We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Loft Hostel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Loft Hostel Budapest
Ranked #45 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were given a fantastic welcome by Gina where she offered us tea and sat us down with a map of the city and pointed out the places we should visit. We stayed in the 8 bed room which was very clean and spacious. Everyone there seemed to be respectful of each others space and being quiet when they returned to the room after nights out. Gina and Duff who run the hostel organised for everyone to go to a restaurant for local Hungarian food one night which was great for mingling with the other backpackers, although there would be no problem of that anyway as the common room was quite comfy and spacious for everyone to hang out in. The hostel is very central and we could almost walk everywhere, however there is a tube station nearby if you need to get further afield.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The guys, Gina & Duff, who run this hostel, do really great job! They make you feel truely like home in Budapest! Lots of useful info, warmest welcome, friendly dinners with other backpackers. Eventually, all of us felt like we'd been being friends for a long time. Thanks a lot, guys! You're the best!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kozya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've been to a few hostels and this is by far the best one when it comes to atmosphere and great people (both staff and other tourists). It's located in the perfect center and is less than five minutes away from the metro station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeirdDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I loved staying on the rooftop of Budapest! The hostel was nice, very retro and young atmostphere with a good kitchen and good bathrooms.

It was really comfy here, everyone just sitting around in their PJs watching DVDs on cold winter nights.

Good location, good rooms, and overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joniburl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

this was the best hostel I have ever stayed in. i stayed in a 8 bed dorm which was spacious and clean. on arrival Gina and duff are great. I was given a loft made map of Budapest showing me all the tourist stuff plus ATM and supermarket locations etc. i was told whats good etc . on our first night we were taken to dinner by Gina and duff along with other guests which was a warm welcome. most nights were spent with the loft guests and runners as everyone was so much fun! the common area is spacious. wifi is good. kitchen is spacious. the decor is homey and quirky. the location is great with stuff in walking distance and offcourse the metro. the hostel even offers a laundry service of 1000HUF a bag which was great! I loved it. if I ever visit Budapest again ill be staying here :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabokm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Loft Hostel is a great place to stay! Location wise, it is very convenient. I was able to walk to the majority of the sights from the hostel. The parliament was probably the farthest, but it was no more than 20 min, by foot. Otherwise, there are many public transportation options. The staff of the hostel is very kind, and there is always someone around who lives in the hostel with you. It's a rather small hostel, housing maybe 15 guests. Each guest is provided with a large-sized locker in their bedroom. The hostel has 2 bathrooms, which are kept very clean. It also offers washing/drying services for your clothes. I always felt very safe at the hostel; a code was needed for the front door, and it was changed routinely. Lastly, the hostel offered unlimited free tea!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwmax54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Best hostel I stayed at during my travels. The staff were awesome and the atmosphere was great. The rooms were decents size with some double beds. The location was within walking distance of all Budapests sights. Kitchen and common areas were decent which made it really easy to socialize with other guests. We frequently went out with other guests and had some of the best nights of my trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Loft Budapest
The Loft Budapest
#161 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
District V / Inner City
Gaia Hostel
Gaia Hostel
#48 of 651 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Hostel
#25 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#27 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Hostel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Hostel Budapest

Property: The Loft Hostel Budapest
Address: Veres Palne utca 19., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 651 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi backpacker! We are here to welcome you to Budapest and also to invite you to join our community at The Loft--a community that shares with each other, explores together and stays up into the wee hours because there is still more beer in the refrigerator and the conversation is too good to end. One that celebrates the thrill of a new city, new food and new people, but also understands the need for long, glorious, uninterrupted sleep (having spent too many nights in airports to save a euro), never ending hot water and the rejuvenating qualities of a perfect, giant couch. So if you are tired--you sleep. If you are hungry--you eat. And whenever you are ready to go outside and see Budapest, we will not drag you by the wrist to the obvious places, but we will stand beside you and help to navigate the twisting roads, quirky museums, cheap cafes and uniquely-Budapest bars that collectively are the pulse of the city. We are a small space at Loft, but it suits us and our travelers perfectly. We are simply ourselves here, but the music is always on, the kettle is always on, we are happy and most of all? We really hope you will join us. The Staff, The Loft. Our hostel workers are lovers of fine cuisine, and other such things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Loft Hostel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing