We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spot on!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Great staying, good and modern room, staff been helpful, friendly and excellent. High recommend!! Very central location and nice touch with a 10-5pm coffee and tea complimentary!! Garage is for mid car only but very modern too!! Definitely going back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear „Valerio A”,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for recommending our hotel to the travelling community.
I highly appreciate your kind words regarding our great location and our entire staff. It made me also glad to see that you could take advantage of our complimentary Lounge Bar.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again, please do not hesitate to contact us should you plan a next visit to Budapest.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,891
    720
    73
    7
    2
See reviews for
505
2,834
155
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I really can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It looks beautiful inside and out, with elegant but modern touches to please both the business and leisure traveller. Every member of staff we encountered, from reception to wait staff in the breakfast room were friendly and polite.

Being right next to the lift on the third floor, we feared there would be endless noise; however I can honestly say that i didn't hear a peep once our door was closed. Bed was wonderfully comfortable, with pillows you can sink into. Plenty of storage space, mirrors and electric sockets, and beautifully decorated to a high-level finish. No view to speak of, but we wasn't in Budapest to sit in our room looking out the window! Good heating/AC system - we usually end up too hot or too cold but no problems at all setting a comfortable temperature.

The breakfast itself was excellent quality, with plenty of choice of hot and cold foods, and a good selection of tea, coffee and juices too. Only minor gripe would be the cost of the drinks in the lobby bar; couldn't justify paying inflated prices when cheap beer and wine is available all over the city

It is located on a small square with plenty of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity; a 10 minute walk gets you to Kalvin Ter, with tram, bus and metro connections. It is a 15 minute walk to the river and Central Market Hall, and 20-30 minutes along the riverside to Chain Bridge. However it is a very walkable city, mostly flat on the Pest side.

We have paid considerably more in other cities for hotels of considerably lower quality, and is definitely one of my favourite European hotels. Would not hesitate to recommend to others!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsFletche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear „MrsFletche”,

I am so glad that you had been pleased with your hotel choice in Budapest and you had saved great memories about your stay at Hotel Palazzo Zichy.

Your detailed and throughout positive comment about our hotel, our facilities and services are highly appreciated. I am happy that we had been able to contribute to a memorable experience in our beautiful city.

It would be our greatest pleasure to welcoming you again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly should your travel plans bring you back to Budapest.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stopped at the Hotel Palazzo Zichy in January 2014. What a lovely hotel! The staff were always pleasant and helpful during our stay and could not do more.

The breakfast was superb, the bedroom was spotlessly clean and I loved the heated mirror in the bathroom!

We contacted the hotel prior to our stay to ask for advice how to travel using the public services. The advice was spot on. It was easy and very cheap!

This was our first stay in Budapest. When we return hopefully we can stop at the Palazzo Zichy again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear „Jackie T”,

Herewith I would like to thank you for your kind feedback posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel and for recommending us to the travelling community.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us, and we do hope to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Excellent hotel in a great building which has been restored to a very high standard
Whilst the decor in the public areas and rooms is excellent, the service stands out even high. Personal, efficient and of the highest class, you feel that nothing is too much trouble.
A high quality breakfast, both hot and cold, is served at the base of the atrium which provides a very pleasant experience
The spa area is also of good quality with a small number of good machines and a good sauna, open 6-10am and 6-10 pm
Location is very pleasant, a easy short walk from the metro (single tickets are sold) and with a number of good cafes and bars close by
For views from the 5th Floor it is advisable to book in advance, but there are one or two from the 3rd which also offer a pleasant aspect
An excellent hotel, I would not hesitate returning or recommending to friends

Room Tip: For views from the 5th Floor it is advisable to book in advance, but there are one or two from the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcid111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear „Jcid111”,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for taking your time to recommending us to the travelling community.

I was pleased to read that our hotel could live up to your expectations and you had spent an enjoyable citybreak in Budapest. Your kind feedback regarding our rich buffet breakfast and the high quality service of our staff is also highly appreciated.

It was our pleasure to be at your assistance and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in the not so distant future.

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary. Good location on pest side for shops and restaurants, not far from the central market hall and liberty bridge. very helpful and attentive staff. Room was nice overlooking the square and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank champ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear „champ2012”,

Let me thank you for your generous review left on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I was pleased to read that our hotel could live up your expectations and you spent an enjoyable citybreak in Budapest; your short but all-embracing positive comment is much appreciated.
The entire staff of the Hotel Palazzo Zichy is pleased to be at your disposal when staying with us next time!

With kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
237 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights on business and would definitely return again if I was coming for a personal or work trip.
Modern interior with a striking design.
Staff attentive and friendly.
Location was good for what we needed and seemed quite central if you were coming as a tourist.
Rooms were nice - again, modern with a lovely bathroom. In room air con was also good (too often they are ineffective!).
Breakfast was ok but hotel did not serve dinner. Plenty of good restaurants near by.
Would recommend

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear „Kricho”,

First and foremost let me thank you for staying with us at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I am extremely happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us and you had been pleased with our facilities and services.

Your generous feedback regarding our hotel, the breakfast and location are highly appreciated. I am also glad that our staff provided you with an excellent service throughout your stay.

I truly hope to have the pleasure to meeting you in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy again.

Kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here this past July. I would not stay anywhere else any time I'm in Budapest. The staff was so friendly and helpful, I just couldn't get over it. Our room was extremely well appointed. Beautiful furnishings, much comfort. Our bed felt a little hard and when we requested a pillow top, they brought us a new kind of mattress they are testing out. It was a major improvement, and seemed to magically appear while we were out. Breakfast was a buffet with every type of thing you can imagine. The wellness center was so nice with this little Zen sanctuary to chill out in. The lobby contains a living room area that would function well as a reading room during inclement weather, but there is a little square directly across the street with benches and a few pubs.

Not centrally located, but a nice walk to the nearest underground station, with many cute restaurants within the 4 or so block walk to Kalvin Ter.

I just can't say enough good things. Our price was only a little above $100 per night, and it seems that if you book in advance it is still this low. Just an amazing bargain for one of the nicest (if not THE nicest) hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javaheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear „javaheidi”,

I was sincerely happy to read your kind feedback about your stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy in July, first and foremost let me thank you for staying with us.

It made me glad that you liked our rich breakfast buffet, the guestroom, the new mattress and you found the location of the hotel also great to explore Budapest.

Let me thank you for your praising words and for recommending us to the travelling community. We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rózsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,015 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 333 in Budapest
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,243 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 333 in Budapest
4,232 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing