We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lavender Circus Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
193
70
14
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
70
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsnational museumno liftshared bathroomgreat locationan en suite roomapartment was greatbring earplugsjewish quartermetro stationon arrivalno air conkalvin terlove budapestvisit budapest againcommon areasruin bars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 281 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Lavender Circus was the best part of my trip to Budapest. They were always willing to help find things to do, offered lots of recommendations on restaurants and bars, and were generally welcoming and friendly all the time. Without their guidance, I would not have been able to experience as much of Budapest as I did. Additionally, the hostel is very well-located and is within walking distance to all of the major sites of Budapest. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Budapest!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We really liked this hostel - mainly because of it's quirkiness and how amazingly helpful the staff were. The first thing they did when we walked through the door was to offer tea, whip out a map and sit down with us and chat about what we wanted to do and where to go... The room we had ws actually an apartment on the floor below (this building is so old and beautiful) which had one crazy (but warm) heating system and a view over the National Museum in the snow. Overall... It was clean and warm and full of character. Lovely manager Andrea also cooked us all a yummy Hungarian meal one night and wouldn't let us help or pay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed at Lavender Circus for four nights in December/January 2011 and I can honestly say it was one of the best places I've ever stayed in. Firstly, the location is great - beside a metro station and right across the road from the National Museum in Budapest. The building itself is beautiful and full of character and (for me at least) the walk up the flights of stairs to the hostel only added to the carm!

When we arrived, we were treated to a glass of Hungarian wine and given a map on which the wonderfully helpful staff pointed out some of the main tourist spots in the city (all free of charge). They also directed us to the best bars, cafes and restaurants the area.

We stayed in a private ensuite double room which was actually a whole apartment with its own kitchen (where we could prepare breakfast for ourselves). Again, like the common room and entrance to the hostel, the room was full of character and quirky and a pleasure to stay in.

This is a beautiful place with bags of character and although I wouldn't recommend it for somebody looking for modern, minimalistic furnishings, it is the perfect place for anybody looking for lots of character and more than just somewhere to sleep.

We had a fantastic time in Lavender Circus and I would definitely return any time. The staff (Andreas and Agnes) were just fantastic and extremely helpful, friendly and professional. All in all, this was a perfect hostel experience and I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Didn't actually get to stay here, there was a problem with a pipe in the room we were meant to stay in. The staff were very helpful, sorted us out with a room in a sister hostel (with discount) and paid for a cab to get us there. The staff were especially helpful and told us loads of cool places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Lavender Circus is a fantastic hostel and we thoroughly enjoyed our FAR too short stay there. Fantastic base to see an amazing city - very affordable and with a ton of character. Owner clearly has amazing personality. Must be experienced if you are of an alternative/arty persuasion.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kudra_karma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews