We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Perfect location on a quiet side street situated on a small piazza...away from the noisy more popular tourist boulevards. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the main market pavilion and the river and all other major attractions and is very accessible to the city's public transit options. The staff is beyond the best. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious for what I am used to seeing in Europe. They were all very accommodating, friendly and welcoming. If you're lucky enough, the bartender will give you a lesson on Palinka...any maybe let you taste a few as well. Will definitely stay here again if I find myself in Budapest. Prices were reasonable and the breakfasts were more than satisfying with a wide variety of yummy things.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the piazza!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear „Frank R”,

Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy during your recent holiday in our beautiful capital.

Let me also thank you for your kind words and compliments. Your wonderful feedback about the location, the guestroom, the breakfast selection and our entire Team are highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy!

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,833)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Zichy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,808 - 1,814 of 4,833 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the Formula 1 weekend along with many other fans. The hotel itself is stylish and is an easy walk from the centre of Pest. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very good with a wide selection of different choices. Even our 5 year old picky son found lots to eat. We got in late the first night and ordered 'room service' - as the hotel doesnt have a restaurant the food came from a local one. The quality was good (large portion sizes) and it was nice that they served it in the bar so we were not tucked away in the room. The room itself was comfortable with a nice (albeit hard) bed. It wasnt the biggest room, but was sufficient for the three of us as we didnt spend much time there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Budapest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RA75O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear „RA75O”,

Herewith I would like to thank you for your kind feedback posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel and for recommending us to the travelling community.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us with your family, and we do hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Hotel Palazzo Zichy offers a comfortable, affordable, boutique hotel. Located in a more residential area of Budapest and thus quiet, though it's still within close walking distance of most of the major attractions. The hotel staff are generally helpful and the provided breakfast is one of the best I've ever had at a hotel. The only complaint is the gym could be improved.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Now it has been two times we spend time in this hotel and I can't imagine anything what could be improved. Hotel has a great location, excellent service and comfortable rooms. Breakfast can fill you to be ready for full day either in Budabest or, as we did, race in Hungaroring.

If you are looking for ultimate quality don't miss this place.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank JPPirvola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Rarely does a hotel make you feel as welcome and valued as this one did. Even rarer is a hotel that does make you feel this way without breaking the bank. Hotel Palazzo Zichy was the best decision we made on our last jaunt through central Europe. Location was tucked away from the main roads but still easily accessible and near some nice restaurants. The staff was super friendly. The buffet breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Our room had all of the amenities we needed. This hotel has earned all of its excellent ratings! If you're coming to Budapest, stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. It has a beautiful lobby and free drinks in the afternoon. The staff is lovely and the rooms were quiet although they are on the small size. The breakfast was excellent. This hotel is a great value for the money and is in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danoclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel but despite excellent service from reception there were areas which were disappointing. Our room on a high floor had a pleasant view over rooftops but it was small and it was lacking in storage space. The pillows were rock hard but I was able to get softer ones after one uncomfortable night. The shower room had a bidet which made it a bit cramped but the real minus was the glass doors which had an inch gap where they should have met! The supply of toiletries was sparse and we had to ask for more. With only one comfortable chair this double room was really suitable for a single occupant. The breakfast was excellent but the staff on our first morning were sadly in need of some training. They stood in a group by the kitchen door chatting loudly to each other paying little attention to guests, not greeting them, explaining the beverage system or even clearing away promptly. Later mornings did improve a little but it is an area to be worked on. We did like the free beverage area in the lobby and appreciated the free wifi in rooms. The hotel is well located for restaurants and two supermarkets but the Hop on Hop off bus stop is about 15 minutes away, and the Danube is not within walking distance.

Room Tip: Check the room size before you accept it !!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrueBrit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,203 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,240 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 333 in Budapest
4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $105 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing