We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in a lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at the Palazzo Zichy for four nights in late May.
We used the minibus shuttle from Ferihegy Airpot direct to the hotel which took about 45 minutes - this also collected us for our return journey.
Our first impressions of the Palazzo Zichy were very impressive - from the huge chandeliers visible through the glass entrance doors to the modern lobby area. The staff on the reception desk were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Our room, although not large, had clean modern decor and the bathroom. with its wetroom and glorious shower, was welcome after hours pounding the pavements of Budapest.
Complimentary tea, coffee and snacks in the bar area to the right of reception was available throughout the day and we made sure we headed straight for it as soon as we returned from an afternoon of sightseeing.
Internet access was free and situated up a flight of stairs to the left of the bar - we only realised this on our last day!
The breakfast room was visible from the lobby as it was situated on a floor below behind the reception desk. Light and airy, it did get a little crowded at peak times, however we were extremely lucky and managed to get a table to ourselves every morning. The breakfast itself was superb with a huge choice, and we helped ourselves to fresh fruit to snack on during the day.
The hotel is situated in such a lovely location - in fact after walking for miles each day throughout the city, I cannot think of a nicer area. There were plenty of restaurants close by - Raday Utca is lined with them - and there is a lovely little bar in the corner of the square outside of the hotel. The square did attract some rather odd characters, but they seemed perfectly harmless.
At the time of our trip there seemed to be a lot of building work in between the hotel area and the city centre which meant a lot of walking under scaffolding and along planks.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Budapest and managed to include all of the important sights, including a trip up the Danube to Szentendre - I think I've spelt it correctly.
Please - I would be grateful if anyone could answer the following question......What were the piles of rubbish/furniture/empty boxes/clothes left in piles alongside the streets in the Jewish Quarter. We didn't see them anywhere else in the city and would be really grateful for an answer - see my photo included in the review.
I would highly recommend the Palazzo Zichy above any of the other more expensive hotels in a less characterful location.

Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,884 - 3,890 of 5,044 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Zichy for 4 nights in July and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is located minutes from the metro in a lovely neighbourhood. We did not feel that we needed to be any closer to the main tourist area as the public transport system in Budapest is fantastic! It's so easy to get around on the metro, buses, trams and trolley buses!
The renovation of the lovely old building has not resulted in any loss of character for the structure, but the interior is very modern. The resulting hotel is stylish and comfortable, and there has been great attention to detail with the fixtures and fittings. Our room was on the 5th floor and was beautifully appointed and equipped. The freebies that the hotel offers are a welcome added bonus; free use of a safe in the room which fits a laptop, free wifi in every room, free drinks in the bar during the day - this hotel really cares about its guests!
The breakfast was another highlight of the trip as there was plenty on offer for all tastes, all regularly topped up by the observant and efficient staff.
It is the staff who make this hotel really special. Everyone from the desk staff, breakfast room staff, bar staff, chambermaids etc work hard to make sure that all the guests are looked after. I've rarely witnessed such a high level of customer care across a whole establishment. They are a credit to the hotel and great ambassadors for their city and country.
Budapest is a brilliant place to visit, there is so much to do and see it was difficult to decide how we could fit it all in to just 4 days - we could have easily spent a week there. Our highlights were Memento Park, the Children's Railway and wandering around the Citadell.
Come to this hotel - you won't be disappointed if you have the same experience that we had!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid_miss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Great hotel with european-size rooms and fabulous showers. It was disappointing there was no separate bath to relax in after a day walking around the city. However the shower and sauna facilities made up for this.
Entrance is lovely and receptions staff are very approachable and efficient. Breakfasts are comprehensive and completely self service. Internet connection area is good with sufficient PC's and laptops available (the hotel was full and we never had to wait). Complementary coffee is available every day. Bar available also. Although it seems a little strange for a 4 star hotel not to have a restaurant, there are so many good places to eat in Budapest that you really don't need one.

One area needs improvement I think - there is no on site maintenance outside core hours and it was clear during our stay that proactive checking and maintenance could be better. However when we reported problems they were very quick to solve the problems for us. I have reflected this in the rating I have given the rooms.

This hotel is not in the central tourist area, but in the Jewish district. There are however cafe's within walking distance and there are tram and bus services within walking distance. The area around the hotel is quiet and we felt safe walking around the area late at night.

Considering the location and the type of facilities I would not recommend the hotel for families with young children. Most guests whilst we were there tended to be couples between 20 and 40 years.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Being a travel agent for 18 years, I tend to be too picky about where we should stay when we travel abroad.

This hotel was AMAZING!! Great service, really large rooms by European standards, very modern, all amenities. One of the best buffet breakfast that we could have had, an abundance of foods, you name it and they had it.

Hotel is located on the "Pest" side, everyone said that we should have been on the "Buda" side as the "Pest" side is more for the business traveler, however, if you can walk 8-10 minutes to the metro, then THIS is the hotel to stay in as the price is also more than half of what you would pay to stay on the Buda side, given the same amenities.

There is also so much to see and do on the "Pest" side.

We also went to the Geller hotel and had the traditional spa service, everything included, LOTS of things, at a cost of $50 per person...something worth checking into if you want a day of pampering!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Usually in Europe we stayed at hotels in the range of 70 Euro per night, but we paid more for this one due to the great reviews.
The other reviewers are right, this is a great hotel for the price.
Very modern with AC, elevators, decent size room, full breakfast, full-service front desk.
A quiet location not too far from the city centre.
If you walk along the quiet street from the hotel toward the main shopping areas there are some nice inexpensive cafes along the way, far cheaper than the ones in the main tourist areas.
You can buy nice tablecloths and linens in Budapest; try one of the stores a block or 2 off the main drag to get a better deal. They will bargain a little.
A nice side trip is to take the ferry up the Danube and get off at Margaret Island.
We rented one of those 3 person bicycles to see the sights.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We have just returned from a most enjoyable visit to Budapest. We had four nights in the four star Hotel Palazzo Zichy which is reasonably well located on the Pest side of the Danube. The hotel is on six floors but the good lifts provide access for wheel chair users.

Budapest is a big city and most of the main tourist attractions are a fair distance from the hotel. However public transport is cheap and efficient. The nearest metro stations are about ten minutes walk. The useful 4 and 6 tram routes run along Josef Avenue a two minute walk away. If staying for more than a couple of days a 7 day travel pass, useable on all public transport is recommended. We also recommend that on your first day or two you take the name of the hotel and its location when you go out. The streets around the hotel look much the same and "hunt the hotel" can be a time-consuming pastime!

The hotel itself is first class. It is modern and well appointed. All areas of the hotel including the bedrooms and public areas are spotless. Our bedroom, although not large, was very comfortable. The bed was large and comfortable. Additional pillows were provided very promptly on request. Bed linen was changed after two days. The room was equipped with air conditioning (no charge), a safe deposit box (no charge) and a mini-bar. There was also a flat screen television. The choice of TV channels was limited, but you don't visit Budapest to watch TV! The only minor gripe about the room was the absence of a mirror over the dressing table. Make up had to be applied using the mirror on the back of the bedroom door!

The bathroom was well appointed and equipped with a substantial wet area. However over enthusiastic use of the shower turns the whole bathroom into a wet area! There was no bath which would have been nice after a hard day's sightseeing. The bathroom was absolutely spotless and fresh towels and toiletries were supplied daily.

The buffet -style breakfast was taken in the very attractive breakfast room on the lower ground floor. The quality and quantity of the food was excellent. It is difficult to think of anything else that could have been provided. An additional toaster would have been helpful though! The breakfast staff were very efficient and helpful. The breakfast room can get busy particularly around 9am at weekends.

The hotel does not serve any other meals. Complimentary tea, coffee and water are available in the comfortable lounge area until 5pm. Apparently there is a bar area but we never saw it in use.

The hotel has a fitness area and sauna which we didn't use but looked fine.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only exception was the night security guard who was distinctly unhelpful when the fire alarm sounded at 11pm.

All in all this hotel provides excellent value for money. We would certainly use it again if returning to Budapest.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I have to say, we've been all around the world and stayed in many hotels, hostels, B&Bs, etc and this is one of the best we've stayed at. For starters, the value for money is fantastic - we got a junior suite (splurge for it and ask for room 108) for about $200AUD a night, which is about $125 euros. Can't be beat. The service is great, with the staff going out of their way to meet any request we had. The room is spacious (though not so by US standards - but this isn't a Motel 6), the design is modern, and the beds are comfortable. High speed wireless is included, as is breakfast.

For those commenting that the location is not great, consider this: we walked back from the Castle district today and ended up in the uber-touristy area near the Sofitel and Intercontinental on the Danube. Spent $40AUD on a sandwich, soup, and two Cokes. Went out tonight next to the hotel and had 2 plates of superb bruschetta, a plate of tomato/bocconcini, a burger with fries, three 500ml Budweisers (the real kind), and two wines for $39AUD. The hop-on/hop-off bus is 10 mins away, the walk to Heroes Square is 30 mins, 5 mins from the metro, 20 mins from the Danube...

Get a junior suite, ask for room 108, buy a couple beers at the supermarket next door, open the three huge bay windows, and enjoy the smells, sounds, and sights of the city. The church 20 metres outside your window is a great photo op.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,501 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#5 of 336 in Budapest
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#45 of 336 in Budapest
4,558 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 336 in Budapest
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $119 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing