We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, luxurius and friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern, luxurius and friendly hotel”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Stayed in the hotel for five nights. The service from the front-desk was very helpful and the staff spoke fluent English. The room where very stylish and modern decorated with plenty of space. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and very above average for an east European hotel. The hotel had free coffee/snacks until 5 PM and there was free internet, both in the lounge area and wireless in all the rooms. There was a gym, which was small, but had the necessary equipment for a workout - afterwards you could use the spa and sauna facilities of the hotel. We enjoyed the stay very much and would definitely recommend the hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thha98af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,850
    705
    73
    7
    2
See reviews for
503
2,800
154
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2009

very nice hotel in budapest where i decided to go for a long weekend in mid july. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor I had high expectations, so I was a bit disappointed on arrival.

I arrived early morning and the room wasn't ready. I was asked to return in two hours. I got back in three when there was another person in the reception and she turned all red on me about their check in times and being full booked, but I guess she just had a bad day. Still didn't make me fell that welcomed.

Got to my room which was very clean and nice. Modern with flat tv and a big bathroom with a shower. The bed was okay, but not the best. I expected a bigger room.

The location is okay, but as I discovered for myself it was a bit far away from the "central" shopping streets and sights. Few museums nearby and the big market place which is a must see in Budapest. Check the Raday utca for some nice restaurants to chose from not far away from the hotel.

The breakfast was lovely. It was pretty crowed on the weekend I stayed, You couldn't really find a place to sit, but the food itself was very good. Nicely plated, many things to choose from from yogurts to cereals, pastry and breads, juices and special coffees. Really loved the the breakfast at Zichy's.

Also relax at the bar in the evening with nice company. The bartender was very nice and You can take the drinks with You to the room if You like. The bartender comes at five, before that You can read some newspapers, drinks water or hot beverages at this bar lounge. There is also a free internet access and computers.

Didn't use the fitness center and the sauna, but it looked really updated and clean.

I did like the hotel and I don't have any complains, but I would probably choose another hotel next time with a more central location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knuttravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

New, beautiful hotel. The staff are young, nice and helpful. The rooms are nice and very clean, they could do with a bit more space though. Very good value for money. Breakfast is fantastic.
Only one, small downside: the parquet on the floor may look good, but if you're not a heavy sleeper and your neighbours aren't sensible enough to keep from messing about across the room at 1 in the morning, no way to sleep unless wearing earplugs...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Location is very good, lots of cafes nearby. Excellent staff (They helped us to get a room equipped with bathtub and also arranged for our laundry to be done in a few hours). Good breakfast. Free water and coffee/tea all day long.
Small parking area. We used the public parking garage instead. The rooms that don't have a view on the street are dark. We changed the room on the second day and got a much better room with tub and street view.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Calistogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Hotel and rooms in General:
+Very clean and comfortable room
+nice size room
+newly refurbished, modern
- bathroom had only got shower and water leaked through the bottom of the shower glass
- air con temperature overridden by hotel in the midnight? We set the temperature at 22dC from when we got into the room in the afternoon. It was the right temperature all the way until at night when we were sleeping. When we looked at the temperature in the morning, it was at 26dC!!

Staff:
+good and helpful staff service
+attentive restaurant and bar staff

Food/drinks:
+nice choice of food and drinks for both breakfast and the cafe/bar
+free snacks and drinks at the coffee area - very relaxing atmosphere

Others:
+free internet access with either your own laptop or their computers above the coffee/relax area.
- We drove to the hotel, finding the hotel is quite difficult even though we have Sat. Nav...
- The alley to go into the car park was narrow. It could only fit through our medium size car with the wing mirrors folded!!
- The car park was small too, so they used car lift to get more spaces for cars. It took a long time to get into the space on the lift and to get out of the car too. It'd be fine if you have a small car only.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolPML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Can't really find even the slightest negative about my 6 night stay at the Palazzo Zichy.

The hotel is very modernly done, yet quite beautiful. Everything worked like a charm: check-in, check-out, hotel bar, breakfast, air-con, wifi.

The rooms are quite small but not so as you couldn't move around, fit your luggage etc. The bathroom on the other hand is quite spacious and you have good room in the shower, around the sink. Didn't hear a squeak from anywhere outside my room during the whole stay.

There are lots of cafes and bars within a radius of couple blocks from the hotel. Maybe it's not that centrally located but the nearest metro station is 10 mins walk away. Still, if you had to find something to complain about that would be it - would be a little bit of walking to pop in during the day.

Overall Palazzo Zichy is GREAT value for your money and definitely a hotel that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at the Palazzo Zichy for four nights in late May.
We used the minibus shuttle from Ferihegy Airpot direct to the hotel which took about 45 minutes - this also collected us for our return journey.
Our first impressions of the Palazzo Zichy were very impressive - from the huge chandeliers visible through the glass entrance doors to the modern lobby area. The staff on the reception desk were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Our room, although not large, had clean modern decor and the bathroom. with its wetroom and glorious shower, was welcome after hours pounding the pavements of Budapest.
Complimentary tea, coffee and snacks in the bar area to the right of reception was available throughout the day and we made sure we headed straight for it as soon as we returned from an afternoon of sightseeing.
Internet access was free and situated up a flight of stairs to the left of the bar - we only realised this on our last day!
The breakfast room was visible from the lobby as it was situated on a floor below behind the reception desk. Light and airy, it did get a little crowded at peak times, however we were extremely lucky and managed to get a table to ourselves every morning. The breakfast itself was superb with a huge choice, and we helped ourselves to fresh fruit to snack on during the day.
The hotel is situated in such a lovely location - in fact after walking for miles each day throughout the city, I cannot think of a nicer area. There were plenty of restaurants close by - Raday Utca is lined with them - and there is a lovely little bar in the corner of the square outside of the hotel. The square did attract some rather odd characters, but they seemed perfectly harmless.
At the time of our trip there seemed to be a lot of building work in between the hotel area and the city centre which meant a lot of walking under scaffolding and along planks.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Budapest and managed to include all of the important sights, including a trip up the Danube to Szentendre - I think I've spelt it correctly.
Please - I would be grateful if anyone could answer the following question......What were the piles of rubbish/furniture/empty boxes/clothes left in piles alongside the streets in the Jewish Quarter. We didn't see them anywhere else in the city and would be really grateful for an answer - see my photo included in the review.
I would highly recommend the Palazzo Zichy above any of the other more expensive hotels in a less characterful location.

Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,954 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing