We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

excellent staff , modern decor , very relaxing beds , fantastic indian and russian restaurant minutes walks from the hotel , in total we had a great stay here . Loved the breakfast so many varieties ! Tram and Metro line 4 is very close , all together a very convenient stay we had , will be back in august .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,051 - 2,057 of 4,990 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

Nothing to fault here. The staff were welcoming, helpful and willing to organize sight seeing, taxis etc.

Free coffee, tea and water available all day until 5 pm in the small cosy bar. Breakfast choice vast .

The rooms although minimalist hotel style décor, are comfortable and quiet.

For me this is the only place to stay in Budapest. Once we found our bearings we found the location to be convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f00dy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Strikingly modern interior within the façade of a former "palace". Everything works well from the whisper quiet air-conditioning to the shower. But it was a bit stark and modernist for our taste. The absence of comfortable seating in the room was a significant draw back. On the plus side (and more important) was the comfortable bed and the very good night's sleep. Our room (523) was quiet as it overlooked the hotel's interior. The buffet breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Really great hotel, staff were excellent, the room great. The location not bad, a very quiet little square, and only a short stroll to the main city centre, and nearby tube stations. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tezza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent a long weekend here. From the warm welcome as we arrived, to the well appointed room, and the excellent breakfast, this was a great base for our stay in Budapest. There is also a very good little day bar and lounge with free water, coffee, tea and snacks for residents, access to computers, the internet and printer, excellent free wifi and an unfussy, mellow atmosphere. Located in Pest near the national museum, it is well located for walking into the city and to access public transport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsmills55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We arrived by car at the Palazzo Zichy, having arranged parking in their small private lot, attached to the hotel. One of us went in to announce our arrival and a concierge immedaitely came out to guide us in to the parking lot, which was locked and secure. (there is a fee) The parking lot is stacked, with elevated and underground spaces, so staff are needed to get in and out of the lot. We did not need/want access to our car during the stay, but that would be a limiting factor to someone who wanted easy exit and entry.

The checkin/welcome process was quick, friendly and informational. The twin room (twins) was extremely comfortable, with wonderful beds and all the ammenities one could want. Concierge service throughout the stay was excellent.

The included breakfast was fabulous, with a multitude of choices of hot and cold breakfast entrees and a huge variety of fruit, breads,etc. Excellent cofffee (lattee, cappuccino etc.) and a vareity of teas were available. One could not ask for more.

The location was close to transit and there were nice restaurants close by, but it was not central to the main tourists attractions. However, Busapest is an easy city to navigate on foot and by transit, so it was not an issue for us.

The only flaw with the hote was in the bathroom design. The smoked glass doors to the bathroom did not latch and tended to swing in and out , which inhibited privacy a little. Not an ideal situation for many people sharing a room.

That said, I would defnitely go back on my next visit to Budapest, which I hope is soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solaSML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Lovely hotel with great staff and close to everything. Walking distance to Market Hall, metro, Chain Bridge and tram. New hotel with nice and clean rooms. Breakfast was really good too, they have a small gym and free wifi. Alot of restaurants in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank towah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,433 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,524 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#5 of 336 in Budapest
1,503 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 336 in Budapest
7,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $93 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing