We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #5 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a great experience I had at this hotel. The architecture of the lobby was beautiful, as the hotel occupies a century-old building probably. The breakfast buffet was very substantial, with tons of options. The waitstaff was really friendly and accomodated our requests. The hotel is located in a quiet area of downtown Pest, but very close to many restaurants, bars and cafes. It was a 15 minute walk to the Danube River, at most. Close to the 4,6 tramlines too. My only negative comment was the size of the beds. Although they were very comfortable, my friend and I were basically sleeping on top of each other. This kind of close quarters is something to expect in Europe though, so I didn't ding the hotel for that in my 5 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,405
    634
    66
    7
    2
See reviews for
426
2,490
135
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent hotel and staff. Room and bathroom clean and spacious. Lovely breakfast buffet.They provide a juicer so you can have freshly squeezed orange or grapfruit juice. Lovely touch.
The hotel is preety central to most things.I would stay at this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KalahariAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a hotel you choose when you want to feel pampered at a decent price. It is such an elegant, modern hotel and situated only a 15 minute walk from the gorgeous Danube. The rooms are smallish but beautifully designed. The beds are super comfortable and the bathroom is wonderful..... a large showerhead, strong hairdryer and soft large towels. The breakfast was great. A huge variety of food to choose from and you can even squeeze your own grapefruit juice.... There is a computer room consisting of six computers and with access to a printer. The wifi is fast throughout the entire hotel. Free coffee, tea and mineral water offered in the lounge area all day. Would definately recommend this gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gozza1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I enjoyed my stay because the room was comfortable and the staff was very firendly and very helpful. I really enjoyed their free breakfast buffet because it was very much typical of an combination of an American Breakfast and a Continental breakfast. with many very tasty choices.

A couple of minor negatives cause me to not give it the full five stars:
- It is quite a hike to the closest Metro for moving around the city. Although this did not bother rme much because I need the hike to work off the beautiful cuisine in Budapest, some elderly or couch potatoes might find this more challenging than more expensive hotesl on the mtro line.
-The room was comfortable, but was, in my opinion,a little small for the price. Furthermore, those who have previously commented on neighboring room noise are correct. I woke up because of neighboring room noise through thin walls while trying to sleep off my jet lag.

Overall, I can certainly recommend this hotel for those who ar enot bothered by the 2 issues above. I would certainly use this hotel again if I come back to Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

There is little I can add to all the great reviews about this lovely hotel. A lot of time and effort went into finding a nice hotel in this beautiful city. What a great decision to pick this one!! A lovely hotel, helpful and committed staff, a central location, lovely food. My only regret was the fact that we could not stay longer!! Hopefully, we will put that right next year. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank breanorlad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a gorgeous building. Judit, the reservation manager, was a pleasure to deal with. She always graciously answered all my questions, and helped me change my reservation when something came up. The staff were always helpful, and greeted you with a smile. They even loaned us a large umbrella one day when it was raining. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious, with eggs, meats, breads, jams, cereal, fresh fruits, coffee, and juices. As others have mentioned, the hotel isn't in the middle of all the sites, but rather a 5 minute walk to the metro station with easy access to the rest of Budapest. Sites are also walkable if you have time. Believe the reviews and stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank md9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location was great for exploring Budapest. As soon as we walked into the hotel, we were very impressed. It's quite modern inside and esthetically pleasing. The included buffet breakfast was great and really provided an excellent selection! The room was on the small side, but offered a wonderful, full-powered shower and also a walk-in closet (definitely nice for a longer stay). The bed was very comfortable and noise did not seem to be an issue at all within the hotel. Really, a great place in such a fantastic city!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverGettysburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#14 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 6,073 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#5 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing