loads of nice bars, cafes and restaurants nearby too.
The downsides to the stay was the apartment was quite cold as there is an unusual heater in there which takes a few hours to heat up. Also the kitchen in the apartment was quite minimal as no kettle, toaster or hot water from kitchen tap.
Despite this I would recommend it for a short stay in Budapest as it is the perfect base to explore the city and really good for the price. If you go for home comforts though this may not be for you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank womblette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just stayed for a couple of nights at the hostel and had a great time. Very helpful staff and we had a lovely little apartment to ourselves which was a boost. Great location close to lots of interesting things to do and nice bohemian feel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beeblebrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed in Budapest for three nights on a roundtrip from London and I booked on the basis of the 360 degree video and previous recommendations. I couldn't have been more delighted. We paid for a private double and had a proper one room apartment with full kitchen and lovely living space plus own front door one floor down from the hostel itself. The apartment is very spacious and well appointed, with plenty of cooking equipment (although we ate out all the time).

We spoke to the staff over email before we arrived to sort out a parking space nearby (we chose the nearest one, about five mins walk from the building, although this was expensive - Suzie, the hostel staff, was able to recommend a cheaper place with security at a short distance away if cost is more important than convenience).

We were greeted on arrival with complimentary Palinka (plum brandy) and recommendations for sightseeing and places to eat and drink, all of which worked out great. None of the major sights are more than a short walk away so ideally located.

The major bonus about staying here as a couple travelling was the self-contained nature of the apartment, but with the friendly and welcoming communal space available if we wanted. I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this really is up there as the best. The only downside was a walk upstairs with luggage and no lift, so not ideal if you have mobility problems - but if not, the steps are shallow and the welcome that awaits is well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment on the floor below the main hostel, it really is amazing and worth the small e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 674 in Budapest
965 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 674 in Budapest
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 674 in Budapest
763 reviews
Terézváros
Penthouse Privates
Penthouse Privates
#33 of 674 in Budapest
131 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#25 of 674 in Budapest
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Circus Hostel

Address: Muzeum koerut 37., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 674 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $39 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lavender Circus is a vintage, quiet apartment like place in the city center . A cozy,special atmosphere is waiting for you in a historical building from the end of the 19th century.In our hostel there are several kind of double bed and dormitory rooms available. The staff is ready to help you 24/7. We are specialized in 2 bed private rooms, en-suites and apartments.You can enjoy your privacy but you're also welcomed in the community room to meet other guests any time. Free WiFi connection is available in all of the rooms and the entire hostel.All of the rooms has an own, individual character designed by graphic designers, painters and sculptors. And you can enjoy the drawn vision of the owner on the walls. If you want, you can cook something in the kitchen. In our lounge there is always free coffee and tea as well and we organize Hungarian dinner parties where guests can try Hungarian palinka or local wine and learn how to prepare traditional dishes. Bedrooms and community rooms are non-smoking!There is a comfortable special separated smoking area. Every private room can be locked safely. Earliest check-in is at 9 a.M. Please inform us about your arrival time. -Free city tour every day -Free map here -Free luggage storage We are looking forward to see you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lavender Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Circus Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing