We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and fun - highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lavender Circus Hostel
Ranked #23 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

When a friend of a friend recommended that I try out Lavender Circus for my recent long weekend in Budapest I don't mind admitting I had my reservations. Essentially it's a hostel with a couple of apartments for people wanting a bit more than a basic hostel room to stay in. Since we were only going away for a few days and didn't want to spend too much money I gave in and booked an apartment within the hostel with ensuite facilities.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a really friendly girl who immediately made us feel at home and gave us with shots of Palinka (a local spirit) as a welcome (beware - it's very strong!). She then gave us an overview of the top places to visit, drink, eat, etc (not just touristy places either), and armed us with some basic words and phrases to help us get by. I've stayed in some expensive hotels in my life but this was the best welcome I've ever received. She then took us to our room which turned out to be a huge double room with high ceilings and a view of the national museum, an ensuite shower room and to our surprise, a kitchen area. This is what makes Lavender Circus so great - you get a massive apartment for less than the cost of a hotel room and you can even pretend you're not staying at a hostel because it's self contained.

The whole place is really bohemian and quirkily laid out and decorated (think shabby chic), totally individual with so much character and 100 times more personality than any generic hotel room you can find online. It's only a 15 minute walk from most of Budapest's main attractions (meaning you don't need to us public transport too much) and just a stones throw from a host of cool bars and restaurants.

Basically this place rocks and is definitely worth considering for a short stay in the city. I would advise people to look beyond it's title of 'hostel' and view it as an absolute find, a hidden gem that'll enrich your Budapest experience far more than your bog standard hotels.

(For those just wanting a hostel it's also good as the communal facilities are great and theres lots of other travellers to hang out with.)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james_chairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    56
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
138
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2011. We were immediately welcomed by friendly staff with free homemade wine and a chat about the city, where to go, as well as marking places on a map for us. They also mentioned they'd be cooking a traditional Hungarian meal that night and invited us to attend. We ended up going and it was a great way to meet other hostel dwellers and make friends. We noted that there were a diverse group of people staying there, from many different places, however a lot of them were repeat customers!! Always a good sign :) The staff seemed like they were having just as much fun as us that night!! They always left out the homemade wine and encouraged us to have some whenever we'd like. The location was across from the national art museum, and we could walk to Great Market Hall (check it out, a unique mix of souvenirs and food items - get some saffron at very low prices!). The room was comfortable, kind of a feel like staying at your grandmother's place. Dim lighting in the room but very spacious. Had a bathroom right outside but walked to another hallway to take showers (nice hot water too!). Would recommend. One thing to note - you have to bring your luggage up about 5 flights of stairs. We did not realize this before, so I think it is worth mentioning. Would stay here again and recommend to other travellers! (Oh and check out the Szechenyi baths in Budapest, amazing experience!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_And_Tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Lavender Circus was the best part of my trip to Budapest. They were always willing to help find things to do, offered lots of recommendations on restaurants and bars, and were generally welcoming and friendly all the time. Without their guidance, I would not have been able to experience as much of Budapest as I did. Additionally, the hostel is very well-located and is within walking distance to all of the major sites of Budapest. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Budapest!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We really liked this hostel - mainly because of it's quirkiness and how amazingly helpful the staff were. The first thing they did when we walked through the door was to offer tea, whip out a map and sit down with us and chat about what we wanted to do and where to go... The room we had ws actually an apartment on the floor below (this building is so old and beautiful) which had one crazy (but warm) heating system and a view over the National Museum in the snow. Overall... It was clean and warm and full of character. Lovely manager Andrea also cooked us all a yummy Hungarian meal one night and wouldn't let us help or pay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed at Lavender Circus for four nights in December/January 2011 and I can honestly say it was one of the best places I've ever stayed in. Firstly, the location is great - beside a metro station and right across the road from the National Museum in Budapest. The building itself is beautiful and full of character and (for me at least) the walk up the flights of stairs to the hostel only added to the carm!

When we arrived, we were treated to a glass of Hungarian wine and given a map on which the wonderfully helpful staff pointed out some of the main tourist spots in the city (all free of charge). They also directed us to the best bars, cafes and restaurants the area.

We stayed in a private ensuite double room which was actually a whole apartment with its own kitchen (where we could prepare breakfast for ourselves). Again, like the common room and entrance to the hostel, the room was full of character and quirky and a pleasure to stay in.

This is a beautiful place with bags of character and although I wouldn't recommend it for somebody looking for modern, minimalistic furnishings, it is the perfect place for anybody looking for lots of character and more than just somewhere to sleep.

We had a fantastic time in Lavender Circus and I would definitely return any time. The staff (Andreas and Agnes) were just fantastic and extremely helpful, friendly and professional. All in all, this was a perfect hostel experience and I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aidansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmansam
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Didn't actually get to stay here, there was a problem with a pipe in the room we were meant to stay in. The staff were very helpful, sorted us out with a room in a sister hostel (with discount) and paid for a cab to get us there. The staff were especially helpful and told us loads of cool places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

Lavender Circus is a fantastic hostel and we thoroughly enjoyed our FAR too short stay there. Fantastic base to see an amazing city - very affordable and with a ton of character. Owner clearly has amazing personality. Must be experienced if you are of an alternative/arty persuasion.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kudra_karma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#66 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#28 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Avenue Hostel
#27 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Circus Hostel

Property: Lavender Circus Hostel
Address: Muzeum koerut 37., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lavender Circus is a vintage, quiet apartment like place in the city center . A cozy,special atmosphere is waiting for you in a historical building from the end of the 19th century.In our hostel there are several kind of double bed and dormitory rooms available. The staff is ready to help you 24/7. We are specialized in 2 bed private rooms, en-suites and apartments.You can enjoy your privacy but you're also welcomed in the community room to meet other guests any time. Free WiFi connection is available in all of the rooms and the entire hostel.All of the rooms has an own, individual character designed by graphic designers, painters and sculptors. And you can enjoy the drawn vision of the owner on the walls. If you want, you can cook something in the kitchen. In our lounge there is always free coffee and tea as well and we organize Hungarian dinner parties where guests can try Hungarian palinka or local wine and learn how to prepare traditional dishes. Bedrooms and community rooms are non-smoking!There is a comfortable special separated smoking area. Every private room can be locked safely. Earliest check-in is at 9 a.M. Please inform us about your arrival time. -Free city tour every day -Free map here -Free luggage storage We are looking forward to see you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Lavender Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Circus Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing