We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel in July prior to the river trip from Budapest to Amsterdam. Of all the hotels we stayed in at Prague, Budapest, Amsterdam and Paris, the Palazzo Zichy was by far the best. Presentation is first class, service of the highest order, breakfast excellent and the room of the highest standard. We were very impressed and would recommend it to our friends unreservedly. Position is very good too. We will certainly stay there next time we visit Budapest. Trevor and Moyra McArdle, Australia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,401 - 2,407 of 4,939 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I read many of the reviews before booking this hotel for a six night stay in Budapest. The reviews on this site are accurate and the hotel met all expectations. You may be interested to know that during our stay the hotel changed all of the mattresses in the hotel to softer mattresses. I think they read these reviews and are bent on doing their best to keep the hotel attractive to travelers expecting the standards of Western Europe. The folks at the front desk were very friendly and helped us the few times we asked for assistance with reservations. The hotel sells tickets to the baths and you definitely should go - it is not awkward for the inexperienced and the help there speaks good English. The hotel is within a short walk of tram lines and the Metro. Breakfast was very nice and we were not bored after six nights. You get alot for your forints at this hotel without compromising the feeling that you are on vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor were nice. plenty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Palazzo Zichy is in every sense a superb hotel. We loved the stylish design, a very successfull marriage between classic and modern! The hotel is kept in an impeccable condition, it feels as if the place has only been opened a few months ago. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are elegant, comfortable and practical. Great buffet breakfast with lots of variety is included in the standard rates. And last but not least, excellent value for money, probably due to the fact that it is located slightly out of the heart of the city. But it's actually in a nice neighbourhood, with many bars and restaurants nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobias65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Having just returned from a trip to Budapest, I wanted to share with others what a fabulous hotel this is. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the rooms impeccably clean. The buffet breakfast is outstanding! It really set you up for a busy days touring. I can't thank the staff enough for making this trip such a pleasant experience. You certainly won' t be disappointed if you book this hotel for your stay in Budapest!

The Allen family

Room Tip: Ask for a room with more than one window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sometimes my girlfriend and I make a game out of finding fault with hotels we stay in. With this one we were hard pressed. From the moment you walk in to this well appointed hotel you get a relaxing vibe. The front desk staff are second to none and truly seem to revel in providing outstanding service. The bar area is a quiet oasis to relax, read the paper, and enjoy some free drinks and snacks till 5:00 p.m. daily. Our room was great: good space, clean, quiet and the breakfast was varied and plentiful. We couldn't get over the cleanliness of the place and the hard working staff always on the ball. It's hard to find a place in Budapest which is close to the action and sites because the action and sights are in so many diverse areas so the Palazzo is well situated to get to anywhere in the city fast and if you care to stick close by there are plenty of good restaurants, shops, and sites, near by. The hotel is nicely tucked into a quiet neighbourhood. I challenge you to find fault with this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear „Mike C”,

Herewith let me take the opportunity to thank you for staying with us and for your valuable time taken to share your experiences with the travelling community.

Reading your kind words made really happy and proud, I am glad that our hotel, the service procvided by my colleagues, the guestroom and our complimentary services met or even exceeded your expectations. I also would like to thank you for highlighting our great location.

I would like to thank you for recommending us to the travelling community! We highly appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a superb hotel and you have to be really picky to find a real fault.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who really seemed to enjoy their work. There was a huge variety of foods for breakfast in a spotless breakfast room. 2 quiet lounges, one with unlimited tea, coffee and bottled water until 5 pm. 'Modern design' hotels often substitue comfort for style but this managed both. Even a heated mirror in the shower room to stop it misting when the shower is being used.

The keep fit area had a small amount of gear but I guess few people go to Budapest to have a work out. Our visit coincided with a 40 degree plus heatwave so the sauna wasnt being used much!

The hotel is in a quiet little square but surprisingly good, cheap restaurants are plentiful nearby. Avoid like the plague, though, any restaurant that has someone outside trying to talk you in. The more you are hassled, the quicker you should move on. A frequent ploy is to talk you through the food menu and hide the prices of the drinks they will sting you with.

The nearest tram stop is a few moments away, and the criss-crossing and frequency of tram, trolley, bus and metro means that travelling around the city from here is extremely easy.

Check out is later than most hotels, by midday, but they were happy for us to use showers, and help ourselves in the drinks lounge for long after that, until it was time to depart.

All in all, a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffreyLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear „GeoffreyLaw”,

Herewith I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for having chosen our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for your positive comment left on the most popular travellers’ site.

I am truly happy that you had been pleased with your decision and you saved great memories about our hotel. Your kind words on our favourable location, on the complimentary services and facilities as well as the professionalism and enthusiasm of our staff are highly appreciated.

I would like to thank you for your kind review again and I hope, that we will have the chance to welcome you again to our beautiful hotel in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in Palazzo Zichy and really enjoyed it! The rooms are smallish, but nicely decorated. The atrium where breakfast is served is really nice and breakfast itself was excellent. The location of the Palazzo is good with just a short walk to all the main sights Budapest has the offer.

The only reason we're not giving an excellent is because the parking is way too small for a largish car (peugeot 508). You need to pass through a doorway somewhere next to the hotel and the width is just ridiculously narrow. I literally had 1/2 cm to spare next to each of my mirrors. As the street itself is pretty narrow, it is virtually impossible to align properly, earning me a scratch on my mirror during my 1st attempt in. On the way out, we got through the exit unscathed, but then scratched one of the poorly position concrete blocks. So, if you're driving anything larger than say a Golf, either park on the street or go by train. Or maybe your driving skills are just much better than mine :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dexterduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judit_Rozsa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear „Dexterduck”,

Herewith I would like to thank you for your kind feedback posted on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at our hotel and for recommending us to the travelling community. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us, and our hotel and the breakfast service could live up to your expectations.

I also would like to thank you for your constructive feedback on the parking facilities of our hotel.

The entire staff of the Hotel Palazzo Zichy is pleased to be at your disposal when staying with us next time! Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can do anything for you!

Kind regards,

Judit Rozsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 335 in Budapest
1,360 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 335 in Budapest
4,470 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 335 in Budapest
7,449 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 335 in Budapest
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $98 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing