We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel like Budapest - just great!”
Review of Downtown Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Downtown Oasis
Ranked #79 of 670 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent 4 days in June 2012 in Budapest and stayed at the Downtown Oasis.

This place is in the middle of the city so you can do sightseeing very easy and because it is so close to the Jewish quarter it is fantastic for going out at night! :-)

The hostel is a place where you can feel that the people who work there love this place and take care very much for it! We met Judit, a hostelworker, there and she was very lovely and we felt a lot of hospitality. Also we loved the style of the hostel. Very stylish-oldfashioned, clean and very familiar.

So at least the hostel and Judit have a great part in it that we loved Budapest so much!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sra_Sylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hostel is really unique! It's in the center of Budapest, it's little and cosy and very clean. Nice rooms and bathroom too. The manager is very kind and helpfull if you don't know the city.
Everything of Budapest you can do from this place by walking if you want. Nereby you can rent bicycles and kind of other things. It's even easy to park your car nereby.
It's also in front of the jewish neigbourhood, which is really fantastic and not expensive, especially for young people it's amazing.
Very nice city and very nice hostel, we will go back there.
Annick & Frank Heyndrickx

Room Tip: Room in the back is very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A perfect place to stay at in the middle of Budapest! Location was great, very close to the metro and a lot to do just outside the door. I really liked that it was just like a normal apartment. You could make dinner in the kitchen or crawl up in the sofa and watch a dvd. Everything is very clean and the rooms are nice. We felt like home right away. I'm sure we will bee coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoWi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I've visited Budapest several times and have now stayed at the Downtown Oasis on three occasions. I'm always impressed by how well presented & maintained the hostel is. It's comfortable, spotlessly clean, spacious and full of character. The rooms are sizeable and airy, with large windows giving plenty of light. The communal areas are well appointed - a large kitchen with all appliances, comfortable sofas in the living room, TV & DVD collection,free internet access - even a balcony overlooking the newly renovated tree-lined avenue. The bathroom(s) are clean and well maintained. It's a few minutes walk to the city centre and Danube, close to plenty of sights and although well positioned for public transport links it's not a party place. Instead it's perfect for a relaxed getaway and those really wanting to get to know the city and the people.
Judit always greets me with a smile and warm welcome, and she's happy to advise on places to visit, good restaurants and local bars. This hostel offers great quality and value for money - I can't recommend this place highly enough. In fact, perhaps I should keep this little gem to myself.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My rating as "average" is due to a very simple flaw: your comfort in this property depends not only on the manager, but also on the other guests you share the apartment with. While the location and the facilities were fantastic (and very reasonably priced), and the manager was very friendly and helpful, she was able to be there only during the day. At night, we were alone. This is just fine when the guests of other rooms are civilised people, but we unfortunately found horribly noisy and rude people at the kitchen whenever we got in the apartment. They were drunk and irrespectful and woke us up at 3:00 or 5:00 the first night we spent there... and since they had been there for a while, they had "taken over" the living room too. I personally had to talk to them and ask them to be reasonable ("your voice is loud in the kitchen! please go chat in your rooms!)... Very annoying. The second night, they tried a little bit harder to be quieter, but the noise persisted until late (say, 1 am or so). All of this implies that rooms were poorly isolated and that the management has no control over rule-breaking guests... Next time in Budapest (a beautiful, incredible city) I may not choose this place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaboSantiago_Chile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownoasis, Manager at Downtown Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thanks for your review. We find it important to comment on some of the points as we think they describe Downtown Oasis Hostel in a somewhat distorted way. As it can be read on all the booking websites, our hostel is SMALL and NOT A PARTY PLACE, that is, we are looking forward to welcoming visitors like you, who prefer to stay in a quiet place and sleep during the night. However, we - as probably all the other accommodation owners - don't have a 100% control over the guests who choose our hostel and book. Unfortunately we had to deal with 3 problematic guests while you were also staying with us, which happens rarely. As we did it when you were here, we do apologise for the inconvenience of the noise.
We'd also like to point out that despite the fact that we don't have a traditional 24 hour reception - as it's also stated on all the booking websites - we are on call and available 24 hours a day to sort any issues if necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Perfect. Location, hostess, rooms, price. Charming, large, clean rooms with character. I was traveling solo but Judit gave me a fabulous price on the 4 bed room with updated private bathroom. Great kitchen (market across the street) and common area (free internet) with sunny balconey, Metro and buses minutes away. Located on a treed boulevard. Met other travelers younger and older. Not a noisey party house. Class on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellevuebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Downtown Oasis was such an awesome place to stay. It is located in the center of Budapest downtown, 2 minutes walk from the main metro and within walking distance to several of the sights There are a lot of great restaurants, cafes and clubs/pubs nearby, so you don't have to go far for a good night out. There is a good kitchen to use in the hostel but food in Budapest is so cheap that I would recommend you try those nice cafes where you can sit outside and have your breakfast right across the Synagogue or under a shady tree in one of those all-pedestrian streets. Nice start to the day!

As the name suggests, it is not one of those party hostels where you meet heaps of people (and cannot sleep at night) so stay here if you are actually looking for a place with a relaxing atmosphere. For us, it was great to return to this quiet oasis after walking around the whole day going from sight to sight.

The rooms and common areas were nicely decorated and they were always kept clean. We never had to wait for the shared bathroom, which was a big plus. Our room was large and sunny with high ceilings and had huge glass doors to our own balcony from which you had great views to the beautiful tree-lined Avenue below (I loved the tram) a big square and the hills in the distance.

Judit, the owner was very friendly and helpful with recommendations (we arrived a little unprepared so it was a trip saver :) You should not leave Budapest without trying one of the public baths!!! We went to the biggest bath in the City Park during the daytime. This is where locals go and you see people playing chess while sitting in the water :) Awesome! We went to the old historic Turkish bath at night, it was open till 4 am, here the younger generation gathered for a relaxing chit-chat kind of night-out. Even better!

Downtown Oasis made our Budapest experience even better. Thanks for the lovely stay, we'll recommend your hostel to all our friends!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
KAROLY Apartment
KAROLY Apartment
#160 of 334 in Budapest
28 reviews
District V / Inner City
Boomerang Hostel and Apartments
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#31 of 670 in Budapest
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Paprika Apartments In City Center
District V / Inner City
Gaia Hostel
Gaia Hostel
#52 of 670 in Budapest
70 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Absolut City Hostel Budapest
Absolut City Hostel Budapest
#386 of 670 in Budapest
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Oasis

Address: Karoly koerut 24 | 3 and 4th Floor, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 670 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $27 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! The hostel is going to open three more BRAND NEW rooms as part of Downtown Oasis Hostel / Apartment. The new property is called Downtown Oasis Ensuites. The rooms, which are equipped with a nice kitchen and a common area, can be found on Level 3 inside the same building. The new property consists of three ensuite rooms, a brand new kitchen and a common area. The most charming hostel in town with an incredible location! Downtown Oasis is a small, homely and beautifully renovated place in the heart of buzzing historic downtown, within walking distance of most of the sights and right in the entertainment quarter.In the heart of Budapest downtown we've created a calm, cozy and intimate atmosphere where after a tiring day of traveling or sightseeing you can relax and really feel at home. We've turned a beautifully renovated classic Budapest apartment into a small hostel so that you, the budget traveler, can enjoy quality accommodation at bargain price, and get a glimpse of Budapest as only locals know it.Please NOTE that the hostel is small with a few private rooms and therefore it's NOT a place where you can meet lots of people and party. However, if you prefer privacy, personal attention, cleanliness and a relaxed atmosphere with a homely touch this place is idyllic for you! To top it all, the hostel is located within walking distance of most of the sights and is surrounded by amazing old buildings, so staying here you can not only see Budapest's history, you can live in it for a while.We are less than five minutes walk away from the famous Vaci street, a fashionable all pedestrian shopping area, and the nightlife and entertainment quarter, packed with trendy pubs, clubs, cafes, fancy restaurants as well as cheap eateries. Only three minutes walk away from the blue, yellow and red metro line stops, night buses, and trams to the Buda side, we provide an ideal base for exploring Budapest's rich past as well as its vibrant multicultural present.Our friendly staff will be happy to assist you with anything you need. We recommend the best places to go out and we can help you to plan the most efficient ways to do your sightseeing.Please note: we don't have a 24 hour reception, which means that we're not in the hostel all day round, so please NOTIFY us about your arrival time.Check-in: 1pm-12 midnight.Check out from rooms: until 11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Downtown Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing